Troubles with starting priiloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wesley2004, Feb 27, 2010.

Feb 27, 2010
  1. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi all,

    I made a mistake with my softmodded wii.
    I updated an cios to play new games.
    But when i finished that i wanted to remove te instal files but i think that i deleted the wrong thing.

    I installed priiloader before. When i startup with reset nothing happens. (don't enter the priiloader menu)
    I have an backup so have nand file.

    Now when i start the wii i see the blue flashing light and some sound from the dvd drive.
    The wii stays black without sd card.
    With the sd card is see this: cboot2 dol loader v16.
    I putted the instal files from priiloader at the sd card with the boot.dol file in the root.
    Then he starts the priiloader setup.
    When i install this and finished that he restart.
    Then i see white stripes at the screen (like snowing)

    Nothing happends after that.
    When i press reset there comes a new line but i cant read (scrambled letters)

    So i hope somebody can help me with starting my wii again!
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    You removed files on the SD, or the Wii?

    Also, lets make one thing clear, cause you seem to be confusing some apps:
    There are 2 apps that start before the system menu:

    * BootMii, which is installed by the hackmii installer (together with HBC) and starts automatically when the needed files are on SD.

    * Preloader, which has its own installer and starts when holding reset. This doesn't need any files on SD to run
     
  3. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I removed some files from the sd card.

    I worked with the bootmii to make an backup of my wii.
    Maybe the files i needed are not at the sd card anymore?
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    You probably removed/renamed the BootMii folder or something
    See if you still have it somewhere

    If not, you'll have to find it somewhere else, but we can't share the files...
     
  5. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    go to preloader menu again then load HBC there.
    use wad manager to install CIOS for your SM.
    or
    on preloader menu
    goto settings
    change your system menu IOS to 249 or 36 (if 36 is TBR'ed)
     
  6. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the only thing what happend is the install menu that starts.
    I cant get in any onther menu!
     
  7. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    the best choice for you now is to load from bootmii boot2..
     
  8. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok where can i found that and how to do?
     
  9. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    check ur pm


    if you successfully boot up bootmii
    and you got HBC installed
    from there you can run HBC again
    you can use wad manager to restore some missing files or
    if you still remember what system menu you have
    reinstall your system menu and its IOS
     
  10. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    great with your file the homebrew started up.
    i formatted the sd card and placed the bootmii files on it.
    no it starts up but the menu is empty.
    how to install the rest?
     
  11. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    get wad manager
    download your system menu and its IOS on NUSD


    create APPS,WAD folder on the root of the sd card
    put wad manager on APPS
    and put your downloaded wads on WAD folder.

    edit: can you load homebrew channel?
     
  12. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes i can load homebrew channel after bootmii menu.
    is it the best to put the backup file back or not?
     
  13. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan

    what? do you have nand dump?
     
  14. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hes i wrote before i thought
     
  15. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    put nand.bin on the root of your sd card then restore it using bootmii.
     
  16. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok i go try that
    is the normal menu back after that??
     
  17. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    yes it will, if the dump is good.
     
  18. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok i go now to try it!
     
  19. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok great it seems that it's working again!!!!
    SUPER!!!!
    i try to install priiloader again now so it start directly to usbloader-gx but that wil be the most easy thing after this problem i think!

    Thanks for the help!

    p.s how do i change the startup that bootmii not starts?
     
  20. wesley2004
    OP

    Newcomer wesley2004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    found it myself, just rename the folder from bootmii!!
     

Share This Page