Try to get wii on a university connection.

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by 2shoes, Sep 25, 2010.

Sep 25, 2010
  1. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys,
    So basically my problem is getting the wii online on my university connection.

    Problem :
    - There are two wifi signals. One is secure and requires a username and a password to get in. The other is unsecure but requires a browser login.

    What I have tried :
    - Tried the unsecured connection and tried browser login, but Internet channel wont let me go on because the connection does not connect. But for me to connect I have to get through Internet channel and do a browser login.

    - I cannot connect to the secure connection because the connection asks for a username and a password , but the wii's interface only allows me one line of input when entering the security key.

    - I have also tried to setup a virtual acess point but the wii cannot connect, well when I connect to it, the test for the connection fails.( I used virtual router and Connectify to create acess point).

    Ideas I had:

    -Is there another internet browser for the wii that can allow me to go online without a connection so I can enter the username and pass for the browser login and get connected?

    - Is there any way to get the wii to accept a connection and give me two lines of input for the username and password.

    Thanks for your time guys.

    P.S please suggest another way I can connect if you can think of one.
     


  2. silverbullet1080

    Member silverbullet1080 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have a Windows 7 laptop you can turn it into a hotspot when it's connected to the web.
     
  3. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    yup i tried that, but when it does connect to the access point , the connection test fails.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have tried some of what I would but something to note is a lot of "open" connections like this (especially schools/educational establishments) will block certain mac ranges. Are you sure that is not what is happening here?

    Not sure if you can do a virtual mac address with a wii or otherwise hack to something different (if you are already doing a PC based hotspot you might have an option there).
     
  5. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think the mac ranges are the problem because my friends who have a ps3 can log on by just doing a browser based login. I would be able to do the same but the Internet channel will not allow me to go onto the browser unless i have a connection which can connect to the Internet, but i cannot get a valid connection unless i can enter the browser where it promotes me to enter my login info. Its kinda hard to explain but please ask to clarify if you do not understand what i'm saying.

    So is there another browser which i can use (btw my wii has homebrew) instead of the internet channel?
     
  6. Livy

    Newcomer Livy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    clone your wii mac address to your laptop.
    go to the weblogin with your laptop, login.
    then enter the wifi details on the wii,
    might work if the login is mac based?
     
  7. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of security they are using? WEP, WPA, or WPA2? Be aware if it is WEP it must be 64 bit for it to work. For WPA or WPA2, if they are using different encryption, it may not work on your Wii.
     
  8. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe this will work.

    1: Buy the Nintendo WiFi dongle
    2: Plug it into your laptop w' internet connection
    3: Hook up your Wii to the signal from your Nintendo dongle
     
  9. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the fast replay guys, i'll try out the dongle and mac cloning and let you know how it turns out. Oh and trump-205, its an unsecure connection based on a browser login.
     
  10. silverbullet1080

    Member silverbullet1080 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Canada
    NONONONONO

    The Nintendo dongle is a piece of garbage, so I ask that you don't spend a dime on the thing. Not to mention it's XP only. If you're running the newest version of Connectify, then we're probably having the same issue as my phone won't connect either.
     
  11. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Um, Ive used the nintendo wifi USB dongle on vista, it works fine.
    Also, not sure if this would work, but have you tried setting up an ad-hoc network?(if the wii can even connect to those)
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    just crack the secured network with backtrack [​IMG]
     
  13. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Backtrace the Dean's internet, the consequences will never be the same

    o.o
     
  14. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    so your saying the dongle is useless. I'm sure the wii doesnt have a ad-hoc mode.
    Any other suggestions?

    p.s There is no need for me to break into the secure networks since i know the username and pass for it.
    - I cannot connect to the secure connection because the connection asks for a username and a password , but the wii's interface only allows me one line of input when entering the security key.
     
  15. Stavros90

    Newcomer Stavros90 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    If you have an ethernet connection running to your room you could plug in a router or just an Access Point and use that instead. You would have to check with your help desk because it probably isn't allowed but worth the try.
     
  16. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    again, the dongle may be crappy, but it works.
     
  17. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so good news, but I still need some help.
    I was at a party at my res and these guys from the floor below got their wii online.
    I asked him how he got online, and he said he just opened up the wii internet channel and used the browser based login.
    But i cant do that because my wii internet channel says i need a valid connection before opening the browser, but i need to go into the browser to and type in the login to get a valid connection.
    Now I have been wondering why my friend's internet channel allowed him to load up the browser without a valid connection
    and i'm guessing cause maybe there is a new version of the channel which allow people to do that.
    So i was wondering if anyone knew where i could find the latest internet channel wad?
    ..and yes i tried googleing it [​IMG]
     
  18. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nus downloader?
     
  19. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the quick replay , will try nus.
     
  20. 2shoes
    OP

    Newcomer 2shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    ok got latest version of internet channel still no luck same problem, any other ideas anyone?
     

Share This Page