1. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Hey folks, first time modder here.

    I followed a YouTube Guide posted by creator P3NCE and everything went rather smoothly and had no hiccups. Cloned the OG drive to a 1TB SATA drive using an IDE to SATA adapter and everything.

    Was FTPing some games to it when suddenly it terminated the connection and when trying to reestablish it I received errors stating that the networked drive is unavailable. So I went ahead and rebooted the console as this wasn't the first time it's happened to me and all I've needed to do in the past was reboot it.

    After rebooting I received consistent Error 07 issues, which from what I understand is bad kernel/can't communicate with drive.

    So here's what I tried at that point:

    NIB 80-cable IDE cable
    NIB 40-cable IDE cable
    Used 80-cable IDE cable
    Used 40-cable IDE cable
    Swapped DVD Drives with another Xbox
    NIB IDE to SATA adapter
    Used the original drive with XUnleash installed (will boot to no issue, play games from Disk but defeats the purpose of being able to play games off HDD)

    So at this point I'm kinda at my wits end and decide I'd just clone the OG drive with XUnleash on it to another drive I have that tests good in HDSentinel (100%, 1000+ days, passes Short Self Test in 2min target) that also happens to be on the XboxDrives X-Pec site as supported and has EEPROM locking. Freshly zero'd the drive using a CPRTools Hammer device and tried to clone to it. No partitioning, no formatting, completely fresh drive.

    CHIMP (lpartx) does not like this drive. It will boot when I do the cable hotswap but it just refuses to recognize the drive. I've made sure the OG Drive is set to Master with Slave Present and that the drive I'm cloning to is set to Slave. I've even tried different 40 and 80-cable IDE cables, including the stock 40-cable that is installed in the XB to begin with. I'm 210% sure I'm hotswapping within the ''5 second timeframe'' you get when the ''FatX'' text appears but it still just won't detect it.

    Now, I'm not sure if my original drive had a partition or any sort of formatting the first time I did this or not, but one thing I haven't tried is putting some form of partition on the drive.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Also, interesting tidbit, The old drive reads in HDSentinel as 100%, 1000+ and passes a Short Self Test, registers in Disk Management as being a 1TB drive, but when attached to the Hammer device I have it says that there is 0000GB on the disk. I think the drive shit out on me tbh, no clue how or why but if the drive is unrecoverable I'm ok with it, all my games are backed up elsewhere. I've tried formatting it and it just tells me that there is an I/O device error. Could that be because the control board has died?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I'm posting this from work, so I cannot provide which MB.Ver I have or any of that as of right now. I do know that the dash was Ver. 1.00.5960.01 and I believe the kernel was Ver. 1.00.5530.01 when I initially did the TSOP flash.
     
  2. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Country:
    United States
    It really sounds like you haven't flashed the TSOP on your Xbox, and the other drives (besides your OG) haven't been locked. Are you sure you flashed your TSOP? And if so, which bios did you use?
     
  3. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not exactly sure. I used the Ndure Softmood setup provided in the video posted by P3NCE. I can't link yet because I'm new to the forum.
     
  4. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Country:
    United States
    Which version motherboard do you have? Have you soldered a wire on it for TSOP flashing yet?

    If you haven't, then your Xbox is not TSOP flashed. If the motherboard version is below 1.6, you should seriously consider doing a TSOP flash as well as pulling off the clock capacitor:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/originalxbox/wiki/clock_capacitor

    If it is a 1.6 motherboard, you shouldn't pull of the clock capacitor, and you're not able to flash the TSOP on it, which means your only choice is to lock the hard drive. I can help guide you with all of this.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If you're able to TSOP flash your Xbox, afterwards you can burn a copy of HeXen to DVD, and boot it to set up any new hard drive. No locking will ever be needed, you can take a brand new hard drive without any partitions, throw it in the xbox, boot off the DVD, and it will set up everything you need. By far it is the best option, but only if you have a motherboard below 1.6 and feel comfortable soldering and doing the flash.
     
  5. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I may be using the improper term then, but I was lead to believe that TSOP flashing and softmodding are the same thing, that only with certain model Xboxes you would need to do the soldering trick.
     
  6. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Country:
    United States
    You don't "need" to TSOP flash any Xbox, but it's a whole lot more convenient if you do.

    Every Xbox hard drive is locked to it's motherboard with a unique 40-character password. On an Xbox without a TSOP flash, any hard drive you want to use will have to be locked in order for the motherboard to accept it. If you do a TSOP flash, you will be able to use unlocked hard drives.

    If you don't flash the TSOP on your Xbox, and don't have a backup of your eeprom, if your hard drive dies you are royally screwed.

    What version is your motherboard? If it's lower than 1.6 you really must pull the clock capacitor off!
     
  7. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    mobo is 1.6
    here is the guide i followed
     
  8. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you can do TSOP on a 1.6?

    I think you can only do mod chips also on a 1.6 do not remove the clock cap or you will have a nice paper weight.

    You can get mod chips for the OG Xbox for under 5 bucks though that let you do all the TSOP stuff though so it might get you back up and running.

    When you get going find CoinOps Ninja Massive and the 2 so far add-on packs :)

    Edit: and for PC it's still in early release mode but Forgotten World's is the same people and is super awesome! Soon will be the best front end ever.
     
    Last edited by Psionic Roshambo, Apr 27, 2018
  9. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States

    I dont care for the tsop really i just want it working the way it was.
     
  10. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you unlocked your drive..... Your screwed until you install a mod chip.

    1.6s are great but you have to research this stuff very carefully before you do stuff.

    Basically I suspect only a mod chip can help you now.
     
  11. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I wont even be able to clone the original drive that has UnleashX installed to it to another drive? Like I originally did?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I couldn't use like, XBHDM to make a new drive?
     
  12. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you zeroed out the key IE unlocked it to your BIOS you don't have the drive keyed to your Xbox anymore

    If you backed up your key you might be able to use it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If you have the original like 10GB drive try starting from scratch with that drive installed and use your original soft mod to boot up your Chimp and copy everything to the new drive and start over with that. Always keep the original drive as a key in case of emergency.
     
  13. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    This is what im trying to do and it's not detecting ANY drive I use for the clone

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

     
  14. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    I have heard some of those SATA to IDE converters are unreliable, do you have like an IDE external hard drive to test the converter on a PC?
     
  15. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    No, and if I do get one it would need to be 750GB or larger.. Which I think they cap at 750GB

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That's also a bunch of money I can't spend rn cus I aint paying for no chinese drive.
     
  16. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Country:
    United States
    So far he hasn't said anything that makes me think he permanently unlocked his original drive, only that he never locked the other drives he has tried cloning to.

    No, you cannot TSOP flash a 1.6 Xbox, which means your only choices for upgrading the drive are to either buy a modchip (can you even find one nowadays? besides, kinda unnecessary...) or just lock the new drive after you've cloned it.

    You have to be really careful with locking. If you lock your drive with the wrong password, you could end up locked out of the drive and it's a real pain to try and get it unlocked again. In my opinion your safest bet is to throw your OG drive back in, go into evox and backup your eeprom. Then transfer eeprom.bin to your computer over FTP. Burn a XboxHDM CD, making sure to include your eeprom.bin file. Boot off the XboxHDM disc with your new hard drive attached in your computer. Use the "Generate HD Key (requires eeprom)" option.

    Hope this helps. I've modded a bunch of Xbox's before, never had a problem. What you're describing really sounds like you've just cloned the drive, but you haven't locked the new one. And without a TSOP flash (which you can't do on 1.6), you absolutely must lock the hard drive.
     
  17. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,126
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah they still make original Xbox mod chips and the good news is they are dirt cheap and work great.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aladdin-XT...728960?hash=item33d8ecca00:g:1YUAAOSwCJxZ5zwQ

    I am sure it's a clone for sure, but since Microsoft isn't releasing updates any time soon, they should be fine.

     
  18. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I guess they do, but I still wouldn't buy one unless I needed to (like if I had an unflashed motherboard with no locked drive or eeprom backup to go with it). Aside from that, there are relatively few advantages to using a modchip.
     
  19. MachineGod

    OP MachineGod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Alright so I got this resolved. I guess the new drive I was trying to clone to wasn't fully compatible? I referenced the x-pec site for the drives I used and they all said they worked and supported locking but whatever. I just so happened to have THE SAME EXACT drive model sitting around that I used the first time and was able to clone to it with no issues.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Flashed, sudden, drive