1. UnT7oh

    OP UnT7oh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Mod pack for Trials of Mana, works with both the full version of the game and the demo. By default the game has a 60fps cap but runs at just over 30fps with dynamic resolution. This pack combined with overclocking will give you two options to either target 60fps gameplay (Performance mode) or lock the highest resolution possible at a playable framerate (Quality mode).

    If you want to use it with the demo simply change the titleid of the included folders to match.

    Current titleid is set for the full version of the game: 0100D7800E9E0000
    If you need it the demo titleid is: 0100E1D00FBDE000

    Changelog:
    18 March - First patches released for the demo
    23 April - Confirmed working with full game, there were no changes to internal config files from the demo. Performance mode has been improved and updated to v2, no changes to Quality mode or 30fps mods.

    Note: MAXIMUM overclock in docked and handheld is recommended for every mode unless mentioned.

    The pack contains:
    • Performance mode v2 mod:
      [DOCKED - adjusted dynamic resolution settings, default clock speeds = 40-60fps dropping resolution often | max overclock = 50-60fps hitting higher fps and resolutions more often]
      [HANDHELD - adjusted dynamic resolution settings, default clock speeds = 40-60fps dropping resolution often | max overclock = 50-60fps hitting higher fps and resolutions more often]

    • Quality mode mod:
      [DOCKED - disable dynamic resolution and lock 900p resolution, operates in 25-35fps range, on average around 30fps]
      [HANDHELD - disable dynamic resolution and lock 720p, easily achieves way beyond 30fps with maximum overclock, can be used with lower clock speed and 30fps cap if desired]

    • 30fps cap mod: Self explanatory, you can use it along with the Quality mode mod if you prefer a more stable framerate
    To use the mods: Choose Performance mode OR Quality mode and move the titleid folder to atmosphere/contents or your cfw equivalent. If you want the 30fps cap for Quality mode also move that to atmosphere/contents.

    Especially big thanks to @masagrator for his guide for UE4 modding: https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-unpack-and-repack-unreal-engine-4-files.531784/ and for his amazing tools: ReverseNX and Status Monitor Overlay
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by UnT7oh, Apr 26, 2020
    Rashield, bonoboy, one-piece and 15 others like this.
  2. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Great Work!!!

    Now the Charakters looks perfect (720p/Handheld)
    Does this mod works with the full Version of the Game? What do you Think?
     
    Broduskii likes this.
  3. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Question

    I see no difference (graphic) if i overclock or not. Is important to overclock graphic game mods ? Its the same when i play the DQ 11 mode i dont see any difference.
     
    Last edited by DJPAUL1990, Mar 19, 2020
  4. wengchuyao

    wengchuyao Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    China
    Where should this Config files be placed?
     
  5. UnT7oh

    OP UnT7oh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Yes they will work with the full version of the game but might need some minor tweaks.

    As mentioned in the OP the mods are designed to work with a maximum overclock to achieve the performance that I've described. Only the Quality mode locked 720p mod in handheld doesn't need a maximum overclock, for that one you will need to at least overclock the GPU if you don't want it to drop below 30fps.

    Not required, I have removed them for now to avoid confusion.
     
    Last edited by UnT7oh, Mar 20, 2020
  6. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Gambia, The

    that's the answer I've been looking for :) :)

    Thx again for the mod. I hate it when Nintendo/Developer decrease the graphic. But thanks guys like you i can enjoy most of the games 720p <3
     
    UnT7oh likes this.
  7. Important Posts: Patches working with full version of game
    UnT7oh

    OP UnT7oh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    I need to test the performance properly when I get chance but for now confirmed that the patches are working with the full version of the game with no changes. I've added a new pack to the OP with the folder titleids changed to match this full version of the game: 0100D7800E9E0000
     
  8. Kirby567fan

    Kirby567fan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Morocco
    @UnT7oh Add this line in the performance mode for better performance and change the operation mode for handheld back to 2 while making minimum res for both modes to be 50:
    Code:
    +CVars=r.DynamicRes.FrameTimeBudget=16.6
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Add it in both docked and handheld sections btw.
     
  9. common2019

    common2019 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
  10. cesarux3d

    cesarux3d Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hey, what OC values can i put?
     
  11. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,514
    Country:
    Poland
    You have link to tutorial literally in first post.
     
  12. GrayFoxBH

    GrayFoxBH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Brazil
    Is it hard to make a 30fps cap? I think this game really needed that. Thanks!

    So does RE5 and 6, that have atrocious performance. I don't think anyone has done a 30fps cap for those. Is there a tutorial for this stuff?
     
    Fadi5555 likes this.
  13. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,514
    Country:
    Poland
    But there is already in first post...

    RE5 and 6 are using the same engine as Dragon's Dogma.
    So to make 30 FPS locks for those games you need Noexs, knowledge how to write cheats and how this engine sets framerate. Well, I can try to make them if you will write request in correct place, it should be the same way as in Dragon's Dogma.
     
    Last edited by masagrator, Apr 22, 2020
    one-piece and GrayFoxBH like this.
  14. Gootah

    Gootah GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Performance mode works for me, thanks for this. Going to see if it eases up on my battery a bit too. This game destroys my battery.
     
  15. Important Posts: Performance mode updated in the pack
    UnT7oh

    OP UnT7oh Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Performance mode has been improved and updated thanks to the suggestion by @Kirby567fan The mod now takes full advantage of dynamic resolution. Pack has been added to OP. If you were using the original performance mode download and update to this one.

    New description from OP for Performance mode v2:

    No changes to the Quality mode or 30fps mods.

    Described in OP, depends on which pack you're using.

    Try the new performance mode v2, you can actually underclock the GPU which will do the best job of saving battery, resolution will drop hard but performance will still be good.
     
    Last edited by UnT7oh, Apr 23, 2020
  16. GrayFoxBH

    GrayFoxBH Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Brazil
    Sorry, masagrator, I expressed myself in a wrong way, I saw the 30fps cap. Thanks for answering, I''ll make a request!
     
  17. JohnMayor

    JohnMayor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Denmark
    Thanks sir. Now the game really looks fantastic on handheld. Have a good day.
     
    UnT7oh likes this.
  18. Enlapse

    Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    Okay, sorry if I didn't understand correctly, but is it possible to get 30 stable FPS instead of a fluctuating 25-30FPS? Perhaps using the performance v2 but with a 30FPS cap since I don't need more nor I want a fluctuate 30-50FPS?

    Thank you very much!
     
  19. ZhuBB

    ZhuBB Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    once i've DL this pack what am I supposed to do with it? ( Install it on the SD root?)
     
  20. Fadi5555

    Fadi5555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    United States
    I already make a request about this we really need this mod because of the terrible framerate of these games.

    Here is the link.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/about-making-resident-evil-5-and-6-cap-lock-30fps.563435/

    Thanks for your efforts.
     
    Last edited by Fadi5555, Apr 25, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Performance, Graphics, Trials