1. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't know anything about DQMJ3P except that it has a different file structure and uses different files than DQM2 and DQMT. Because all buffer limit code changes are pretty game specific I don't think that this changes anything about the DQMJ3P translation. I personally haven't looked into that game and don't know about any of the mentioned problems either. So no news on that.
     
    Sevithian likes this.
  2. Sevithian

    Sevithian Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, well either way, the progress you've made is a huge step in the right direction for any translation. I'm really looking forward to seeing this project finished, and then crossing my fingers for the others. :]
     
    Ich_73 likes this.
  3. ExData7

    ExData7 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    United States
    Hope one day someone can give the 3ds version of DQXI so much love like you've done for DQM2. Cause dood you're doing a big service for the jrpg and DQ community. Keep up the amazing work and good luck

    Sent from my Z971 using Tapatalk
     
    rocky_2016, Plattym3! and Sevithian like this.
  4. Pedeadstrian

    Pedeadstrian GBAtemp's Official frill-necked lizard.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Glad you and Helmax are teaming up. It's silly to have two separate projects going on at once. Keep up the good work, everyone.
     
    Plattym3! and Ich_73 like this.
  5. Jay1983

    Jay1983 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    I got hold of the ROM... .3DS version.
    Converted to CIA version.
    I keep getting "mismatched file type " error.
     
  6. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2020 by all accounts has been an awful year. But not all is bad, DQM2 3DS is finally gonna be fully translated, major kudos to all involved. So excited :D
     
    Ich_73, Plattym3! and Jay1983 like this.
  7. Plattym3!

    Plattym3! Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by Plattym3!, Dec 12, 2020
    Sevithian likes this.
  8. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Germany
    I need a bit more information to help. Which program displays the error?
    Which instructions are you referring to and at which step in the instructions are you?
     
  9. Jay1983

    Jay1983 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    In the patching app.
    Instructions say have the app, game and patch in a folder together.
    I did that. Click the patch app to start it.
    It does its stuff. And then it comes up with that mismatched file type message.
     
  10. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Germany
    Alright. Thanks! Can you do it again and paste the full output here? Or you can send it to me via PM.
     
  11. Jay1983

    Jay1983 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    I think this is what u asked for
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, exactly. This error occurs when Game Patcher uses 3dstool to extract the exefs of the ROM in order to patch the code.bin file.
    From my research the error happens when the cia file is not decrypted.

    You can decrypt the cia file using GodMode9 (Decrypting a .CIA file) and then try again.
    Or you can try to patch the .3ds file directly (Game Patcher can do this as well) and convert the patched .3ds file to a .cia file afterwards.
     
    Wooshy and Jay1983 like this.
  13. Jay1983

    Jay1983 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    That did the trick.
    Thanks
     
    Ich_73 likes this.
  14. Wooshy

    Wooshy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Say what?!? @Helmax you sweet little devil! @Locke-92 you little hacker genius! and ofc @Ich_73 you magician, punching out your own project, finding a genius that cracks the pot, finds a medicinal herb and defeats the goo.

    I am happy, finally the game will be fully translated, i dont care if it takes another year.

    Merry christmas! hohoho
     
    Locke-92, Plattym3! and Ich_73 like this.
  15. rocky_2016

    rocky_2016 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    this is same as i think. hope someday then
     
  16. oilxx

    oilxx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Thailand
    Thank you
     
    Ich_73 likes this.
  17. chaos_envoys

    chaos_envoys Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Wow, at last this will be translated! Your name will forever remembered when this is released @Ich_73 @Helmax @Locke-92 !

    Thank you so much for working on this!
     
    GentlemanPotato and Ich_73 like this.
  18. TorchyTahcoez

    TorchyTahcoez Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you all you wonderful lovely amazing people working on this. I played the hell out of the original GBC release and ill play the hell out of this one and get so much enjoyment out of it when the translation is finished . @Ich_73 and @Helmax and @Locke-92 you are wonderful blessed people for doing this

    Edit: When i try to patch it i get this Error. What am I doing incorrectly?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by TorchyTahcoez, Dec 27, 2020
    Ich_73 likes this.
  19. Necromas

    Necromas Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Just want to say I'm very excited to see this project! I must have spent countless hours as a kid playing Dragon Warrior Monsters on my gameboy back in the day and didn't even realize there was a 3DS version of DQM2.
     
    Plattym3! and Ich_73 like this.
  20. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Germany
    This error indicates that the banner cannot be patched, which could have one of two reasons:
    a) The game comes with two slightly different banners, so you simply cannot patch them unfortunately. Although I never heard of that for DQM2, I know there was a problem with another dragon quest game... You could try to run GamePatcher.exe from the command line by using the command "GamePatcher --ignore-incompatible-patches".
    b) Your cia is somewhat wrong. So a question: Why is it called DQM2_Edited.cia? That seems like the outcome of HackingToolkit. Maybe you changed something and this isn't the original game. If you just converted a .3ds game file into a .cia file, you could try to patch the .3ds file first (just copy it in the directory and run GamePatcher.exe like before) and convert it to a cia file afterwards.
     
    TorchyTahcoez and JustDrew like this.
  21. Sharkattackrawr
    This message by Sharkattackrawr has been removed from public view by Joe88, Dec 28, 2020, Reason: Do not ask for warez.
    Dec 28, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Translation], Mysterious, Marvelous