1. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    32,609
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RLE on a DS game? That is a new one.
     
  2. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    1. That wasn't sarcasm.
    2. I simply cannot decompress and edit graphics and I wouldn't ever try doing that by myself because I am stupid and I often end up ruining the ROM file.
     
  3. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    32,609
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is why copy and paste exists. It is the ROM hacker equivalent of "everybody fails to make a backup once".

    Even ignoring the corruption method of finding data I hate to think how many non functional or broken versions of games I have made over the years.
     
    plasturion and Kwyjor like this.
  4. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,364
    Country:
    Canada
    What, you think you can't learn? From the look of things, appropriate tools are already available.

    As above: if you ruin the ROM file, then restore your backup and try again.
     
  5. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    I know. But I repeat, I don't understand anything about coding and such. Even with a step-by-step tutorial, a readme. That won't help me either.

    I'm sorry for replying like this, but this is the reality.
     
    Last edited by SDA, Mar 7, 2020
  6. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    As for me I like all the fails (there's a tons) in the romhacking process and discover how to fix it, so i like keep trying to brake something more than read and learn all that stuff. I think this is good occasion for you to learn basics, but if you don't want...
    There's easier way to compress / decompress images here. I didn't check before, but Tinke has build-in RLE decompressor. All you have to do is open compressed file as a "Compress", and set 9c. Decompressed file will be created below. Then after you export image and modify, just click pack button, and that's all. (and remember to load palette first)
    Another things that i've seen with Mtools - sometimes ripped text can have half of values. (there's not that much but single characters like ' or " are ripped from double byte mapping as a one, so you can see in the notepad++ something like this (EM, FS, GS) but don't worry, you can replace with any other character from ISO Latin-1, it should be fine. If you want to make to work with notepad++ easier way choose-> settings -> preferencess -> new document (set format -> unix, and coding -> last checkbox and choose ISO 8859-1)
     
  7. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    Nope. I've had enough of saying that I can't edit images. As a result, I'll put my project on a temporary hiatus because I'm really annoyed right now.
     
  8. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    Ok, I updated tools again if anyone would like to use. Now there's access to all game font. (CP-1252)
    So extracted text should contain all recognized characters, and you can use the extra one. (0x80-0x9F)
    Set in Notepad Windows-1252 (CP-1252) (extedend version of ISO 8859-1)
    mtools03.png
     

    Attached Files:

  9. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    Exactly what files can I translate now that you updated the tools?
     
  10. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    All with "loctext" in name, it's backward compatible. For example extracted ShopUpgrades should have all recognized characters ( ' and ").
     
  11. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    How do I do the same with ATK, STA, EXP... all 3-letter abbreviations that come up when I attack and gain points in the game?
     
  12. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    Unfortunately that's graphics data. :-)
     
  13. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    Not in the base stats menu. And don't reply with that happy face because I get sad then.
     
  14. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    Sorry then, Hmm.. there's some menu text inside arm9.bin around 0xcb3a0 and 0xcd390, you can look in hexeditor and change manually using Crystaltile or Tinke, but you have to be very careful here. Replaced text can't be longer than original and every single word has to be ended with 0x00 (you can't change it's place at least last 0x00 character). So just for now it can't be larger than 3letters. Theoritiacly it's possible to extend space, If I find free time maybe i look for pointers for it, but honestly i don't want mess in arm9.bin that much. Maybe others can help you here. or if you make binary comparision with the file from translated rom (russian or portugal) it will be easier to find pointers.
     
  15. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    In fact, all 3-letter abbreviations will be like this:
    ATK --> ATT
    DEF --> DIF
    SPD --> VEL
    (STA and INT will be left the same. And as I said before I don't want to make words larger than 3 letters. I'm not dumb.)
     
  16. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    That's great, I know, I told only about posibility. Good luck with translation and have fun.
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  17. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    I will. :yaynds:
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  18. SDA

    OP SDA Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Italy
    Plasturion? I found that in the ShopUpgrades archive there are no " and ' but some odd symbols.
     
  19. plasturion

    plasturion temporary hermit
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Poland
    I see, that was the reason I updated tools lately. Did you tried to dump text with Mtools v0.3? That symbols are from range 0x80-0x9F. When you open outOrg.txt it should load ansi standard in default and display them correctly, so I'm surprised, (I just ripped right now and I got correct output with all recognized characters in example: World’s famous “Eye Scream” ) I suggest using CP-1252 standard now instead of ISO 8859-1 if you like to use latest updated Mtools with no worries.
     
  20. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    32,609
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Japanese punctuation ( https://www.tofugu.com/japanese/japanese-punctuation/ ) is slightly different if it is a Japanese game you are playing with.

    If not how are you trying to enter apostrophes and quote marks? They might be a different encoding where the rest is known and thus the game does not quite understand what you are doing.
    Figuring it out can be fun. If it is a NFTR font it will be able to tell you the encodings that correspond to symbols but otherwise you get to figure it out.
    Easier way is to find an example in other text you do know, harder is chances are whatever order it is in the font in then it will be the same in the the encoding so try up or down from there, potentially far more annoying still is trying every value* (if you know some other punctuation then start there and go up and down) and then probably hardest from where you sit now (assuming you have not spent the last few weeks learning assembly) would be a tracing session.
    Sometimes name entry and high score entry can tell you something, and if it works it can be very quick indeed, but that can just as easily lead you down all sorts of odd paths.

    *you can try when it is in memory but some games will only grab the text and immediately do stuff with it and not update (it is not like text normally updates in a game). To that end expect to edit and then boot up to test, be aware that savestates might trick you by having the data already loaded but not on screen so be wary with them and make sure you are way back when from your text can be expected to load if you are going to.

    If you are doing Japanese and it does not have anything then you get to change the font, if you are being a cowboy then you can skip figuring it out and change something in this game that you don't care about but do know the encoding for (if doing the whole Italian thing and you don't have any loanwords in it then maybe J, K, W, X and Y or their lower case counterparts).
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (unavailable), language, Trying