Hacking RELEASE [Trinket] [Rebug] [Others] [Modchip Software] *NEW* Fusee_Suite UF2 packages

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,750
Country
United States
What happens when i enable autorcm? Do i only have to press the power button? Or does that cause problems with the trinket?

If you aren't using dual boot setup, autoRCM will boot the uf2 payload on the SD card by default, unless you have a payload.bin on the SD card, which it will boot that instead, it will work fine. As for autoboot with autoRCM it will boot into CFW with just one power button press. To get to the UF2 menu, you press the reset button twice, and then manually reboot the switch while connected to a PC via usb cable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: White_Raven_X

jesterscourt

Not Brad.
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
XP
1,047
Country
United States
What would one do if they have an M0 trinket installed but fubar'd the SD card? Can boot into OFW but Vol+Power is a black screen (RCM mode?). Seems like there should be a forwarding file put somewhere on the SD, just looking for some insight.
 

Arakon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
360
Trophies
0
XP
451
Country
Gambia, The
With the trinket installed with the Vol+ wire, it already does "autoRCM" and you only need to press the power button.
It doesn't mess with any data for that, so that'd be preferable.
As long as holding Vol+ and Power doesn't cause issues with autorcm consoles, neither will the trinket, as it just holds down the button inputs too.
 

jesterscourt

Not Brad.
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
XP
1,047
Country
United States
With the trinket installed with the Vol+ wire, it already does "autoRCM" and you only need to press the power button.
It doesn't mess with any data for that, so that'd be preferable.
As long as holding Vol+ and Power doesn't cause issues with autorcm consoles, neither will the trinket, as it just holds down the button inputs too.

My install must have been done differently.
Normal power booted into OFW and Vol+Power booted into CFW.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
637
Country
United States
My install must have been done differently.
Normal power booted into OFW and Vol+Power booted into CFW.

This can be changed at any time. Power on - Hold Volume + until you see solid red light on chip then flashing red light then release, you will see purple light flash. This is how you change what you want to boot 1st. You can repeat process to change back.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have the same setup. If you enable autorcm, you only have to press power.

RCM is obsolete honestly. Dual boot with pseudo RCM is best option.
 
Last edited by HollowGrams,

Skater4599

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
965
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
1,402
Country
United States
Hi all. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction. I have a switch thats been on SX-OS since release and i've installed the Trinket M0 matty has supplied with software and instructions for. It's been too long i can't remember details of how it all worked, but now I'm in need of a system update to play some newer games, and thus time to switch to atmosphere. In my reading i've found the method for installing atmosphere over SXOS and editing .ini files to block nintendo servers and all the same things sxos does.

My question is how do I update this Trinket to now look for and boot atmosphere once i change all the files on my SD card to atmosphere? This software looks like its been updated a bit since i had last updated it (I added so it would be able to regenerate my license.key file).

I don't use emunand its simple boot to nand with sigpatches. Is there any reasoning I'd want to use hekate as a middle loader instead of directly booting fusee-primary from atmos?

Also, It appears there are/were several different packages or updaters for atmos, is there one thats recommended or used more frequently than others? Such as this: https://github.com/HamletDuFromage/AIO-switch-updater/releases/ ?
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,750
Country
United States
Hi all. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction. I have a switch thats been on SX-OS since release and i've installed the Trinket M0 matty has supplied with software and instructions for. It's been too long i can't remember details of how it all worked, but now I'm in need of a system update to play some newer games, and thus time to switch to atmosphere. In my reading i've found the method for installing atmosphere over SXOS and editing .ini files to block nintendo servers and all the same things sxos does.

My question is how do I update this Trinket to now look for and boot atmosphere once i change all the files on my SD card to atmosphere? This software looks like its been updated a bit since i had last updated it (I added so it would be able to regenerate my license.key file).

I don't use emunand its simple boot to nand with sigpatches. Is there any reasoning I'd want to use hekate as a middle loader instead of directly booting fusee-primary from atmos?

Also, It appears there are/were several different packages or updaters for atmos, is there one thats recommended or used more frequently than others? Such as this: https://github.com/HamletDuFromage/AIO-switch-updater/releases/ ?

You can just update hekate and use the hekate on the uf2 to boot hekate.bin, and autoboot and autorcm into Atmosphere from hekate.bin. Hekate is a multi function bootloader, if you don't want to use it you could set autoboot from the uf2 hekate to boot fusee primary.bin, as for updating CFW files I suggest doing it manually by mounting your SD card via Hekate usb feature not AIO.
 

Skater4599

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
965
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
1,402
Country
United States
You can just update hekate and use the hekate on the uf2 to boot hekate.bin, and autoboot and autorcm into Atmosphere from hekate.bin. Hekate is a multi function bootloader, if you don't want to use it you could set autoboot from the uf2 hekate to boot fusee primary.bin, as for updating CFW files I suggest doing it manually by mounting your SD card via Hekate usb feature not AIO.

Thanks for this, Do you remember the method to getting into settings menu? I had forgotten about that menu! Maybe i don't even need to re-flash the uf2 file on the chip then. If I remember it was like power and the volume + button or something when it first boots. I think I was remembering/confusing the settings menu with pushing the button on the chip to put it into flash mode and mounting on the PC after that.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,750
Country
United States
Thanks for this, Do you remember the method to getting into settings menu? I had forgotten about that menu! Maybe i don't even need to re-flash the uf2 file on the chip then. If I remember it was like power and the volume + button or something when it first boots. I think I was remembering/confusing the settings menu with pushing the button on the chip to put it into flash mode and mounting on the PC after that.

If you have it set to autoboot Atmosphere from Hekate you press the volume - button to get into hekate menu, as for to get to the uf2 bootloader folder on the computer you press reset on the chip twice and restart from horizon os it will mount that way.
 
Last edited by Hayato213,

Skater4599

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
965
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
1,402
Country
United States
If you have it set to autoboot Atmosphere from Hekate you press the volume - button to get into hekate menu, as for to get to the uf2 bootloader folder on the computer you press reset on the chip twice and restart from horizon os it will mount that way.
Thanks very much for your help and knowledge, I will be playing with this here soon when i have my switch in front of me.

historically I've just ran SXOS and updated through there menu, used Choidejournx to update firmware when needed and used sxos built in nsp installer for game installs.

Now I'll be moving to Atmosphere with manual updates, daybreak for firmware upgrades to HOS, and tinfoil or goldleaf for nsp installer.

Any other reccomendations/QoL improvements suggested? I try to make this switch as simple as possible because kids that use will always find a way to break it if not haha.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,750
Country
United States
Thanks very much for your help and knowledge, I will be playing with this here soon when i have my switch in front of me.

historically I've just ran SXOS and updated through there menu, used Choidejournx to update firmware when needed and used sxos built in nsp installer for game installs.

Now I'll be moving to Atmosphere with manual updates, daybreak for firmware upgrades to HOS, and tinfoil or goldleaf for nsp installer.

Any other reccomendations/QoL improvements suggested? I try to make this switch as simple as possible because kids that use will always find a way to break it if not haha.

I will use daybreak to update the firmware and but manually update CFW file from hekate usb mounting feature first prior to updating firmware, some suggestion have a NAND backup on hand so in case the NAND brick you can always restore. I would recommend using autoRCM since it preserve your fuse, if you have a NAND backup from older firmware you can restore it as long it match with the fuse count, you can go higher firmware and being on lower fuse count.

FAT32 is recommended if you learn how to do usb install for game, really no need for exFAT.
 

Skater4599

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
965
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
1,402
Country
United States
I will use daybreak to update the firmware and but manually update CFW file from hekate usb mounting feature first prior to updating firmware, some suggestion have a NAND backup on hand so in case the NAND brick you can always restore. I would recommend using autoRCM since it preserve your fuse, if you have a NAND backup from older firmware you can restore it as long it match with the fuse count, you can go higher firmware and being on lower fuse count.

FAT32 is recommended if you learn how to do usb install for game, really no need for exFAT.
I do plan to use USB method for game installs for sure, thats one thing SX OS had super easy to do. There a tutorial around here for that already?
 

jesterscourt

Not Brad.
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
2,324
Trophies
0
XP
1,047
Country
United States
Alright I'm totally lost.

I had Trinket installed on a launch Switch. Worked fine, something happened (probably while fooling with the SD card using a Mac, and then trying to clean it up, to no avail. Can someone point me to an SD card setup that will work? Here's how it worked before:

Power by itself -> OFW (9.1)
Power and Vol+ -> CFW (Hekate I believe into Atmosphere with Emunand)

I can still get into OFW, but Power and Vol+ goes to a black screen.

I just got a RCM Loader and a jig, if that will help at all.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,750
Country
United States
Alright I'm totally lost.

I had Trinket installed on a launch Switch. Worked fine, something happened (probably while fooling with the SD card using a Mac, and then trying to clean it up, to no avail. Can someone point me to an SD card setup that will work? Here's how it worked before:

Power by itself -> OFW (9.1)
Power and Vol+ -> CFW (Hekate I believe into Atmosphere with Emunand)

I can still get into OFW, but Power and Vol+ goes to a black screen.

I just got a RCM Loader and a jig, if that will help at all.

MAC OSX that is where the issue is you got to get rid of the files MAC OSX leave behind or it won't boot.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: "This just in... The pizza also contained Canadian bacon... I can't take it anymore... Canadian...