1. Lakum

    Lakum GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi could you put this translation on http://www.romhacking.net/ ?
     
  2. Nagato

    OP Nagato GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    United States
    They don't allow current gen stuff. Wait until the NX is out.
     
  3. AyanamiRei

    AyanamiRei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    France
    Is there a way to use this translation over the actual game? (not a downloaded file but the imported game card)
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,231
    Country:
    France
    using Hans, it should be possible.
    but the patch can only be applied to a ROM, so you will have to do more steps to use Hans.

    1. patch the clean ROM to get the patched ROM
    2. extract the ROMFS from the patched ROM
    3. ... I never used hans, if it loads the encrypted ROMFS, then that's enough, if it needs the files then you will have to extract the ROMFS content to get the files to use with Hans.

    if you go up to the extracted files, I also recommend doing the extraction on the clean rom, and compare the files to keep only the modified ones, it will save free space on SD card.
     
  5. Ambassador

    Ambassador GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Egypt
    hans doesn't work with this game
     
    AyanamiRei likes this.
  6. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,130
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1
    I can verify that it doesn't work with Hans - I spent a weekend extracting romfs from various sources, and it refused to work at all... although, I've not tried my extracted romfs with the latest version of Hans.
     
    AyanamiRei likes this.
  7. samcambolt270

    samcambolt270 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    United States
    I am quite sad that hans does not seem to work with this. if anyone has figured out a way to make this work for hans, please let me know.
     
  8. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    With the ability to downgrade even 10.3 (current latest) systems available, hacks that work on the current latest firmware, and rxTools working even on the N3DS (only up to 9.5 emuNAND of course, but this isn't really a problem right now,) and MenuHax making it possible to setup a system to just boot straight to emuNAND completely hands free just by turning on the system, is it really worth dealing with all of HANS' troubles right now?
     
  9. samcambolt270

    samcambolt270 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    United States
    how exactly would one go about downgrading? is it dangerous?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —
     
    Last edited by samcambolt270, Jan 9, 2016
  10. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    I'm no good at tutorials. This one is quite good: https://gbatemp.net/threads/simple-guide-to-downgrading-your-3ds.407888/

    The biggest danger is if you are really really careless you CAN brick a system. You'd have to be pretty exceptionally careless however. In most cases the worst case scenario is a "soft brick" where you essentially just have to start it up in recovery mode and let it update to the latest firmware online (meaning you need to have your WiFi configured ahead of time and if you use TubeHax you MUST set your DNS back to auto or whatever it should be normally.)

    I can say I downgraded a 2DS without a single problem personally.
     
  11. samcambolt270

    samcambolt270 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i will definitely try this. but i will use an old 3ds, because i am not willing to try it on my brand new "new" model.
     
  12. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    Just bear in mind that once Nintendo releases a new update blocking this exploit (which will likely be very very soon) you lose that safety net of the recovery mode.

    That said, I won't lie and say this is absolutely 100% perfect.
     
  13. samcambolt270

    samcambolt270 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    United States
    so I should do it really soon then. like right now?
     
  14. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    If you want, look over that thread and see what people are saying. Really the general consensus I've gathered around the scene is that basically there's a chance of a soft brick on the first try or so but recovery seems to always work unless you just do stuff really really wrong. Supposedly "KTM" will come out soon eliminating most of the chances of people screwing up and claiming to have higher success rate but really that is mostly because it will be more simplified and thus harder for people to do things wrong. (Meaning if you're careful there's no difference which method you use.) That said, the N3DS seems to have a higher rate of soft bricks versus the O3DS from what I saw, so I'm thinking that if you want to go that route you may want to do so while there is still a safety net. Otherwise you should just hold off a bit. In theory the fact that this sort of thing can be done likely means that stuff like rxTools can eventually work on up to 10.3 as well. The problem is, on the N3DS since you can't do emuNAND on > 9.5 yet, I don't think you could downgrade that emuNAND or whatever and you'd have to create the emuNAND from your sysNAND, so if you're already higher than 9.5 at that point then it's either a matter of crossing your fingers and trying a desperate downgrade at that point or waiting for someone to crack 9.5.

    That said, maybe downgrades will be made more reliable in the near future. I don't know. Grab Gateway's 3DSX file and use it with MenuHax, BrowserHax or whatever you use to make a backup of your sysNAND before you do anything (or alternately maybe EmuNAND9 is updated now?) Then if things go horribly wrong at the very worst case scenario you can get someone to install a hardmod and load that backup.


    Honestly, I want to tell everyone waiting is best, but the problem is that if Nintendo breaks the current exploit with a newer firmware, then you lose that safety net if anything goes wrong. What we really need is some quick and easy Nintendo update server emulator thing probably. Then just point the DNS at the computer running it and presto. Safety nets for all.
     
    Last edited by Nazosan, Jan 9, 2016
  15. samcambolt270

    samcambolt270 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to get an old model on firm 10.3 downgraded to 9.2 succsessfully! yay thanks for your help nazosan.
     
  16. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    Sure. Enjoy the game.
     
  17. Kekkon

    Kekkon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I take it that means the patch works fine on a cia version of the game?
    The readme says it has some character name problems running on RxTools, is that still the case or was that from an older version?
     
  18. Nazosan

    Nazosan GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I forgot about that. Yes, you can convert to CIA using the Simple 3DS Converter tool by Riku after patching the ROM and it runs fine in rxTools. It does have that one issue though sadly. I forget because I started it in Gateway until the first save point to avoid this issue. I have no clue if rxTools maybe has fixed this by now, but I doubt it.
     
  19. BasedIndex

    BasedIndex splendid
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Country:
    Russia
    But isn't julian20's sysupdater the safest thing already?
    You can't screw up with it unless you use wrong cia pack.
    Anyway on topic. Thanks for op's work on this, it's sad how localization companies overlook such titles and instead translate lolicon etc.
    Cheers.
     
  20. sarkwalvein

    sarkwalvein There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8,055
    Country:
    Germany
    Still waiting for Doki Doki Majo Shinpan! localization...
    (J/K)
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Translation], Labyrinth), Labyrinth