Trying to make a 4.1 E a n virgin wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TudorBlue, Jul 1, 2010.

Jul 1, 2010
  1. TudorBlue
    OP

    Member TudorBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been trying to virginate a 4.1E wii. However when I try and load cios downgrader 1.2 at the start of the process, nothing happens. Just takes me back to the wii menu. Anyone help mke with this? Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Uninstall Darkcorp \ cioscorp
    Uninstall all custom channels
    Run priiloader uninstaller to uninstall priiloader if installed.
    Run any title deleter and delete IOS249/250/202/222/223/224
    Run a wii system update to 4.3

    Do not virginize the wii if your just gonna mod it again.
     
  3. Lancerguy

    Newcomer Lancerguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't sure whether to ask in this existing thread or start a new one, but my question is directly related. I am trying to do the same thing as the OP, because I have a wiikey, and somewhere through instaling cios's, then cioscorp, then darkcorp, messing with bootmii, priiloader, etc. it has ended up to where the disc channel no longer launches my backups, only through neogamma or a loader, but I have a wiikey! The disc channel should work, but NO backups work. So, I want to do the same thing as the OP. Will what you've recommended work for me as well? I've installed so many things I'm worried about messing up my wii trying to virginize it.
     
  4. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    Try this.
    In Priiloader make sure discs aren't using IOS249.
    I doubt it'll help though.
     
  5. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    just follow the stickied guide from start to finish and DONT VIRGINIZE. Both of you wil be fine

    and since you both obviously want to virginize and then slut your wii back out with softmod, dont do what riley said or else youll not have hbc or cios till the new hackmii comes out
     
  6. Lancerguy

    Newcomer Lancerguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I don't want to "re-slut" mine. I have a wiikey and the disc channel no longer works. I want to DE-slut mine so the disc channel works again with the wiikey...

    I don't understand why there isn't a guide for deleting the cIOS's, loading all the old IOS's back for an old firmware, like 3.1 or 3.2, then do an update to 4.2. I keep hearing that this is dangerous for new Wii's. Well, I have a launch wii, with bootmii installed to boot2, so it should be something I should be able to do with damaging my wii. Of course, if I knew that much about it I probably wouldn't be asking for help, so... I'm going to first try as TRushInfo suggested and following the stickied "softmod any wii" thread. If that doesn't fix my disc channel, I'll try Riley's suggestions. I'll post back this evening with the results.
     
  7. Lancerguy

    Newcomer Lancerguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Well here is my update:

    I first tried to follow the softmod guide, but even after reinstalling everything the disc channel still wasn't functional. So....

    I made sure bootmii and priiloader were installed and functional. Then I uninstalled Darkcorp using the FULL installer, then used anytitle deleter to remove old WAD game pieces, custom channels (except HBC), and the cIOS listed above in someone's post. I used the NUS Auto Downloader's wizard to get all the 4.1 files and IOSes I needed and set me up a thumbdrive. I used HBC and the Multi Mod Manager to install 4.1 system menu and all required IOS files.

    Now I have a 4.1u wii with the correct 4.1 IOS and NO cIOS installed (I think). However, backups still aren't loading through the disc channel. (My original issue was that my wiikey won't load discs through disc channel).
     
  8. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    To delete cIOS's use Any Title Deleter

    Uninstall DarkCorp (You can email the author to get the files)
    Use NUS Auto Downloader (from xflak) to download the IOS's for your system menu version.
    Use a WAD Manager to install the IOS's
     
  9. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    deleting cioses can brick your wii, especially if u use dark corp, I dont suppose you followed the stickied guide part about darkcorp? that would be why your discs arent working from disc channel
     
  10. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page