trying to get ndsmail to work.....

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by aphexpusher, Jan 26, 2007.

Jan 26, 2007
  1. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    when I go to the website for ndsmail I cannot download a copy of the experimental build and the normal build after I patch with dldi just stays at a whiote screen where it only says "check init". what do i do???? [​IMG]


    EDIT:: I googled around and found that people with m3 simply are having this problem..... however in this homebrew guide for the m3 simply (and r4ds) http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=42715 it states that he got it running. now this is with the 54 beta release.... so that could be the only working version.... anybody have a copy of ndsmail 54 beta?
     
  2. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I would attach it, but no option [​IMG]

    Lick linked it over at scdev....I believe that is where I found it.
     
  3. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    that is the .45 release I believe
     
  4. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Anyone know how to configure the .xml file?
     
  5. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    yes. its pretty easy. you need the pop server and smtp server info. then you will plug in your username and password to the correct areas within the accounts tag. after that you will also need the pop server and smtp servers port values. you can get these from the help section of your email service. either that or email the staff. plug all the values in and presto. email on the ds. only problem is if your email uses ssl... then you are screwed cuase this version in particular doesnt support it... and I use gmail *cries* the ssl part of the account tag is set to "0" by defualt but if you set it to "1" which means enabled you get an error msg saying this ver doesnt support ssl... blah... hope we get a new version soon. I want to use my gmail account! :'(


    EDIT:: by the way anybody else looking for ndsmail 0.54 b? it seems to be the only one working on the r4ds/m3 simply. if anybody wants a copy PM me with your email and I will email it right to ya. remember it needs dldi patching!
     
  6. eltia

    Newcomer eltia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Canada
  7. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    I can't seem to find the pop server and smtp servers port values of my email service. Is it me or am I just dumb? Can anyone point me to the right direction? I'm using hotmail.com
     
  8. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
  9. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States

    unfortunately you are out of luck... hotmail stopped letting people access thier emails via pop3. see here: http://ask-leo.com/what_are_msn_hotmails_p...ok_express.html

    so its not possible unless you are willing to pay for it. you could change email service if youd like. yahoo I think allows free pop access. gmail also offers free pop access however as I said before ssl is required for it and ndsmail is as of 54 beta not implementing ssl support..
     
  10. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Ok, I'll use my yahoo account. I was configuring my XML file when I saw "POPPort" and "SMTPPort". Where do I get those info?
     
  11. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    pop = 995
    smtp = 465

    if it works awesome if it does not then you might need to have ssl enabled... which would suck...
     
  12. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    1 out of my 5 feeds work ok, but when I hit "Transmit" in the Inbox section, it loads for a few mins before an error message pops up: "errno 104". Any ideas?
     
  13. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    no idea. you got me there... hmmm ssl error?
     
  14. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Yahoo email clients use SSL? Oh well... at least there's the Nintendo DS Browser
     
  15. aphexpusher
    OP

    Member aphexpusher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    eh... I hope he adds ssl support soon.... I really want to use this....
     

Share This Page