ROM Hack Total noob looking for help

Viktor Eriksson

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi!

Im a total noob at this and want to know where to start.

My goal is to be able to randomize pokemon X/Y and ORAS, but I dont know where to start.
Have been looking around internet and have found out that i need to do a romhack which look to be easiest done with homebrew and i think it was HANS.

My 3DSXL is on firmware 7.2.0-10E and I can make an Emunand from that. Can start homebrew with cubic ninja. But if I use cubic ninja I will have to change cart and Im not sure if that work with homebrew up. Also if you recommend me to upgrade Sysnand from 7.2 to 9.2 and if you recommend to upgrade Emunand to latest firmware.

Basicly my question is, where do I start and I wouldnt like to customice sysnand if not needed. Thinking about trying to put a homebrew .cia on sysnand tho.

ihaveahax

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
just use browserhax as an entry-point to homebrew
just place the Homebrew kit on the SD card, and use the browserhax QR code.
their console is on 7.2.0-10. they can't use browserhax right now.

@Viktor Eriksson you should update emunand to the latest version, and preferably sysnand to 9.2.0-20. then you won't need to use cubic ninja. with emunand you can keep using CIAs and whatnot, even on the latest firmware. as it stands it's probably going to be hard to use any kind of romhacks.

https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/9.2.0-Update-(rxTools-3.0)

OldGlass

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
their console is on 7.2.0-10. they can't use browserhax right now.

@Viktor Eriksson you should update emunand to the latest version, and preferably sysnand to 9.2.0-20. then you won't need to use cubic ninja. with emunand you can keep using CIAs and whatnot, even on the latest firmware. as it stands it's probably going to be hard to use any kind of romhacks.

https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/9.2.0-Update-(rxTools-3.0)