1. dimitriblaiddyd78

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    India
    Tinfoil USB transfer doesn't work for me. That's why I use Goldbricks with Nut
     
  2. blawar

    blawar Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,589
    Country:
    United States
    Install the new 8.0 usb driver, comes with nut 2.6
     
  3. dimitriblaiddyd78

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2020
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    India
    Works thanks
     
  4. .d&n

    .d&n Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    still not working, is there a rev10 nsp?

    after installing rev9 got nut saying connected but nothing showing up on switch

    fresh tinfoil sd folder check
    delete old forwarder check
    open tinfoil and inturn install new forwarder check
    new usb driver check
    open nut - disconnected
    open tinfoil - installed rev 9
    open nut - connected but nothing showing up on switch
    clueless....
     
    kerelenko likes this.
  5. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi @balwar a related question:
    I'm on the latest 8.1.0, R20 (fw 9.2 and atmosphere10.3)
    Using nut server connected with USB works fine... NSP/NSZ files are visible and install properly.
    But when connected through local network IP and port (nutfs) trough nut server...
    All the NSP/NSZ files are visible but when trying to install the error is:
    ---
    This feature is not supported by this CFW.
    Failed to open NSP
    ---
    I don't understand its exactly the same file, USB works, and the network does not.
    Why is that and how can I fix this, please?
     
  6. sillz

    sillz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Canada
    Apparently this fork is supposed to fix this issue.

    I have not updated so I cannot confirm.
     
    azoreseuropa likes this.
  7. blawar

    blawar Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,589
    Country:
    United States
    only works on sxos
     
  8. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @sillz Hi, I tried the fork you mentioned; It works out of the box exactly the same as when using Kosmos v15.2 + Kosmos_patches_03_04_2020_bootconfig_tinfoilv8+

    From external internet sources works fine.. and nut server through USB also.
    But the tinfoil error is still there when using nut server over local network with protocol nutfs.
    ---
    This feature is not supported by this CFW.
    Failed to open NSP
    ---
    I think Tinfoil is rigged-up / designed to complain of anything besides sxos which we have to pay for .
    I was actually hoping that @blawar would point us to something free and open source we can use... or explain the why...
    If it's truly not supported by this specific CFW... why does it work for USB and external internet sources then??

    Maybe i should just route/hide the nutserver trough an exteral dns and make it work the same as they do.
     
  9. blawar

    blawar Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,589
    Country:
    United States
    "This feature is not supported by this CFW."

    it is intentionally disabled for atmosphere.
     
  10. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @blawar I see... Well, It works for me now on atmosphere!
    I'm serving the directory trough a simple http server running in my terminal:

    Code:
    ruby -run -e httpd . -p 9000 -b 0.0.0.0
    Sizes still don't show up on the initial index but when the install starts I can see the file size and everything works fine without the warning. "This feature is not supported by this CFW."

    I'm gonna port your nut server over to ruby I think...

    Because I really need to be able to install over my local network or over from my private server at some point.
    Thanx for the support!
     
  11. Arras

    Arras GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6,277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If anyone finds this thread through Google like I did and wants to get network installs working on Atmosphere without installing the entirety of Ruby or whatever, here's a small utility you can use: https://github.com/m3ng9i/ran
    Run it with
    Code:
    ran.exe -listdir=true -root=[games folder relative to exe]
    and set your server protocol in tinfoil to http.
     
  12. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well for that one you would still need the "entirety" of Go or whatever and you need to either compile it from source or have Docker installed and use it that way.

    You need to install something either way and there are many ways to do this.

    The nice thing about Ruby is that it comes pre-installed by default on macOS.

    You only need to fire up your pre-installed terminal and past in the one line.
    Here is a Big list of http static server one-liners... in many languages take your pick!

    https://gist.github.com/willurd/5720255
     
    Last edited by kaygeee, Mar 24, 2020
  13. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And If anyone finds this thread through Google like @Arras did and wants to get network installs working on Atmosphere without installing anything at all besides Google Chrome use this Web Server for Google Chrome extension
    and save your self the trouble!

    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/...rome/ofhbbkphhbklhfoeikjpcbhemlocgigb/related

    1. Install and launch
    2. Choose your folder
    3. check the checkbox "Accessible on local network"
    4.
    click "Show Advanced Options" and check the checkbox "Plain (static) files view"
    4. set your protocol to http in tinfoil and point it to the local network IP and Port of your server.

    And It just works everywhere without code or complexity! :)

    upload_2020-3-24_20-44-42.png
     
    Last edited by kaygeee, Mar 24, 2020
  14. Arras

    Arras GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6,277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's not very clear in the github page for ran, but there are executables with zero dependencies on the releases page. The Go stuff is just if you want to compile it, I'm not sure why they worded it like that.
     
  15. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Because I don't want to run a precompiled binary executable (.exe file) that has been placed on someone's random repository.
    That's how ppl get hacked!
    Once the executable is compiled it's impossible to see what's really in there unless you can read binary code.

    I'm just gonna stick with the Google Chrome extension I mentioned it's simple has a good interface already has 300,000+ users
    works on any operating system... good and fast and clear in a couple of clicks WYSIWYG

    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/...rome/ofhbbkphhbklhfoeikjpcbhemlocgigb/related

    I just tried and tested it with tinfoil now and was able to install .nsz trough it works perfectly.

    These are my settings:
    upload_2020-3-24_20-40-26.png
     
    Last edited by kaygeee, Mar 24, 2020
  16. Misledz

    Misledz GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Philippines
    So I managed to fix this issue finally, Turns out that you need to connect the switch via USB in Tinfoil mode. Then double check Device Manager and look for "libUSBk Devices" tab, and expand it. Find Tinfoil Interface [1] and [0] or either, then right click it and press Uninstall, followed by the checkbox to delete the driver. Disconnect the switch and the USB then connect it back again and into Tinfoil mode. This time it should trigger a popup for "Switch" as media storage. If not then reinstall the libusbk driver specifically for Tinfoil Interface 0 ONLY.
     
  17. kerelenko

    OP kerelenko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    Easiest way to do it is uninstall libUSBk drivers and install the drivers that came with NUT while on unsigned drivers mode in Windows.
     
  18. kokotas

    kokotas Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Greece
    Wait so local ftp server installations no longer work on Atmos? Been banging my head on the wall for days as to why I was getting the "failed to open nsp" error...
     
  19. jemjem

    jemjem Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi All, have tried to uninstall libUSBk drivers and install the drivers but still got could not locate the files via tinfoil on my switch to install.

    Can anyone enlighten on this:

    *Quote*
    begin recv
    usb exception: [Errno None] b'libusb0-dll:err [_usb_reap_async] reaping request failed, win error: A device attached to the system is not functioning.\r\n\n'
    USB Connected
    *Unquote*

    Thank you in advance.
     
  20. kokotas

    kokotas Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Greece
    So ftp servers works again on atmos+tinfoil... Not sure which update re-enabled the functionality since blawar does these in secrecy lol
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Tinfoil, showing, usbfs