Total newb to hacking. I have a few questions!

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'll answer the first two, since I can relate. I've bought 76 games on the eshop, along with most dlc for them, so I can understand your fear. actually, there's next to no risk unless you cheat online. tiramisu removes the brick risk for the most part. you can still access the eshop as long as you don't use the dns to block updates, tiramisu should do that automatically or you can delete the update folder like I did if you're paranoid. if you do use the dns, you need to use nnu patcher to access the eshop or download updates.

Norris

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
well techinally it is "illegal" but nobody has ever been banned for it and they really dont care they just say to scare people nobody has ever been sued just for hacking it also brick risk for tiramusi is very low as long as you do everything right and the benifits of hacking that dont invlove piracy is a lot mods to your games emulators more vc games revive the mii verse custom themes and some homebrew games like gta3 and gtavc have been ported there are many reasons to hack a wii u besides piracy and also gamecube with hdmi is so nice with gamepad controlls also its great when my sister is using the tv i can just play super mario sunburn "hack of sunshine" on my wii u gamepad (:

Last edited by Norris,

Norris

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the reply. When you say "for the most part," that means there is still some risk of bricking. What would I have to do wrong in order for it to brick?

I assume the update blocking is to prevent Nintendo from detecting the modification or patching the vulnerability, but how long has it been since the last update?