1. HNKii

    OP HNKii GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Switzerland
    So I was having this weird issue where all my 3DS games worked fine with touch screens and all my DS(i) games failed. Upon further examination, all my DS(i) games register every touch control as a touch on the top-left corner.
    What is confusing is that among all the failures (genuine carts and flashcart ROMs alike), DS Download Play and AceKard2i menu worked fine with touch controls despite running in DS Mode (maybe that has something to do with that AceKard being an NTRBoot?). DS Wifi settings and commercial ROMs on the AceKard suffered the same issues.

    Recently I found that user @Confused3dsUser has encountered the same issue, only that all this DS mode touch controls got registered to the bottom right, and his DS Download Play also failed to work.
    Like him, I tried running TWLFix, (and running system update), uninstalling TWL_FIRM and running system update, with no avail.

    Although his issue was not solved in the end, I noticed user @Robz8 saying this:
    I guess this might be the EXACT reason what went wrong.
    My DS Mode worked fine the beginning of this month, but a few weeks ago, I installed emunands via CTRtransfer, then formatted each emunand and went thru the initial settings.
    After everything was set, I noticed that my Nintendo DS Settings in my system settings and DS Download Play showed a different user name than my Sysnand username: It was the username given to the last emunand I formatted and my DS signature/color settings were also lost. I later figured out I could take back the username by renaming my Sysnand name, and I retyped my signature and ignored everything since. Since emunands don't have their own TWL NANDS, each of their system setup probably altered DS profile in its own way and a single name change probably didn't help.
    It's probably even worse since my emunands are not of the same region as my Sysnands: I have CHN on Sysnand (iQue 3DSXL), JPN on emu0, TWN on emu1, KOR on emu2, and EUR on emu3.

    Any help on solving the issue would be highly appreciated.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  2. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
  3. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    571
    Country:
    United States
    well, the cameras still work fine. also, DS Mode homebrews still work with the touch screen just fine.
     
  4. HNKii

    OP HNKii GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Same here. Camera works fine in CTR mode, both the quick camera and the actual camera app.
    @TurdPooCharger I tried the NVRAM recovery method https://gbatemp.net/threads/recover-ds-mode-after-an-nvram-brick-eg-after-using-a-ds-bricker.516444/ since it would be what matches my problem closest (messed-up DS config info), but it did not help nor worsen the issue.
     
  5. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    571
    Country:
    United States
    Messed up DS Confg? Well, you could run the ds thicc firmware as a .NDS using a flashcart.
     
  6. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
  7. HNKii

    OP HNKii GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Switzerland
    They do, flawlessly.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay apparently formatting solves everything, even though it feels like killing a mosquito with an atomic bomb.
    So now at least I have a fully-functional TWL nand, how do I backup the TWLnand itself, or at least, backup a FULL CTRnand that contains the TWL (apparently the GM9MegaScript does not)
     
  8. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Killing a mosquito with fire is an appropriate response. No one is judging you for resorting to nuclear option.
    The question now is, does this solve the problem for sure, or will this DS(i) mode touchscreen ghost input come back?
     
  9. HNKii

    OP HNKii GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Switzerland
    We'll see. If @Robz8 is correct on how the ghost input correlates with a messed up DS-settings profile, then it is strongly related with what I've done with the emunand.
    If I stop messing around with any system settings in emunand which may touch on DS profile, my problem would be solved for good.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Did my Megascript NAND dump recovery and got my TWLnand back (DSiWare and saves), so the megascript backup did cover TWLnand.
    However, it did not help recover the ghost input issue without formatting sysnand first.
    What kind of DS profile, if it were the real cause, was so subtle that neither a TWL nand backup nor an NVRAM flash backup could overwrite it, and could only be reset via formatting?
     
  10. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not familiar with the inner workings of the TWL_FIRM / DS(i) mode and only have a surface understanding of the TWLNAND partition.

    But if I were in your situation, I would first test whether or not the cause of the ghost input was something coming from the TWLNAND or the CTRNAND.

    To do this by process of elimination, the current TWLNAND image would first be backed up, then the TWLN partition gets nuked by reflashing a generic FAT16 image, manually adding back console unique files to their respective directories, and reinstalling fresh TWL system titles from scratch. Anything that relates or contains DS user profile in the TWLNAND would not be restored, or replaced with blank copiies. How these/this blank file(s) are derived or sourced from would require more figuring out.

    Assuming the super cleaned up and rebuilt TWLNAND has nothing wrong at that point, if the problem still persists, I would then come to the conclusion that the continual ghost input in DS(i) mode might be caused by something from the CTRNAND partition just as the 3DS switches from NATIVE_FIRM to TWL_FIRM.


    Edit - Don't try to experiment or test for this ghost input bug as described above. It's not a guide, but an idea of how to go about narrowing our search in finding the cause.Troubleshooting with unproven procedure carries the risk of further bricking your 3DS.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jul 29, 2019
  11. Sono

    Sono 3DS cash, rival of nocash
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,277
    Country:
    Hungary
    If I remember correctly, then touch cal is loaded from NVRAM, and if it fails, then it's loaded from the configuration savedata stored on CTRNAND (in simple words, your 3DS touchscreen settings are used instead).

    Also, DS Profile settings are shared because of this, because DS Profile is stored on the WiFi card, not on NAND.

    Sounds like your NVRAM might be nuked, or simply just toast. I think camera cal is loaded from CTRNAND, so that might be why it's not affected. I'll have to check later.

    Edit: nope. Each time you start a DS(i) game, the touch callibration should be updated on the NVRAM.
     
    Last edited by Sono, Sep 5, 2019
  12. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    571
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa! So the nvram.mem is where the Touch calibration is for DS Games?!
     
  13. Sono

    Sono 3DS cash, rival of nocash
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,277
    Country:
    Hungary
    It should be also stored in the NVRAM, so DS games can read it. Not sure about DSi mode, because the DSi steals the touch from the ARM11, unlike for DS mode, where it seems like it's emulated by the ARM11 itself.
     
  14. mranonymous

    mranonymous GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United States
    This happened to me today too. I have modded quite a few 3DS/2DS consoles over the years. But for the first time my touch screen is not working in the Japanese Flipnote tool and I cannot get through the modding process, because when the screen with 2 options comes up, you cannot press A to proceed.

    The touchscreen confirmed works fine, as I tested it extensively everywhere else
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Touchscreen, properly, doesnt