1. Xellos2099

    Xellos2099 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    Well, all usa mario kart wii got 3.2 update doesn't it? Let say I download a copy and I launch it with Gamma, would it tell me to update to 3.2u?
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah I dont know anymore. I thought Mario Kart had 3.1.
     
  3. zerof

    zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, if it has 3.2..
     
  4. EmperorOfCanada

    EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    Canada
  5. zerof

    zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    A) If it does then why the hell am I using brickblocker lol..
    B) I've heard it has 3.2, I guess we need someone to confirm this as well..

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Xellos2099

    Xellos2099 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    At worst case I can borrow my friend's copy to update mine to 3.2 just in case Gamma blocki the update.
     
  7. zerof

    zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Yes that should work but only if it has 3.2 [​IMG]

    I just used any region changer and/or cios downgrader but then I was at a higher version so..
     
  8. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmmm... Now I'm starting to wonder myself if MK has 3.2 or not. Seems to be a huge void of info on 3.2U firmware shipped with games (or at least lack of any substantial info that doesn't conflict). I'm fairly certain that I didn't upgrade online because I didn't use the wifi until I had 'the goods' added.

    I will check and reply back when I'm done...
     
  9. Chemical_Warfare

    Chemical_Warfare GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    quick question: does the sd card have to stay in the wii for starfall to continue working, or once its patched, it stays patched?
     
  10. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    Mario Kart does have 3.1 afterall (RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v257.wad). [​IMG]

    The 3.2 update is RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v289.wad and apparently no games have it bundled with them.

    No you don't need to keep the SD card in. The patches are permanently written to the firmware (well until you either change settings in StarFall or install new firmware).
     
  11. Raziel5000

    Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    use the downgrader dol and actually upgrade to 3.2 via that.
     
  12. Xellos2099

    Xellos2099 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    I did try to use the downgrader but somehow the HBC doesn't even see the downgrader file when I put it in the apps folder.
     
  13. djdynamite123

    djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Country:
    is it renamed boot.dol maybe put a icon or meta in ther [​IMG]
     
  14. blitzxp

    blitzxp Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I downgraded a while ago, after the october 23rd update, using pir8's guide.. I then updated to safe 3.3u WITH wii shop channel fix ..I read on another guide that you shouldn't install that fix. If I try installing starfall now, will it fail ? if so, how can I remove the wii shop channel fix? (anytitledeleter? which file should i remove?)

    This is the step I'm talking about:
    i DID fix the wii shop channel..

    Thanks!
     
  15. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    Did you mean 3.2U? Because StarFall only works on 3.2 since it was designed to patch specific addresses in the firmware's code.

    If you did mean 3.2U then there shouldn't be a problem using StarFall at all - even with the CIOS.
     
  16. blitzxp

    blitzxp Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    I used the safe update to 3.3u: shop IOS51 and patching fix, AND wii shop channel, which the guide says you shouldn't install...so I still have the trucha bug and everything works fine, but i don't know if that shop channel install would screw me if i install starfall now..
     
  17. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    So it should still be 3.2U but with some of the IOSes from the 3.3U update for the channels (you can verify this in the system menu). Also StarFall would detect if it was the wrong version and return back to the loader if it was.
     
  18. blitzxp

    blitzxp Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Thx for your help cracker.. but I just tried it, and it says my system version is 353, not 293 which is what starfall requires..so i guess updating through the 'safe 3.3u update' doesn't allow starfall to be installed, just as i expected..so, is it just because I installed the safe wii shop channel ?? what should I do? just try deleting or reverting the 3.3u shop channel, or downgrading everything again?
     
  19. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    So the system menu really was upgraded to 3.3U and just IOSes that prevented Trucha signing, etc. from working weren't installed. You'll have to downgrade with the RVL-WiiSystemmenu-v289.wad.
     
  20. Xellos2099

    Xellos2099 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I rename the downgrader and it is working and I did both the downgrade and starfall pretty easily
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Starfall, Pictures, download