Tried upgrading to the latest firmware, now I get white screens!

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by f00had, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK so I've got a MK5, and I downloaded the latest firmware for it from neoflash.com. I was using X menu 2.55

    Copied the Autoflash file to the MK5, ran it, it upgraded and said to restart and format. When I tried to restart all I get is white screens, I tried holding start + select to format but it doesn't work it just comes up with the white screens. I think it's bricked cause I forgot to copy the X menu file that came with it [​IMG]

    Is there any way to fix it?
     
  2. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you own the USB-Reader [No cable, just a reader you insert the MK5 cardridge] or the Slot 2 linker (The GBA card with the USB cable) ?
     
  3. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got the USB reader where you connect the MK5 directly to the PC.
     
  4. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    So, when you connect the MK5 with your PC, anything recognized =$ ?
     
  5. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's recognised, I can copy files to and from the MK5 but if I turn on my DS and choose the MK5 in the DS menu it just comes up with 2 white screens.
     
  6. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    1: hold L+R+A+B+DOWN on starting the DS with inserted card o0 ATM I dont have a ncard, but that is (or was... I dont know if they changed it) the key-combo to fast-format the card

    after that:

    is there a file called "xmenu.dat" on the card ?

    If not, download the latest firmware archiv and copy the xmenu.dat onto the card...
     
  7. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alright, I'll try that out... But I haven't got it with me so it could be a long time before I get to try it.
     

Share This Page