Hacking Touchscreen doesn't work properly on almost all DS(i) games on my 3DS.

HNKii

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
477
Trophies
0
Location
Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
XP
582
Country
Switzerland
So I was having this weird issue where all my 3DS games worked fine with touch screens and all my DS(i) games failed. Upon further examination, all my DS(i) games register every touch control as a touch on the top-left corner.
What is confusing is that among all the failures (genuine carts and flashcart ROMs alike), DS Download Play and AceKard2i menu worked fine with touch controls despite running in DS Mode (maybe that has something to do with that AceKard being an NTRBoot?). DS Wifi settings and commercial ROMs on the AceKard suffered the same issues.

Recently I found that user @Confused3dsUser has encountered the same issue, only that all this DS mode touch controls got registered to the bottom right, and his DS Download Play also failed to work.
Like him, I tried running TWLFix, (and running system update), uninstalling TWL_FIRM and running system update, with no avail.

Although his issue was not solved in the end, I noticed user @Robz8 saying this:
Does touch not work in DS Download Play either?
If it doesn't, the DS profile settings is probably bugged somehow.

I guess this might be the EXACT reason what went wrong.
My DS Mode worked fine the beginning of this month, but a few weeks ago, I installed emunands via CTRtransfer, then formatted each emunand and went thru the initial settings.
After everything was set, I noticed that my Nintendo DS Settings in my system settings and DS Download Play showed a different user name than my Sysnand username: It was the username given to the last emunand I formatted and my DS signature/color settings were also lost. I later figured out I could take back the username by renaming my Sysnand name, and I retyped my signature and ignored everything since. Since emunands don't have their own TWL NANDS, each of their system setup probably altered DS profile in its own way and a single name change probably didn't help.
It's probably even worse since my emunands are not of the same region as my Sysnands: I have CHN on Sysnand (iQue 3DSXL), JPN on emu0, TWN on emu1, KOR on emu2, and EUR on emu3.

Any help on solving the issue would be highly appreciated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,856
Country
United States

jeffyTheHomebrewer

Neato Burrito!
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
857
Trophies
1
Location
in ur orbit
XP
1,300
Country
United States
Touchscreen that works in NATIVE_FIRM (3DS mode) but not in TWL_FIRM (DS(i) mode) sounds like this one:

Two other users reported problems like this:

and @jeffyTheHomebrewer,
well, the cameras still work fine. also, DS Mode homebrews still work with the touch screen just fine.
 

HNKii

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
477
Trophies
0
Location
Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
XP
582
Country
Switzerland
well, the cameras still work fine. also, DS Mode homebrews still work with the touch screen just fine.
Same here. Camera works fine in CTR mode, both the quick camera and the actual camera app.
@TurdPooCharger I tried the NVRAM recovery method https://gbatemp.net/threads/recover-ds-mode-after-an-nvram-brick-eg-after-using-a-ds-bricker.516444/ since it would be what matches my problem closest (messed-up DS config info), but it did not help nor worsen the issue.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,856
Country
United States

HNKii

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
477
Trophies
0
Location
Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
XP
582
Country
Switzerland
:/

Do both front and rear cameras work as intended?
They do, flawlessly.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Okay apparently formatting solves everything, even though it feels like killing a mosquito with an atomic bomb.
So now at least I have a fully-functional TWL nand, how do I backup the TWLnand itself, or at least, backup a FULL CTRnand that contains the TWL (apparently the GM9MegaScript does not)
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,856
Country
United States
They do, flawlessly.

Okay apparently formatting solves everything, even though it feels like killing a mosquito with an atomic bomb.
So now at least I have a fully-functional TWL nand, how do I backup the TWLnand itself, or at least, backup a FULL CTRnand that contains the TWL (apparently the GM9MegaScript does not)
Killing a mosquito with fire is an appropriate response. No one is judging you for resorting to nuclear option.
The question now is, does this solve the problem for sure, or will this DS(i) mode touchscreen ghost input come back?
 

HNKii

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
477
Trophies
0
Location
Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
XP
582
Country
Switzerland
Killing a mosquito with fire is an appropriate response. No one is judging you for resorting to nuclear option.
The question now is, does this solve the problem for sure, or will this DS(i) mode touchscreen ghost input come back?
We'll see. If @Robz8 is correct on how the ghost input correlates with a messed up DS-settings profile, then it is strongly related with what I've done with the emunand.
If I stop messing around with any system settings in emunand which may touch on DS profile, my problem would be solved for good.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Did my Megascript NAND dump recovery and got my TWLnand back (DSiWare and saves), so the megascript backup did cover TWLnand.
However, it did not help recover the ghost input issue without formatting sysnand first.
What kind of DS profile, if it were the real cause, was so subtle that neither a TWL nand backup nor an NVRAM flash backup could overwrite it, and could only be reset via formatting?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,856
Country
United States
We'll see. If @Robz8 is correct on how the ghost input correlates with a messed up DS-settings profile, then it is strongly related with what I've done with the emunand.
If I stop messing around with any system settings in emunand which may touch on DS profile, my problem would be solved for good.

Did my Megascript NAND dump recovery and got my TWLnand back (DSiWare and saves), so the megascript backup did cover TWLnand.
However, it did not help recover the ghost input issue without formatting sysnand first.
What kind of DS profile, if it were the real cause, was so subtle that neither a TWL nand backup nor an NVRAM flash backup could overwrite it, and could only be reset via formatting?
I'm not familiar with the inner workings of the TWL_FIRM / DS(i) mode and only have a surface understanding of the TWLNAND partition.

But if I were in your situation, I would first test whether or not the cause of the ghost input was something coming from the TWLNAND or the CTRNAND.

To do this by process of elimination, the current TWLNAND image would first be backed up, then the TWLN partition gets nuked by reflashing a generic FAT16 image, manually adding back console unique files to their respective directories, and reinstalling fresh TWL system titles from scratch. Anything that relates or contains DS user profile in the TWLNAND would not be restored, or replaced with blank copiies. How these/this blank file(s) are derived or sourced from would require more figuring out.

Assuming the super cleaned up and rebuilt TWLNAND has nothing wrong at that point, if the problem still persists, I would then come to the conclusion that the continual ghost input in DS(i) mode might be caused by something from the CTRNAND partition just as the 3DS switches from NATIVE_FIRM to TWL_FIRM.


Edit - Don't try to experiment or test for this ghost input bug as described above. It's not a guide, but an idea of how to go about narrowing our search in finding the cause.Troubleshooting with unproven procedure carries the risk of further bricking your 3DS.
 
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
2,480
Trophies
2
Location
rehabilitation center
XP
5,846
Country
Hungary
If I remember correctly, then touch cal is loaded from NVRAM, and if it fails, then it's loaded from the configuration savedata stored on CTRNAND (in simple words, your 3DS touchscreen settings are used instead).

Also, DS Profile settings are shared because of this, because DS Profile is stored on the WiFi card, not on NAND.

Sounds like your NVRAM might be nuked, or simply just toast. I think camera cal is loaded from CTRNAND, so that might be why it's not affected. I'll have to check later.

Edit: nope. Each time you start a DS(i) game, the touch callibration should be updated on the NVRAM.
 
Last edited by Sono,

jeffyTheHomebrewer

Neato Burrito!
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
857
Trophies
1
Location
in ur orbit
XP
1,300
Country
United States
If I remember correctly, then touch cal is loaded from NVRAM, and if it fails, then it's loaded from the configuration savedata stored on CTRNAND (in simple words, your 3DS touchscreen settings are used instead).

Also, DS Profile settings are shared because of this, because DS Profile is stored on the WiFi card, not on NAND.

Sounds like your NVRAM might be nuked, or simply just toast. I think camera cal is loaded from CTRNAND, so that might be why it's not affected. I'll have to check later.

Edit: nope. Each time you start a DS(i) game, the touch callibration should be updated on the NVRAM.
Whoa! So the nvram.mem is where the Touch calibration is for DS Games?!
 

mranonymous

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
1,042
Country
United States
This happened to me today too. I have modded quite a few 3DS/2DS consoles over the years. But for the first time my touch screen is not working in the Japanese Flipnote tool and I cannot get through the modding process, because when the screen with 2 options comes up, you cannot press A to proceed.

The touchscreen confirmed works fine, as I tested it extensively everywhere else
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    S @ Stone_Wings: Edy's Ice Cream is some of the worst I've ever bought. Nice flavors, but the quality is so poor...