1. SG

    OP SG GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    The chip works alright (Cobra 2.1), but my mate's console's laser doesn't like the discs! We swapped the chip over to mine (I have identical chip) and it works fine, and the soldering is fine - we even took it off and resoldered. The GC will play normal discs but no backups. It's top quality media too (Verbatim), so we're at a loss. I have identical discs and they work just like the real thing.

    Obviously we can get another Cube but if we can sort this it would be great.

    He tried raising the laser (it was 1mm lower than mine), but it stopped reading discs altogether. He moved it back and it played the originals again though (phew).

    I'm thinking maybe one of the wires is broken inside but I reckon we wouldn't even get to a boot up screen then, but the Cobra BIOS works fine - it just can't read the discs - his or mine which work 100% on my Cube.

    EDIT: Could a mod please change title to "Trouble with friend's GC laser...", as it doesn't make sense otherwise. :s
     
  2. Armadillo

    Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,031
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Either try different media , cubes can be very fussy and reject even good stuff or tweak the pot , there is a guide for that floating around somewhere.
     
  3. SG

    OP SG GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    Nah, we tried other discs as well. I'm telling you, mine works perfectly with them an these are the best that you can get.
     
  4. Armadillo

    Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,031
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's your point. It makes no difference whether these are the best discs and yours works perfectly. Every single cube is different , just because yours reads them , does not mean another cube will. If no discs work or you want them specific discs to work , then tweak the pot.
     
  5. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    Change the POT. Barely any gamecubes would read backups ever without adjusting the POT
     
  6. SG

    OP SG GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    Thanks. I've been advised about that too. He's looking into it as we speak. Guess I was lucky in that my GC has 100% success rate with decent media.
     
  7. Defiance

    Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Country:
    United States
    How old is you Gamecube, by any chance? What about your friend's cube?
     
  8. Lazycus

    Lazycus Rotten
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    ??? In my experience with GameCubes and quality media it was just the opposite. Most GameCubes worked just fine with backups. Adjusting the laser pot was always the last option to be used. "Barely any . . ." makes it sound like less than 2-3% would work. I would say it was more like 95% would work fine with no laser pot mod and quality media.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Trouble, reading, think)