Trouble with v1.8 kernel

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by tone0987, Apr 29, 2007.

Apr 29, 2007

Trouble with v1.8 kernel by tone0987 at 5:18 PM (1,304 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just try to load v1.8 kernel onto a formated 1gb sandisk micro card,when DS is turned on the load screen comes up then nothing, screen is blank. Tryed v1.7 and the same thing happened.The only way i can make it work is to use v1.5 that came with the R4. Any help much appreciated.
    PS using windows XP.
     
  2. supermauerbros

    Newcomer supermauerbros Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Are you using the English kernel and not the Chinese? r4DS.net is the US site.
     
  3. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The R4 is English and the kernels are english.
     
  4. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna throw something out there - Could this be a clone?
     
  5. Nestea80

    Member Nestea80 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Canada
    Try blowing into the ds slot. [​IMG]
     
  6. Zombie_X

    Member Zombie_X GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it as i own a clone version and the r4 clones are like the n-card. you could just have a faulty r4ds.
     
  7. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But the r4 works with v1.5 kernel
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible that the files for the newer firmwares were corrupted during download. Try downloading them again.

    R4 firmware 1.08
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    When you update the R4 firmware files, make sure to delete the "_DS_MENU.SYS" file that the old firmware created on your flashcard when loading a new firmware for the first time. The file is 4MB. 1.08 will create a new one automatically the first time it loads the flashcart. Put all your goodies in place (games, apps, etc), but make sure you leave at least 4MB for the first boot for the "_DS_MENU.SYS" file to be created.

    Maybe, if you didn't delete that "_DS_MENU.SYS" file, or didn't have enough free space for the "_DS_MENU.SYS" file to be re-created, the firmware wouldn't initiate properly and resulted in the issues you described.

    Don't know if that will help you or not, but it's something to remember when updating the firmware files.
     
  10. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll give it a try 2 nite
    Thanks
     
  11. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No joy,
    formated card again and loaded 1.8 kernel still blank screen.
     
  12. tone0987
    OP

    Newcomer tone0987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tried R4 in a friends DS and 1.8 kernel is working, must be a problem with the DS itself.
     
  13. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    Tried blowing inside the ds? D:
     

Share This Page