Hacking Trying to find out if its D2B or D2C...

War

Take it easy~
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5,408
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
California
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,999
Country
http://nintendo-scene.com/wiitracker/search.php

Is this site accurate at all? I tried inputting my Wii serial, but it said please insert the full serial number... At the end of my serial code, there was a 1 in a little box, so I added it, and it said:

Your Drive Chip is most likely GC2-D2C.

Your Drive Pins are most likely not cut.

What exactly does this mean? Would I be able to go with a solderless solution, like Wlip?
 

sekhu

moo?
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
1,151
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
349
Country
I don't know much about Wlip but from what you've gathered, your Wii is a D2C which means your modchip choices are limited to Infectus or D2CKey, both require more wires to install than other modchips.
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,198
Trophies
2
XP
4,462
Country
United Kingdom
Man... that really sucks. You'd think that by now, they would have come up with some sort of D2C solution...

They have ,the D2CKEY and Infectus/Argon. D2CKEY is 32 wires and argon is only 13
smile.gif
. They are both perfectly fine solutions for the d2c wii and perform exactly the same functions as the wiikey etc for the older wiis. There is no improvements to be made other than attempting to lower the count (though 13 is not really high).


Wlip won't work , it's for DMS\D2A\D2B only , although it's apparently been coming out for months now
rofl2.gif
 

Redsquirrel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
622
Trophies
0
XP
297
Country
The problem is Infectus and Argon are only same region mod chips. I was just about to order one for a friend until I found that out. I think we might try the d2ckey and flexpcb route.
 

Sc4rFac3d

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
1,629
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
Visit site
XP
254
Country
Netherlands
Man... that really sucks. You'd think that by now, they would have come up with some sort of D2C solution...


They have ,the D2CKEY and Infectus/Argon. D2CKEY is 32 wires and argon is only 13
smile.gif
. They are both perfectly fine solutions for the d2c wii and perform exactly the same functions as the wiikey etc for the older wiis. There is no improvements to be made other than attempting to lower the count (though 13 is not really high).


Wlip won't work , it's for DMS\D2A\D2B only , although it's apparently been coming out for months now
rofl2.gif

You serious? So those compatibility issues was just a load of BS? I'm about to get my Wii chipped with an Infectus, so I need to make sure first. If it's true I guess the topic starter can get the same chip.
smile.gif
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,198
Trophies
2
XP
4,462
Country
United Kingdom
Man... that really sucks. You'd think that by now, they would have come up with some sort of D2C solution...


They have ,the D2CKEY and Infectus/Argon. D2CKEY is 32 wires and argon is only 13
smile.gif
. They are both perfectly fine solutions for the d2c wii and perform exactly the same functions as the wiikey etc for the older wiis. There is no improvements to be made other than attempting to lower the count (though 13 is not really high).


Wlip won't work , it's for DMS\D2A\D2B only , although it's apparently been coming out for months now
rofl2.gif

You serious? So those compatibility issues was just a load of BS? I'm about to get my Wii chipped with an Infectus, so I need to make sure first. If it's true I guess the topic starter can get the same chip.
smile.gif

Only going from what I've read , but people who have the argon say it's fine and doesn't suffer from the same problems as the infectus programmed with wii code. Not sure about the infectus with wii code though , dunno if they fixed it. I thought I read there was updated firmware for it , but can't remember where and can't seem to find, but Argon should be fine.

Remember though , all is just from what I've read (still deciding what to get myself) , so can't say 100% that argon is perfect.
 

Kiljaeden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Sydney
Website
Visit site
XP
173
Country
There has been confirmation, that the Wlip people are making a D2C Wlip. Unfortunately, that will be 3-4 months down the track, if you can wait that long.

If you can't, obviously you will have to go with a D2CKey, Argon or something different.
 

gamez2003

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
The problem is Infectus and Argon are only same region mod chips. I was just about to order one for a friend until I found that out. I think we might try the d2ckey and flexpcb route.


I think just spending the little extra for a infectus argon modchip then it would be alot easier to install I have read some stories about the flexpcb falling apart ect. the argon is only 13 wires and is alot easier to install.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nice to know that
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Cheapest I found $230 tax/s&h
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Sihuuu Taco Holder Stand set of 2 - Holds up to 3 tacos in each Taco Tray - Sturdy, Dishwasher and Microwave Safe https://a.co/d/6FFlct5 What kind of tacos are even in those racks
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What's that, ham and cheese?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I often stick some ham and cheese in a tortilla and toast it but I wouldn't dare call it a taco.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I guess ice cream in a taco is still a taco
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The product placement in the fantasy football movie is werid it starts out with a psp then goes to the series x
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There's a fantasy football movie?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I bet you can't believe it's about Madden
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I can't believe it's not butter.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lebron James did help produce it so it can't be that shit right
  • cearp @ cearp:
    kennie'snewname is now the old name???
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Woah! Kenny has changed it name?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp, Hey there!
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I prefer it/idiots as my pronouns thank you
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol theirs a cheat code for 30/60fps for new pOKEmoNz for ryujinx
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    So to have echo auto you need your phone connected to BT audio then the echo auto connected to your phone
  • brouh @ brouh:
    Hey, how can i contact the admins to see if there is something blocking the views of my post
  • brouh @ brouh:
    alr thx
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @brouh if you can see it, then other people can see it too
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: @brouh if you can see it, then other people can see it too