Hacking Transferring games/DLC/updates from Retail to RGH in batches?

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
If I want to transfer games from a retail xbox 360 internal HHD to my PC via USB stick, do the unlocking and copy them to my RGH xbox 360 internal HHD, can these three steps be done in batches of, say, 50 games at a time to save time? If so, can the DLC/updates be batched with them?

Is it easier to just download the game iso's from the ether and transfer them with DLC and update iso's to the RGH xbox 360?

Thanks
 

CoolMe

.. Days'd & con'fused ..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
691
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
634
Country
United States
Yes, you can copy/move your Digital/ or installed games and will work on your RGH. Game Updates don't need any unlocking, they work on any other console. DLC you may/ or may not need to unlock them, depends if it has DRM (majority do) or is DRM free, there's a homebrew app that unlocks them, the same for XBLA titles.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Yes, you can copy/move your Digital/ or installed games and will work on your RGH. Game Updates don't need any unlocking, they work on any other console. DLC you may/ or may not need to unlock them, depends if it has DRM (majority do) or is DRM free, there's a homebrew app that unlocks them, the same for XBLA titles.
Okay. Thanks. My other option would be to update all my disc games to another xb360 one at a time and hunt down and download all my XBLA/DLC. What I mainly want is an xb360 that is good for the xb360 online apocalypse, like what is happening with the PS3.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Use 360 content manager to upload savegames/DLC/title updates to your machine.
It automatically places everything in the appropriate directories.
Thank you! Also, when I asked a modder if I could have the configuration setup files for the RGH and loaded files and NAND on DVD or USB flash drive, he said he "builds to order, so, they are fried builds." Any idea what he's taking about? Nothing on google. (Makes me hungry, though)
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,569
Trophies
1
XP
12,696
Country
United States
not sure. never heard of that. you can make a nand dump yourself with nand flasher 360 though. that's what I use myself.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Yup.
The 360 hasn't seen major updates in years, "old" tools still work fine.
Sorry, getting so lost again. I have default Aurora dashboard that launches on powerup. I'm having to use Firezilla with that which is a slow sever 600-1000 KB/s and free version is very limited. Two questions:

First, I guess I need a server account to use 360 Content Manager. Which is best?

Second, my launch.ini file is set up for Aurora. Can I keep the current launch.ini when I install and set up FSD? Thanks.
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,430
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,036
Country
Antarctica
Connect your 360 to wired internet, you'll get transfer speeds of approximately 11 MB/s

Server account for 360 content manager is your Xbox IP.

Yes, unless you want to have it boot at startup or boot when holding a button, there's no need to edit the launch.ini.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Connect your 360 to wired internet, you'll get transfer speeds of approximately 11 MB/s

Server account for 360 content manager is your Xbox IP.

Yes, unless you want to have it boot at startup or boot when holding a button, there's no need to edit the launch.ini.
I'm ripping games from my discs now using Aurora File Manager into the Games folder and they are coming out as XEX games. Can I still just put the GOD style dlc in content/00...0/gameID/000..2./ folder and updates in the Cache/.../.../ folder as I would for a GOD game? Thanks!
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,430
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,036
Country
Antarctica
I'm ripping games from my discs now using Aurora File Manager into the Games folder and they are coming out as XEX games. Can I still just put the GOD style dlc in content/00...0/gameID/000..2./ folder and updates in the Cache/.../.../ folder as I would for a GOD game? Thanks!

Yup, 360 content manager can also transfer GOD containers.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Yup, 360 content manager can also transfer GOD containers.
I found 360 CM put all my games in the Content folder with just the game ID and no text name folder, so it is hard to tell which game is which. So, I've been using FileZilla with Aurora.
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,430
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,036
Country
Antarctica
Tbf, GOD containers can even be read from a set location in FSD (I think Aurora also works with "games" folders)
The whole reason why I say "use 360 content manager" is that the application dumps it in the filepath where the MS dash expects games to be in.
Making it easier to boot the game from the MS dash.

Ofcourse, you can just dump GOD containers in Games on the root of the HDD and point your dash scanner towards it.
Alternate dashes will read it just fine.
 

CoolMe

.. Days'd & con'fused ..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
691
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
634
Country
United States
Aurora's file manager can display the name of the game alongside its titleid, quite handy actually.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
Tbf, GOD containers can even be read from a set location in FSD (I think Aurora also works with "games" folders)
The whole reason why I say "use 360 content manager" is that the application dumps it in the filepath where the MS dash expects games to be in.
Making it easier to boot the game from the MS dash.

Ofcourse, you can just dump GOD containers in Games on the root of the HDD and point your dash scanner towards it.
Alternate dashes will read it just fine.
The xex have the default.xex file, the GOD have the long string of numbers and letters like DLC files, what are the ones that have all the data0000 through data0028 files in the *,data folder? I've looked all over can't find it. I made it from an iso using iso2god. Is this what a disc iso to god looks like vs an xbla iso to god or something? Thanks. I'll have to get you that ko-fee, LOL.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinohScene

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,430
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,036
Country
Antarctica
The Data00000 files are the game files, the file with a seemingly random string is the executable of the GOD container (if I remember it right)
XBLA games are fairly small and fit into a single container, retail games can span several gigs and are broken up in data files.
 

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
The Data00000 files are the game files, the file with a seemingly random string is the executable of the GOD container (if I remember it right)
XBLA games are fairly small and fit into a single container, retail games can span several gigs and are broken up in data files.
Hi again. I've been going a little nuts trying to figure out how to get the dlc content for an xbox 360 Kinect game called "Champion Jockey" that is seemingly available everywhere except the USA. I was able by the UK disc of the game, and found downloads of UK, Australian and even Japanese, IIRC. Do you or anyone know how I can get the DLC files. Not talking piracy, since they aren't available anywhere accessible. Maybe there is a way to buy them from the uk xbox marketplace and get them on an ntsc xbox 360 or xbox one in the usa or from uk marketplace on pc to my pc (it says it will send it to the xbox 360 from uk xbox marketplace on the pc but not sure what will happen to it. Ultimately, iI want it to go to the RGH xbox 360 to use the kinect. Thank you!

BTW, I've been trying to do a test download from the uk xbox marketplace, but the circle just goes round and round forever - like 10 minutes now after clicking "download to xbox 360".
 
Last edited by mugwort,

mugwort

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
139
Country
United States
You can obtain the UK DLC and play it with the PAL release of the game.

Afaik, the 360 is pretty much region free (some titles are locked) but I have played various region titles on me retail PAL unit.
This company decided to make their game PAL region locked. But I guess dlc for the 360 never is, so I hope to figure out how to download it from the UK then unlock it for the RGH. Apparently, a VPN and possibly a UK gift card are required.
 
Last edited by mugwort,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Apply orally for Aspergers, apply rectally for COVID.