Trimming GBA ROMs?

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by GeekyGuy, Jul 12, 2009.

Jul 12, 2009

Trimming GBA ROMs? by GeekyGuy at 4:38 PM (2,701 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Been using a DS flash card for a couple of years now, but never messed with the GBA ones. I'll be using an EZ Flash IV on my GBA SP. Should I just use the same trimmer I use for my DS games, or do I need one specifically for GBA ROMs?

    Thanks
     
  2. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Not sure if your current trimmer would even work on GBA ROMs. I use BatchGBA by our own TrolleyDave, which can also do save patching if you need it.
     
  3. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, man. I'll grab that.

    EDIT: Let me ask you this: Will the client for EZ Flash IV still patch the games properly after I've already trimmed them using this program? I'm still trying to get a handle on all this. [​IMG]
     
  4. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I think it would be safe to patch them, then trim them.
     
  5. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Alrighty. Thanks, man.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The EZ4client app patches and trims the roms at the same time. You also have batchGBA and GBATA and a whole host of other tools like Flash advance toolkit (I would go on but GBA rom trimmers are about as prolific as DS ones).
    DS trimmers will not work as modern* DS trimmers use the file size found in the header which is lacking on the GBA (why you got overdumps and underdumps on occasion).

    *old style trimmers including the DS capabilities of the EZ4 used the same method as GBA roms.
     
  7. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    gbata does everything i need
     
  8. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, doesn't the EZ4 client sometimes cause save erasure if you patch for a 1Mbit save? If only GBATA had 1Mbit patching.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it kinda pointless to trim GBA games,

    43 GBA games and it that got trimmed away was 1.05MB
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    That could indicate that you've got some garbage data at the end of your roms. Either that or you tried to trim homebrew, which is not going to give you any extra space.

    Trimming on the GBA won't give you too much space back (I'm guessing 10-15% as a ballpark figure), but it won't hurt anything.
     

Share This Page