translation help

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by codman1982, Jun 21, 2007.

Jun 21, 2007

translation help by codman1982 at 9:50 AM (3,300 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

1. codman1982
    OP

Newcomer codman1982 Newbie

Australia
    Hi all!
    I am very new to the hacking scene(2 days). I've been looking all over the net for help to find the text for a ROM through a hex editor for a GBA game. I found text for another game in english, but i have trouble finding the japanese text. I wanna translate a game from japanese to english, just the main game for now, not the story. I've been using translhextion hex editor and I need to know, how can you find japanese text? i did a relative search for some japanese words in the game but it finds nothing. Also, i made a backup and played around with it and i changed some of the writing in the game to purple squares, but the squares only cover a quarter of the japanese characters.

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    Japanese text is a hard nut to crack on occasion, as Japanese has several thousand characters you need 16bits normally to display them. Equally because there are so many characters a relative search for anything other than kana is not going to work and even then it can be pushing it: no game normally includes more than a small selection of Kanji.

Font order in the rom however is often what order the table ends up in so if you can find the font you can get lucky, find the text (ASM or corruption) and you can start to crack it.

When you say "main game" do you mean menus/common dialogue? if so you should consider the possibility that it is graphical: you need a tile editor.

One other thing though: more than a few games use common encodings (Advance wars and Magi nation uses ASCII for example), the most common Japanese encoding in roms is ShiftJIS: http://www.rikai.com/library/kanjitables/k...odes.sjis.shtml