Turning my phone into a portable PS2

Discussion in 'Android' started by Bearpowers, Nov 6, 2012.

Nov 6, 2012
  1. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    So I'd like to get PS2 games on my phone, no I don't expect my phone to emulate them.

    I plan to use Splashtop HD to make a remote desktop and get PCSX2 running on my phone.

    I'd also like to attach a PS3 controller to my Galaxy S3 via gameklip and use that to control the emulator.

    Does anyone know if I can map my PS3 controller somehow to my phone to use on the remote desktop'd PCSX2?

    EDIT:
    Might use Kainy instead of Splashtop, still looking into options
     


  2. kingcolex

    Member kingcolex Joe "Coop" Cooper

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you are playing this in your house, Pair the ps3 controller with the pc using a bluetooth dongle and go ahead and map controlls onthere. Then run splashtop to the device and take the phone and controller anywhere in the house and play the ps2 emulator. Although i would bet on a ps2 emulator on android by the end of 2013. The hardware is good enough we are just waiting on the software.
     
  3. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    ARM hardware won't be good enough to add anti aliasing to PS2 games for awhile though, yeah in the next 2 years we might have the juice to run some JRPGs at native res with no bells and whistles, but I want more than that and on the go.

    Kainy is a 60fps remote desktop I plan to try, I have to sync the controller with my phone, not the PC.

    I want sort of an "onlive" experience running PS2 games at 960 x 720 with anti aliasing on the go
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    im sure soon a PS2 emulator will come for android anyway

    theres a PS1 and PSP emulator so far, sure ps2 wont be that long
     
  5. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    The PS2, like the PS3 has a VERY annoying architecture, although certainly not Cell tier annoying.

    It's why even the Wii is easier to emulate, because the processor used in the Wii/gamecube are all very simple and easily graspable architecture.

    And we're certainly not gonna get a PCSX2 tier PS2 emulator on ARM for atleast 5 more years, some of us like anti aliasing and resolution re-rendering.

    Can we please get back on subject? I want to stream the emulation on my PC to my phone and play it with a PS3 controller while far away from my PC.

    Also as to PSP emulation, MIPS/RISC are also a very easy architecture.

    There is a huge gap between the power needed to emulate PSP and PS2.
     
    raulpica likes this.
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    well you can stream PC to Android using Team Viewer
    might need some tweaking for screen size, not sure how you would get a controller to hook up tho
     
  7. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I need to map the controller to the phone, I know you can do this in some games/emulators but I'm not sure if I can do it in remote desktop.

    If there is no such program, I might commission a programmer to write one up as I don't mind parting with some money.

    I fairly sure it's do-able though.
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    if you phone rooted?
    USB/BT Joystick Center
    Splashtop GamePad THD

    someone said a combo of those apps will let you run a emulator on PC and play through phone
     
  9. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Here's someone doing what I essentially want to do but with a Vita instead of a phone+controller.

    He only manages like 22fps with the remote desktop, where I want 60fps though.



    Then again the remote desktop app on the Vita probably isn't anywhere near as good as Android ones who've had lots of time to mature and perfect themselves.
     
  10. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I plan the gameklip attachement to attach my PS3 controller to my phone, yeah.

    And it will be rooted when I attempt this.

    I'm just trying to figure out how I'll map the controller to my phone for remote desktop'd emulator.
     
  11. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    First question, WHY?

    Second question, why do you think you'll get 60FPS? I've used remote desktops for mobile devices for and they aren't very good, certainly not good enough to actually play games on, you'll lag way too much and end up dying. BTW I only got like 13FPS using Team Viewer on an iPhone, which seems like the best remote desktop app on the store that I've seen, could've just been my connection though :P
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
     
  13. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Splashtop works really well, I've seen loads of lagless videos on youtube.

    Not to mention Kaimy pretty much advertises the fact it gets 60fps and is fully intended so you can PC game on your Android device.

    I have a good connection, I usually score 53 down and 15 up

    Baltimore has pretty good internet, lots of wifi around and I get uncapped LTE.

    I'd probably be much better off with the Wifi though.
     
  14. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, this is exactly what I want.

    So this confirms it's doable, nice.

    lag wise it certainly looks playable, and considering all I want to play are turn based JRPGs I should be golden.
     
  15. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    I really have to try this now :P
    Although the internet here isn't the greatest, 25 down 16 up, although we get lots of wifi too.
     
  16. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    I already told you what apps you needed to do this -_- you just plain ignored me and went on about your mapping which the apps i said did
     
  17. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry about that, but yeah thank you.

    EDIT:
    Splashtop GamePad THD is not available on my Galaxy S3 according to Google Play, will Splashtop 2 work?
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Teamviewer doesn't work over the local network, so you can game on it at like 5FPS at the max depending on your connection.

    [youtube]

    (A sample I recorded.)
     
  19. kingcolex

    Member kingcolex Joe "Coop" Cooper

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/06/arm-second-gen-mali-t600-gpus/
    8 core gpu's and
    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvidia-tegra-4-wayne-arm-a15,15261.html
    Tegra 4 which has 4 A15's and will run 2ghz.
    There is currently an intel 2ghz phone but that is an atom processor, so were talking ARM is evolving a lot quicker than thought.
     
  20. Bearpowers
    OP

    Member Bearpowers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Just because it has any cores/ghz as an x64 CPU does not mean it's as powerful, architecture is more important.

    You could have four 3ghz cortex-a15 cores outperformed by a single 2ghz core from an Ivy Bridge i7.

    Not to mention how horribly inferior ARM mobile graphics are to modern GPUs, GPUs are what do the anti aliasing
     

Share This Page