Hacking [TUT] How-to install Starfall (With Pictures and download!)

Knarf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Website
youtube.com
XP
34
Country
United States
This is a tutorial I made originally for Wiiso but I decided it my be helpfull to some of the noobs here.

In this tutorial you’ll learn how to install Starfall on you’re Wii. All the pics in this tutorial were taken by me! Before we begin I’m taking note right now that I don’t take any responsibility for you bricking you’re Wii. Alright let’s begin!

You’ll need the following to install Starfall
Wii with update 3.2 (If it’s not 3.2 you’re SOL.)
SD card reader for you’re PC
SD card (Wii compatible)
Starfall files (Download link in topic)
Homebrew channel

Firstly download this zip. It contains the Starfall files (I took them directly out of my wii)
Code:
http://www.mediafire.com/?0azynmmgmww

starfall.png


Extract the Zip file. Doesn’t matter where but you have to be able to find it. lol

starfall2.png


You should get a folder called “Starfall”.

starfall3.png


Next open up the Drive you’re SD card is in. In my case it’s Removable Disk K: Drag and drop the “Starfall” folder into the “apps” folder on the root of the SD card.

starfall4.png


Take out the SD card and put it in you’re Wii.

(if you need a picture you’re pretty sad)

Next you'll want to turn on you're wii and boot up homebrew channel.

starfall5.png


find the starfall folder Click and open it

6.png


You'll now get a black screen with writing on it. read Carefully. Then press B+1 at the same time. It might take a few tries but it'll load up a screen with a bunch of options.

starfall6.png


You should get the following screen.

starfall7.png


To install any files simply select the ones you want press A and it should say install on the far right of the selection.

starfall8.png


when you've selected everything you want to install press 2 button and it should install everything. After its done press the A button to reboot you’re Wii.

starfall9.png


There you go. You're wii now has Starfall!

If you want me to make a tutorial on how to use any of the features let me know.
smile.gif
comments are appreciated.
 

kitt050383

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
648
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
New Jersey
Website
Visit site
XP
115
Country
United States
Well if that isn't newbie proof I don't know what is....
Oh wait you did miss one little step to help out the newbies...
Teach them how to read and to use google!
An while your at it how to wipe their own bottoms...

-kitt050383

Good job on the tut though!!!!
 

djdynamite123

Master Of Hardcore!
Banned
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
3,788
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Redcar, England UK
Website
www.djdynamite.bravehost.com
XP
91
Country
QUOTE said:
Well if that isn't newbie proof I don't know what is....
Oh wait you did miss one little step to help out the newbies...
Teach them how to read and to use google!
An while your at it how to wipe their own bottoms...

-kitt050383

Good job on the tut though!!!!
My thoughts exactly, you sure your not me? something i would say quite "possibly" hehe
 

EmperorOfCanada

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
1,474
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
329
Country
Canada
Im wondering if maybe all these guides and tutorials could not be put into a "FAQs and Tutorials" section of some sort. Would sure go a long way to keeping the Wii Hacks section clean.
 

Beatchu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
347
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
UK
XP
29
Country
Yeah, I suppose so... No offence, but that's really the only useful thing about the tut, and you would know what to do if you read the disclaimer anyway
 

EmperorOfCanada

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
1,474
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
329
Country
Canada
I personally agree. But apparently most people think this is a tutorial good enough to be stickied and (copyrighted, which made me lol) so whatever. If it helps even 1 person then I guess its a good thing
smile.gif
 

Beatchu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
347
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
UK
XP
29
Country
I haven't got no bgm and replace health warning with backmenu on because I like the bgm and no health warning can make bricks worse

Maybe you should add this
 

Knarf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Website
youtube.com
XP
34
Country
United States
Wow this tut got a lot of attention. I'll start to post my new tutorials here too. And yeah if people think it's good enough go ahead and sticky it. Any questions you wanna ask me about it feel free to through this topic or through pm.
 

BIG MOE

๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,253
Trophies
0
Location
Wiiland Hills
XP
69
Country
Syria
health warning is good when you don't have Recovery menu installed by Starfall , and if you have Starfall you don't need helth warning cause you suppose to have recovery menu installed !!!!
 

fruitman

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
70
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
i've downgraded from 3.4e to 3.2e and starfall wont install
frown.gif


everything else works fine. and i cant install shop channel it gives me error near the end. boohoo
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • phalk @ phalk:
    I only do anything in my life to allow me to be lazier
    +1
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    same
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    TRJ, I learned all those in school/college.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    As part of some course or other.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I forgot to list Assembler, Pascal and Matlab scripting.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    I know some pascal, c, php
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    and I'm a History teacher
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Went over the basics in all of them, never took it anywhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I do use bash for my job though. It's useful.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol