TheOnlyJonto

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello!

I am totally new to the homebrew, custom firmware scene. I've had a DSTWO before but that's as far as it goes.

I currently have an old 3DS XL on 7.1. My goal is to carry all my 3DS games, DS games, and ideally GBA, Gameboy Color, Gameboy, SNES, and NES games all on my device with just one card while still being able to play games online. Is this even possible?

I've looked into the DSTWO+ and that seems like it would do what I need, except for the playing online part. Does emuNAND solve that problem?

Again, I really don't know anything about this stuff and I'm not expecting someone to reply with a complete guide, I'm just looking to be guided in the right direction.

Thanks!

Splosionz

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
That is 100% possible. I would personally run the GBC, GB, SNES, and NES games on emulators, install the 3DS and GBA games as cias on my emuNAND, and then purchase an R4 card to play my DS games. The upside to installing GBA games to your emuNAND instead of emulating them is that they will all run at full speed because they are being run on actual GBA hardware that was built into the 3DS. However, the downside is that they have to be installed to both sysNAND and emuNAND to work, which means they will take up twice the space on your SD card. EmuNAND on an O3DS can be upgraded to the latest firmware so you should be able to play online without any problems. For online play with 3DS games, I would definitely recommend using installed CIAs over 3DS roms and a flash cart because you are much more likely to get your NNID banned when using 3DS roms unless they are your own personally dumped games. Afaik, there have been no reports of anyone being banned for playing CIAs.

TheOnlyJonto

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States