1. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey guys,

    got my new 3DS XL Today, following the guide of Pliatec by words, now I try to downgrade my RedNAND from 11.0.0 to 2.1.0 using the PlaySisUpdater as said in the GUide, everything goes smoothly till i hit the last point, which is the "Downgrading NFIRM" etc. pp.
    At this point I got the Error twice.
    Now i'm curious - is it possible that this happens twice?
    i formatted my RedNAND twice and using the newest LUMA - shall i keep trying, or just format the RedNAND once again?

    any help? :-)
     
  2. Ricken

    Ricken Inside, I realize, that I'm the one confused
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,508
    Country:
    United States
    Restore emunand_original.bin to EmuNand, Update EmuNand, format it twice, then try again
     
  3. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    okay, will do this - happend now the third time @ NFIRM -.-
     
    Ricken likes this.
  4. Davidosky99

    Davidosky99 Eevee :3
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,581
    Country:
    A simple google search would told you to use ntr firmware.bin .
    First download it here (get it on this archive (zippy share link) https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Installation-and-Upgrade
    Then delete your luma config.bin and put the firmware.bin corresponding to your 3ds model in the Luma folder in the root of the SD card.
    Then repeat the steps following to the downgrade and it should work
     
    VIERcntHOLZ likes this.
  5. Ricken

    Ricken Inside, I realize, that I'm the one confused
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,508
    Country:
    United States
     
  6. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    okay, just deleting the config.bin inside the LUMA folder and put the ntr boot.bin in the root?
    then I boot trough MenuHax into Luma and Downgrade?
     
  7. Davidosky99

    Davidosky99 Eevee :3
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,581
    Country:
    OK lemme explain.
    A few days ago I downgraded a 3ds and it would always give that nfirm error.
    Formatted the emunand twice as stated in the guide.
    Always restored the nand and formatted yet again twice. But that wouldn't fix it.
    When I used the ntr firmware.bin it worked.
     
    Ricken likes this.
  8. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay, now I dont know what to do anymore :D

    I've red, that i should try Cakes instead of LUMA?
    Or just RedNAND_original.bin as intended and format it twice again?
     
  9. Davidosky99

    Davidosky99 Eevee :3
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,581
    Country:
    No. Use the "firmware.bin" provided in the luma page and put it on the luma folder
     
  10. Ricken

    Ricken Inside, I realize, that I'm the one confused
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,508
    Country:
    United States
    Try what David said first
    EDIT; Ninja'd

    EDIT2; I feel like I'm confusing this. Lol, listen to David
     
    Davidosky99 likes this.
  11. Davidosky99

    Davidosky99 Eevee :3
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,581
    Country:
    Restore the rednand original and do as stated.
     
  12. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    Worked! thx!
     
    Ricken likes this.
  13. astronautlevel

    astronautlevel GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4,125
    Country:
    United States
    It's weird, it shouldn't be necessary unless something broke the downgrade patch in Luma
     
    Ricken likes this.
  14. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen this happen a lot too where NFIRM always fails for someone, but then using NTR firmware.bin will cause it to work first time for them. I've had no problem doing it on any of the o3ds consoles I've done, so IDK what would cause it to only happen on specific consoles.
     
  15. ZeastTheMiiverseHacker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Well, 2.1.0 on N3DS is unstable. One false move could hardbrick. Downgrading to 9.2.0 and then 2.1.0 seems to help.
     
  16. VIERcntHOLZ

    OP VIERcntHOLZ yep, theres missing an "u".
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    Well, the Guide seems to advice someone to upgrade to the newest version first?
    maybe @Plailect should read this?
    I don't know, but with NTR Firm it worked first time (everything in Plai's Guide worked @ first glance, despite this downgrade path), maybe adviceing NTR Firm could lead to better overall results?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgrade, trying, Three