1. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh god, I just patched it the old fashioned way lol :(

    ....hmmm then again it may work? Ive been patching from scratch, as opposed to trying to patch over my patched file?
     
    Last edited by JustDrew, Sep 15, 2020
  2. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Germany
    If that worked it's okay. But I was told it doesn't work for the banner for said reasons.
     
  3. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh it doesnt work if you try to apply the patch 0.2.1 to an already patched version of the game. But your original guide works for a clean unpatched version. I have an extracted clean version of the game; and then I patch it with each release. So I have a 0.1 version, 0.2 version and 0.2.1 version currently haha, that way I can quickly revert back to an old version if need be. Current version 0.2.1 is running great though - thanks for the quick fix
     
    Last edited by JustDrew, Sep 15, 2020
    Ich_73 likes this.
  4. Yomiship

    Yomiship Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Ich_73, I appreciate you starting this project, I love the Dragon Quest monsters games. I have a couple questions however. I have a clean version of the game and the patch but not a 3DS... I usually play 3DS games on citra, and patch them with multiPatch or an equivalent. I tried patching the rom with a couple patchers on my computer but it won't patch (Says I don't have the right base file). If it's not possible to patch this way is there another alternative? Or is there a way to get a pre patched rom? I'm just kind of clueless lol. Sorry to be a pain. I somehow got the prequel translation Terry's Wonderland 3D working, but not quite sure how to patch this one...
     
  5. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi @Yomiship I can answer your question. I'm guessing when you say youve got a clean version of the game, you mean you have a .3ds file (like I do) as opposed to a .cia file. To patch it, follow Ich's installation guidelines - But when using the HackingToolkit3DS.exe select D to extract the .3ds file (instead of the .cia file) and R to rebuild the .3ds file (instead of the .cia file). Apart from those two steps, the rest of the process is identical
     
    Last edited by JustDrew, Sep 15, 2020
  6. Yomiship

    Yomiship Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Just Drew, I appreciate the help, but since I don't have a 3DS anymore can I just use the HackingToolkit3DS.exe by itself? My end goal is to have the patched .3ds file, but I'm confused as to whether the HackingToolkit3DS.exe runs a program that can be only used on a 3DS system. If it's standalone I'll be able to figure it out. Thanks.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Quick note I had a 3DS but it died recently so I've been playing on citra. So if I can't patch it without a 3DS i have to wait.
     
  7. breaktemp

    breaktemp D-Sun who was called D-Moon
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow, only took a day to identify the cause of the crashes
    And even updated the project with the fix.
    *my hat goes off to you and your team*
    Gotta say, this game has a lot of monsters
    Still able to tame and breed new monsters so far into the game !
     
  8. Plattym3!

    Plattym3! Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    @Ich_73 you're doing Numen's own work. Keep it up, and for all DQM fans everywhere, thank you!
     
    JustDrew and Darkdrium63 like this.
  9. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need a 3DS to patch the game, the HackingToolkit3DS.exe is a PC application, as is the other tool, Detlax. Whilst Ich's guide is geared towards those that have and use a 3DS, the guide is perfectly fine for patching the .3ds file (which is used in citra).

    Read the instructions; but remember four key points:
    1. Under 'Setup' skip the part referencing obtaining the .cia file from your 3DS system. You have that file already (except its in .3ds format)
    2. From the line "The next step is to extract the .cia." any reference to .cia ALSO references .3ds
    3. When extracting the rom; instead of: Run HackingToolkit3DS.exe and Enter CE to extract the .cia file - instead press D (to extract .3ds)
    4. Later when rebuilding the rom; instead of: Run HackingToolkit3DS.exe and Enter CR to rebuild the .cia file - instead press R (to rebuild .3ds)

    I hope this helps
     
    Last edited by JustDrew, Sep 16, 2020
    Plattym3! likes this.
  10. Darkdrium63

    Darkdrium63 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Just a friendly reminder to checkpoint your save data! From, a very salty, but happy 0.2.1 patch user :)
     
    Plattym3! likes this.
  11. JustDrew

    JustDrew Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry @Darkdrium63 what do you mean by checkpoint? I have not had any issues with my save file. Then again I am using citra
     
    Last edited by JustDrew, Sep 16, 2020
    Darkdrium63 likes this.
  12. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,713
    Country:
    Canada
    Its one of the 3ds save data managers. You should back up data often in case anything happens. There is also JKSM save manager out there too.
     
    JustDrew and Darkdrium63 like this.
  13. Yomiship

    Yomiship Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks JustDrew I appreciate it. I like gaming but I'm kind of technologically inept lol.
     
  14. Darkdrium63

    Darkdrium63 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    oh no issues with the save file because of the patch! User error on my end, lone_wolf summed it up
     
    JustDrew and lone_wolf323 like this.
  15. silien3

    silien3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    France
    \I see the French language finally a translation of one of the dq monster in French:whip::whip:
    :toot::toot::toot::toot::toot::toot::grog:


    even if its not for nowgo until the end:bow:

    edit I just saw an amateur french translation of monster joker 3 :wtf::wacko::hrth:
     
    Last edited by silien3, Sep 16, 2020
  16. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Germany
    Wow. That's a lot of messages to wake up to. ;)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    @Yomiship @JustDrew
    I think there was a confusion between "3DS" (the gaming console) and ".3ds" (the file extension), but I hope you got it to work now. I personally can't help with that because I have no experience with emulators whatsoever.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    It was the most obvious reason for those kind of crashes and both, Blark and I, had this idea in mind. Even though every release is quite some work, finding the cause of the crash wasn't that bad.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks a lot! :)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I just added a note to the instructions so nobody else should experience this problem.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    For now it's just some monsternames, but if you like to add some french translation yourself feel free to do so.
     
    breaktemp and Darkdrium63 like this.
  17. chaos_envoys

    chaos_envoys Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Great work! Even a key translation like this really helps! Just seem this thread now and will try it ASAP
     
    Plattym3! likes this.
  18. breaktemp

    breaktemp D-Sun who was called D-Moon
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, just updated to the latest version 0.2.1 (English)
    And man...a lot more has been translated.
    Items, weapons, and menu descriptions...
    But the work on the 'Keys' is amazing !
    Just got the Void-Key and have been grinding my team up
    So with this latest release, I should be able to push on with no worry.
    Again, thanks to you and your team members for sharing this project ^_^"
     
  19. gui13

    gui13 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello, i extracted my cia file but the CustomRomFS.bin is missing, can i just create one to patch it?​
    edit: just created the file and it's working. I have no words to express how happy i am to be able to play this game translated. You guys are making one of my kid dreams came true, thanks a lot! One question: Are you planning on translating the story?
     
    Last edited by gui13, Sep 25, 2020
  20. Ich_73

    OP Ich_73 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Germany
    Awesome!

    I know that some people would love to see the story translated and @TheBuilder reached out to me saying he would love to translate it when he has tools to do so. And yes, I'm planning to create those tools but I just need more time for it. All I can say at the moment is that it is very likely that I create a tool that is capable of doing this at least to the very very basics.
     
    JustDrew and GentlemanPotato like this.
  21. KooPako
    This message by KooPako has been removed from public view by Flame, Sep 26, 2020, Reason: one word post..
    Sep 26, 2020
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Translation], Mysterious, Marvelous