Hacking Three times NFIRM Error while trying to downgrade to 2.1.0?

VIERcntHOLZ

yep, theres missing an "u".
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Germany
Hey guys,

got my new 3DS XL Today, following the guide of Pliatec by words, now I try to downgrade my RedNAND from 11.0.0 to 2.1.0 using the PlaySisUpdater as said in the GUide, everything goes smoothly till i hit the last point, which is the "Downgrading NFIRM" etc. pp.
At this point I got the Error twice.
Now i'm curious - is it possible that this happens twice?
i formatted my RedNAND twice and using the newest LUMA - shall i keep trying, or just format the RedNAND once again?

any help? :-)
 

Ricken

I'll lose my mind; atleast another thousand times.
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
2,591
Trophies
1
Age
18
Location
Shibuya, The small one from Vegas
XP
2,162
Country
United States
Hey guys,

got my new 3DS XL Today, following the guide of Pliatec by words, now I try to downgrade my RedNAND from 11.0.0 to 2.1.0 using the PlaySisUpdater as said in the GUide, everything goes smoothly till i hit the last point, which is the "Downgrading NFIRM" etc. pp.
At this point I got the Error twice.
Now i'm curious - is it possible that this happens twice?
i formatted my RedNAND twice and using the newest LUMA - shall i keep trying, or just format the RedNAND once again?

any help? :-)
Restore emunand_original.bin to EmuNand, Update EmuNand, format it twice, then try again
 

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,581
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Porto
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
1,158
Country
Hey guys,

got my new 3DS XL Today, following the guide of Pliatec by words, now I try to downgrade my RedNAND from 11.0.0 to 2.1.0 using the PlaySisUpdater as said in the GUide, everything goes smoothly till i hit the last point, which is the "Downgrading NFIRM" etc. pp.
At this point I got the Error twice.
Now i'm curious - is it possible that this happens twice?
i formatted my RedNAND twice and using the newest LUMA - shall i keep trying, or just format the RedNAND once again?

any help? :-)
A simple google search would told you to use ntr firmware.bin .
First download it here (get it on this archive (zippy share link) https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Installation-and-Upgrade
Then delete your luma config.bin and put the firmware.bin corresponding to your 3ds model in the Luma folder in the root of the SD card.
Then repeat the steps following to the downgrade and it should work
 
  • Like
Reactions: VIERcntHOLZ

Ricken

I'll lose my mind; atleast another thousand times.
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
2,591
Trophies
1
Age
18
Location
Shibuya, The small one from Vegas
XP
2,162
Country
United States
A simple google search would told you to use ntr firmware.bin .
First download it here (get it on this archive (zippy share link) https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Installation-and-Upgrade
Then delete your luma config.bin and put the firmware.bin corresponding to your 3ds model in the Luma folder in the root of the SD card.
Then repeat the steps following to the downgrade and it should work
Auora Wright said:
Starting from Luma3DS 5.0, you don't need firmware.bin anymore.
 

VIERcntHOLZ

yep, theres missing an "u".
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Germany
okay, just deleting the config.bin inside the LUMA folder and put the ntr boot.bin in the root?
then I boot trough MenuHax into Luma and Downgrade?
 

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,581
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Porto
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
1,158
Country
OK lemme explain.
A few days ago I downgraded a 3ds and it would always give that nfirm error.
Formatted the emunand twice as stated in the guide.
Always restored the nand and formatted yet again twice. But that wouldn't fix it.
When I used the ntr firmware.bin it worked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ricken

VIERcntHOLZ

yep, theres missing an "u".
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Germany
Okay, now I dont know what to do anymore :D

I've red, that i should try Cakes instead of LUMA?
Or just RedNAND_original.bin as intended and format it twice again?
 

Ricken

I'll lose my mind; atleast another thousand times.
Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
2,591
Trophies
1
Age
18
Location
Shibuya, The small one from Vegas
XP
2,162
Country
United States
Okay, now I dont know what to do anymore :D

I've red, that i should try Cakes instead of LUMA?
Or just RedNAND_original.bin as intended and format it twice again?
Try what David said first
EDIT; Ninja'd

EDIT2; I feel like I'm confusing this. Lol, listen to David
 
  • Like
Reactions: Davidosky99

VIERcntHOLZ

yep, theres missing an "u".
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Germany
  • Like
Reactions: Ricken

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,361
Country
United States
It's weird, it shouldn't be necessary unless something broke the downgrade patch in Luma
I've seen this happen a lot too where NFIRM always fails for someone, but then using NTR firmware.bin will cause it to work first time for them. I've had no problem doing it on any of the o3ds consoles I've done, so IDK what would cause it to only happen on specific consoles.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
51
Country
United States
Hey guys,

got my new 3DS XL Today, following the guide of Pliatec by words, now I try to downgrade my RedNAND from 11.0.0 to 2.1.0 using the PlaySisUpdater as said in the GUide, everything goes smoothly till i hit the last point, which is the "Downgrading NFIRM" etc. pp.
At this point I got the Error twice.
Now i'm curious - is it possible that this happens twice?
i formatted my RedNAND twice and using the newest LUMA - shall i keep trying, or just format the RedNAND once again?

any help? :-)
Well, 2.1.0 on N3DS is unstable. One false move could hardbrick. Downgrading to 9.2.0 and then 2.1.0 seems to help.
 

VIERcntHOLZ

yep, theres missing an "u".
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
Germany
Well, the Guide seems to advice someone to upgrade to the newest version first?
maybe @Plailect should read this?
I don't know, but with NTR Firm it worked first time (everything in Plai's Guide worked @ first glance, despite this downgrade path), maybe adviceing NTR Firm could lead to better overall results?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Stealphie @ Stealphie: Comedy