Troubleshooting of dual hard drive problem with USB Loader GX

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Hrugnir, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    UPDATE: Try using this revision first, it has fixed the problem for many others!
    682
    The latest one as of this writing is 684, though, so try that instead if you want.
    A huge thanks to the GX team for solving this! Thanks for your patience and calmness in this.

    If more than one or two people report the problem still not being fixed with 682, I will continue updating this thread in some way, but I suppose I'd have to start over with stats from only those few people for whom it doesn't work. Seems like another error then.

    -------------------------

    Okay, as this has clogged up 10+ pages in the USB Loader GX thread, I'm taking the initiative Logan suggested and making a thread to gather the data here.

    Everyone who have the multiple partition problem with revisions past 647, as documented in issues 764 and 773 on the Google Code Issue section, post your specs according to the following formula. With that data, we could make an excel sheet or something [​IMG]

    Below are the questions to answer, and in paranthesis an example answer

    Basic questions:
    • Number of partitions: (2 or 3, probably)
    • What hard drive are you using? (e.g. WD Elements 1 TB, Seagate Freeagent GO 320 GB)
    • The first GX Revision where the problem occurs: (e.g. rev648, rev 672)
    • cIOS Rev: (e.g. 12, 13a, 13b, 14)
    • System Menu Version: (e.g. 4.0E)
    • Region: (PAL/NTSC-U/NTSC-J)
    • Preloader Installed? (Y/N)
    • SD or SDHC Card? (SD/SDHC)
    • Used GX on SD, USB or both? (SD/USB/Tried both)
    Additional questions:
    • Have you tried turning off Ocarina?
    • Have you tried resetting the config files?
    • Have you tried making all your partitions primary?
    • Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev?
    • Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS?
    I will update this, although if anyone has mod powers of some kind, feel free to do it as well [​IMG]

    ---------------------

    Relevant data gathered so far (please give feedback on this):


    Partitions:
    8 people using 2 partitions.
    3 people using 3 partition.

    Drives used:
    2x Western Digital Elements 1 TB
    2x Western Digital Passport Essentials 320 GB (I think Royusmc uses this as well?)
    Western Digital 250 GB
    Iomega prestige 320 GB
    Seagate Freeagent GO 320 GB
    Seagate Freeagent GO 160 GB
    Imation Apollo 160GB
    USB to ATA/ATAPI Bridge, with a Hitachi HTS543232L9A300 300 GB SATA hard drive inside

    Last loader to work:
    It seems unclear where the loader broke
    Many people report 648, but a few people are reporting that 664 works, another that 672 works.
    A third (riddle 43) reports that 672 is the revision where it first went wrong(!)
    Royusmc says 668 and above is where it stopped working.
    m0nde says 671. bula says 673.

    cIOS revisions:
    4 out of 11 report having tried a previous cIOS revision with the same results.
    No one has reported the problem being solved by changing to an earlier cIOS, so far.

    System menu versions used:
    4.0E - 2
    4.1E - 3
    3.2U - 1
    4.0U - 1
    4.1U - 4
    11 Total

    From this we gather that there are:
    5 PAL users
    6 NTSC-U users

    Also, that the following System Menu Firmware versions are used:
    3.2 - 1
    4.0 - 3
    4.1 - 7

    Preloader:
    8 out of 10 use Preloader.

    SD/SDHC:
    6 SD users
    3 SDHC users
    1 person has reported using both

    SD/USB:
    5 people having run from SD only
    0 people having run from USB only
    5 people having tried both
    One person reported one-time success when switching from USB to SD
     


  2. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    My specs:

    Number of partitions: 3 - FAT32, NTFS and WBFS
    What hard drive are you using? Western Digital Elements 1 TB
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: rev 648
    cIOS Rev: 14
    System Menu Version: 4.0E
    Region: PAL
    Preloader Installed? Yes, 0.29, but I launch from System Menu through Preloader
    SD or SDHC Card? SDHC
    GX on SD or USB? SD(HC)

    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? - Yes, I've never had it on.
    Have you tried resetting the config files? - Yes, I do it every time I try a new revision.
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? Yes, they are all primary.
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? No, I will do that tomorrow, I go to work in an hour.
    Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Yes.
     
  3. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    Basic questions:
    • Number of partitions: 2 - FAT32 and WBFS [Tried both FAT32, WBFS and WBFS, FAT32]
    • What hard drive are you using? USB to ATA/ATAPI Bridge, with a Hitachi HTS543232L9A300 300 GB SATA hard drive inside.
    • The first GX Revision where the problem occurs: rev 648
    • cIOS Rev: 14
    • System Menu Version: 4.1E
    • Region: PAL
    • Preloader Installed? Yes, 0.29, I load with the forwarder dol from preloader.
    • SD or SDHC Card? SD 2GB Sandisk.
    • GX on SD or USB? SD, and USB. [Both give the same black screen/Wii menu error, though r680 worked the first time from SD it hasn't worked since even with clearing all setting, changing them, etc.]
    Additional questions:
    • Have you tried turning off Ocarina? Yes.
    • Have you tried resetting the config files? Yes.
    • Have you tried making all your partitions primary? They were, and I made sure. I also reformatted a few times.
    • Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? No.
    • Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Yes.
    ...so much updating... :-p
     
  4. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry for not making the list complete at first, please edit in the answers to the new questions if you can, Nollog.
     
  5. jono@home

    Member jono@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Number of partitions: 2 - FAT32, WBFS, tried two differant hard drive.. Iomega prestige 320gb & Seagate freeagent GO 320GB
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: rev 648
    cIOS Rev: 14 & Rev 13a
    System Menu Version: 4.1E
    Region: PAL
    Preloader Installed? Yes, 0.29,
    SD or SDHC Card? SD
    GX on SD or USB? SD and have also tried usb and a mixture of both

    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? - Yes, I've never had it on.
    Have you tried resetting the config files? - Yes,
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? Yes, they are always primary.
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? Yes 13a.. same problems...
    Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Yes

    workarounds..

    use revision 647 or take usb cable out of drive whilst loader is booting up from SD, on cios prompt select 249, re insert cable, games will now load
     
  6. Oops

    Member Oops GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    France
    My specs:

    Number of partitions: 2 - FAT32 and WBFS
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: i tried, tried and tried... 647 to 665 work fine, 668 don't work. black screen or reboot to wii menu
    What hard drive are you using? case cooler master + HDD seagate 320Go sata
    cIOS Rev: 14
    System Menu Version: 4.0E
    Region: PAL
    Preloader Installed? Yes
    SD or SDHC Card? SD
    GX on SD or USB? tested SD and USB

    Additional questions:
    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? always turn off
    Have you tried resetting the config files? yes
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? all my partitions is primary, the first is fat32.
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? no
    Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Yes
     
  7. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    "Oops", if you can, go here and get revisions 647 and 648 to confirm if the error occurs with 648 for you as well.
     
  8. Hai1242

    Newcomer Hai1242 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Number of partitions: 2 - FAT32, WBFS Seagate FreeAgent GO 160GB
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: I've only tried 649 and 676
    cIOS Rev: 13a and 14
    System Menu Version: 3.2U
    Region: NTSC
    Preloader Installed? Yes
    SD or SDHC Card? SD
    GX on SD or USB? Both

    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? Never had this on
    Have you tried resetting the config files? Deleted them every attempt
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? Yes
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? Yes 13a
     
  9. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    Number of partitions: 2 (FAT32 and WBFS)
    What hard drive are you using? 320 GB Western Digital Passport Essentials
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: Not exactly sure, I'm currently on 672 and it works, definitely doesn't work with 674 for me so either 673 or 674
    cIOS Rev: 14
    System Menu Version: 4.1U
    Region: NTSC
    Preloader Installed? No
    SD or SDHC Card? SDHC
    GX on SD or USB? SD

    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? I don't use Ocarina
    Have you tried resetting the config files? Yes
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? No
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? 13
    Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Haven't tried it yet
     
  10. jono@home

    Member jono@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you can think of anything else let me know...
     
  11. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Number of partitions: 3 - NTFS, FAT32 and WBFS
    The first GX Revision where the problem Occurs: rev 665 works, all above doesnt
    cIOS Rev: 14
    System Menu Version: 4.1E
    Region: PAL
    Preloader Installed? Yes, 0.29
    SD or SDHC Card? 8GB Sandisk SDHC.
    GX on SD or USB? SD

    Have you tried turning off Ocarina? Never Used It.
    Have you tried resetting the config files? Yes.
    Have you tried making all your partitions primary? Yes All Were Set Before The Error Occured
    Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? No.

    Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? Yes. Selected 249 Never Use 222
     
  12. Penn

    Newcomer Penn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Chile
    * Number of partitions: 2, first FAT32, second as WBFS
    * What hard drive are you using?: Imation Apollo 160GB
    * The first GX Revision where the problem occurs: 665 WORKS fine; then i jump to 674, 675 and have problems. 680 and 681, problems too.
    * cIOS Rev: rev14 (waninkoko)
    * System Menu Version: 4.1U
    * Region: NTSC-U
    * Preloader Installed?: No, never.
    * SD or SDHC Card?: SD
    * GX on SD or USB?: Direct from SD, loading from HBC and from a forwarder channel.

    * Have you tried turning off Ocarina?: never use that.
    * Have you tried resetting the config files?: yes, same problem. Black screen when trying to load any game.
    * Have you tried making all your partitions primary?: no, lazy enough (and busy) to reformat and reinstall games right now.
    * Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev?: no
    * Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS?: never try this.
     
  13. jono@home

    Member jono@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    another question for this list..

    do other loaders work with your setup ??

    my answer is yes..


    but might be worth adding to the list..
     
  14. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    QUOTE(jono@home @ Jul 31 2009, 02:08 AM) antoher question for this list..

    do other loader work with your setup ??

    my answer is yes..


    but might be worth adding to the list..

    I think we can safely say by now that the problem is unique to USB Loader GX... The mere fact that it works with older versions of this loader should confirm that.
     
  15. jono@home

    Member jono@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeh i'd say... definitely...
     
  16. riddle43

    Member riddle43 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Mich USA
    Country:
    United States
    * Number of partitions: (3 frist is wbfs 2 is fat 3 is ntfs)
    * What hard drive are you using? (WD Elements 1 TB)
    * The first GX Revision where the problem occurs: (rev672 )
    * cIOS Rev: (14)
    * System Menu Version: (4.0u)
    * Region: (NTSC-U)
    * Preloader Installed? (Y)
    * SD or SDHC Card? both
    * GX on SD or USB? both

    Additional questions:

    * Have you tried turning off Ocarina? i never use it
    * Have you tried resetting the config files? yes
    * Have you tried making all your partitions primary? yes
    * Have you tried using a previous cIOS rev? yes
    * Do newer revisions work for you if you force cIOS selection by having the USB disconnected when starting GX, then plugging the cord in and selecting cIOS? no

    just looking for some help no games load after 672 [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  17. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    riddle43, did you just copy my default answers? Please specify your number of partitions and whether you really use WD Elements 1 TB, and any other questions where you might have copied my answer!
     
  18. Royusmc

    Member Royusmc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    I am using a 4.1U wii with preloader and cios14
    wd passport 320gb with 2 partitions 1st a fat with usbloader on it and the 2nd with the wii game partition.
    Well with the sd card in with rev668 and above the games boot to blank screen.
    If I take out the sd card the loader loads games fine. Hope this helps.
    Even with the files on the sd card the games still will not load

    Edit: I don't know if the problem I am having is the same as everyone else, but I did take file from rev667 and put them in rev668 and the games booted with the sd card in the wii. I will keep checking every file till I find the one that is not working for me and try to fix it. Then I will post the changes I had to make. Thanks for any help.
    I thank I see the line of code in menu.ccp where it has || where it should be )) Well it is the menu.ccp file, I am going to use the old one in rev675 real quick to find out if it was just luck or not.
    I don't understand it but it did not work. Well I have been trying to get this all day and all I can say is that if the sd card is in the wii when the loader boots up the games don't work. Sorry. If the sd card is in ntsf format then the games will load from the hard drive so it has something to do with having 2 fat partition hooked up to the wii when the loader is started.
     
  19. riddle43

    Member riddle43 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Mich USA
    Country:
    United States
    i did take a look
    [​IMG]
     
  20. Hrugnir
    OP

    Newcomer Hrugnir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Sweden
    Okay, I have to go to work now. I'll do another update of the first post when I get back!

    Please try to answer all the questions if you can!
     

Share This Page