Touch sensitive screen taken out of DSi?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Cashoo, Aug 12, 2009.

Aug 12, 2009
  1. Cashoo
    OP

    Newcomer Cashoo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland, Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was using Homebrew app 'Colors' on my DSL and the pressure sensitivity works perfectly, but when I use it on my DSi there's no pressure sensitivity at all. Is this limitation of running it in DS mode or have they removed the pressure sensitive screen?
     


  2. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dont think its the limitation running in ds mode. perhaps they did remove it. maybe nintendo didnt know they had a touch sensitive screen.

    you have probably tried this, but tried callibrating the sensitivity? what numbers come up?

    OR, wait for the app to be updated.
     
  3. Cashoo
    OP

    Newcomer Cashoo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland, Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I calibrate it, it sets it too 0.
     
  4. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Lol. Unlikely. The guy already abandoned the DS version and is now developing solely for the iPhone version, since he can charge people money to download that one.
     
  5. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nintendo removed it because they never used it, so why spend money on shit you don't use...
     
  6. Cashoo
    OP

    Newcomer Cashoo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland, Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't see why developers never used it though. Seems like quite a good feature for some games.
     
  7. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Either that, or DSi just doesn't have that. Didn't know they had a pressure sensitive screen. o.O Either way, it might just be the homebrew not liking the DSi.
     
  8. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    Telling people to press harder on the touch screen is a bad idea in general.
     
  9. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    I lol'd.

    *imagines a moron with a DS, reads that, stabs the stylus through the screen, then baws to Nintendo that they made him break it.*
     
  10. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    LOL

    (is the top screen, but who cares)
     
  11. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Kwartel, thank you for that. That is a picture that speaks to me XD
     
  12. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    experience?
     
  13. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I love about that is that if you take the top part off you can still use it as a GBA using the bottom screen [​IMG]
     
  14. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well good luck ripping the top screen off
     
  15. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats the easy part...
    the hard part is playing GBA games without the retro GBA blippiness that made the GBA so GBAish...

    DSi sucks anyways, a couple of useless features and piracy protection? no thanks.
     
  16. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed. I'll consider it once its been cracked wide open and there's decent homebrew out that utilises the extra power housed in its CPU. (Quake 2 DSi?)
     
  17. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, back on topic, I'm pretty sure that the DSi does not, in fact, have a pressure sensitive screen...I think they did this because for one, nobody ever used it, and for another, the touch screen on the DSi has marginally less resistance to the touch...it's a bit nicer to use for most games.
     
  18. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Too bad there's no sound... My nephew took it off some way or another and he used it as a GBA. [​IMG]
     
  19. lincruste

    Member lincruste GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    france
    Country:
    Wrong. Jesse, Colors! original developper, immediatly tried Colors! on the new DSi and posted on Gbadev his results. It seems like Nintendo removed pressure sensitivity from the DSi touchscreen.
     
  20. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Dude, check the dates. Little bit old now.
     

Share This Page