Transferring Save Games from NDS Cart to OSX?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by macgamer, Jul 13, 2007.

Jul 13, 2007
  1. macgamer
    OP

    Newcomer macgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a utility that I could use with an R4/3-in-1 to transfer the saves from my NDS carts to my Mac OSX computer to then use them with roms on the R4? I know Savsender exists, but it doesn't seem to work with OSX (I don't have any of this yet though so I'm just working in theory).

    And a side note-- can you turn the rumble on the 3-in-1 off even for games that use it?
     
  2. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I use OS X and Windows XP Daily. If it works with XP, It will work with mac os X. BTW I'm dualbooting rightnow with bootcamp, if you get OSX you should probably do the same for certain things.
     
  3. JesterDev

    Member JesterDev GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Bootcamp is your best bet. Unless you can get the windows apps to work under wine, or crossover office but I haven't tried myself.
     
  4. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    You guys can't assume he can bootcamp -- maybe he has a PowerPC unit and can't dual-boot into Windoze.

    As for transferring from the DS Cart to your Mac... don't know [​IMG]
     
  5. acidrain

    Newcomer acidrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    If you wanna stay on OSX, you can follow this tutorial. If I'm not mistaken, you should have netcat (nc) with OSX.
     
  6. macgamer
    OP

    Newcomer macgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, I don't have an Intel machine (so no Windows)... that's why I'm in need of help.

    Thanks acidrain-- I'll look into that.
     
  7. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    All macs you use the Intel Chip so he can. Unless he does buy that PowerPC but a Macbook or a Macbook Pro is WAY better
     
  8. macgamer
    OP

    Newcomer macgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Well thanks for that enlightened, although slightly grammatically incorrect, sentence. However, anyone who bought a Mac BEFORE they were built on Intel chips has a PowerPC Mac, of which I am one. Not everyone can afford a new computer every year.
     
  9. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I got my Mac in December 06, I won't buy a new one until 2008 or 2009, So I know what you mean.
     
  10. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    I had bought a Dual 2.3G5 back in July 2005, and then bought a MacBook Pro in September 2006 [​IMG] I needed to have 1 machine with the Intel processor. Why? Because. [​IMG]
     
  11. macgamer
    OP

    Newcomer macgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    I'm being lazy and don't want to read today... can anyone confirm that that tutorial acidrain linked to works on PPC OSX?

    Thanks!
     
  12. macgamer
    OP

    Newcomer macgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    Udpate... so I stopped being lazy and read it. Theoretically it will work. Has anyone done this? If so, where can I download Netcat for OSX? Or is it built into OSX?

    Thanks again
     
  13. acidrain

    Newcomer acidrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm pretty sure it's built in OSX, it is a common tool included in linux and BSD (OSX is derived from BSD).
    If you want to try, just open a terminal (I saw on the internet that it should be in the utilities folder) and type "nc" without the quotes, then enter. You should see something like "Command Line : ". On linux you have to type ctrl + c to quit, so on osx I think it's the apple key + c.

    The tutorial is for windows, but if you know how to find you IP adress, then the rest is exactly the same, and it's more simple than it looks like.

    It worked for me with windows and linux (OSX and linux share the same base)
     
  14. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France

Share This Page