This makes no damn sense

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Gaisuto, Nov 5, 2006.

Nov 5, 2006

This makes no damn sense by Gaisuto at 7:40 PM (1,001 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    After I put in a new DVD Drive onto my computer, now my Windows loads up VERY slowly, and things in the computer in general go slower. And the drive also randomly decides to work. It's read a few DVD-Rs with no problem, but now there's one in there it's not detecting. How the hell is a DVD-Drive slowing shit down?! This is starting to piss me off. (As everything does.)

    And yet another thing to anger me, my story with PSU. For a while, I am stuck with Dial Up because my mom sucks at bills. My friend downloaded Phantasy Star Universe from a torrent, 50 RAR parts at 98MB each, plus the sfv file. The game has mass patching issues, and I wanted to avoid them on Dial Up.

    so I just burn the entire C: SEGA, PHANTASY STAR UNIVERSE... thing into two DVD-Rs. (Thus the new DVD Drive I needed) Rip it onto my computer straight from the disc onto the C Drive, and it randomly crashes when loading.

    Someone gives me the idea of installing the game itself, maybe it puts stuff in the registry. So I go back to his house and again, on two DVDs, burn the actual ISO (It's a 5+GB ISO and the DVDs I have only fit 4GB so I needed two) and try that. I get it home, rip it off. Try to extract it to make the solid ISO...

    ***Error 1: You need to start extraction from a previous volume to unpack PSU.iso
    *POINTS AT THE ERROR MESSAGE CLEARLY SAYING .r00*

    ***Error 2: No files to extract
    *LOADS UP HUGE RAR SHOWING THE ISO IN THERE!

    No one wants me to play PSU, this is pissing me off. And I even already paid for a month subscription over at his house too... This is all because of the god damn Dial Up. If I didn't have this shit, I wouldn't need to try these 500 ways to get around this.
     
  2. wohoo

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    the dvd drive shuld slow your computer down a bit.. but normal use such as just starting the computer and so on shuldn't be a noticeable difference.

    you know, if the dvd is connected with a ata cable, with a hdd (or two) and maybe another cd/dvd drive, everything goes on the speed of the same cable so if the cable can go 133mbps, 2-4 other things share the same speed on the cable and that shuld to slow stuff down a bit... not so much you can notice it all the time.. maybe just when moving massive data from one place to another. that's why S-ata is better when everything get's the full speed all the time.

    and about PSU, you shuld be able to instal from the discs as you shuld (so the computer understands that it really is installed) and then you probably can copy the installed files from your dvd's over it and the patched files shuld be there without any problems. at least it use to work when i've been doing that with other games [​IMG]

    edit: spelling...

    second edit: Wohooo! post nr. 300 ^^
     
  3. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Would the DVD Drive make that much of a difference though? I replaced a generic CD Drive with the DVD Drive...
     
  4. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna take a guess and say you are trying to rejoin the iso on a FAT drive? If that is the case then you are SOL because FAT can only handle files up to 4G so an NTFS partition is required for what you want to do.

    As for the DVD drive you should try connecting it to a different controller or combining it with a different drive on that controller or a mixture of the two. Sometimes one drive will hate another drive for no particular reason at all so the only thing you can do is pair it with a different one.
     
  5. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to extract it from a .rar. I think I found the problem though when talking to my friend about it.

    I'm missing the actual .rar itself.
     
  6. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Ah yeah that would help. [​IMG]
     
  7. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    My dial up made the post aspload. Delete this someone.
     
  8. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, now the DVD Drive just stopped working. This is very aggrivating. Even if I could get that missing file from my friend, if the drive won't work then I can't get the patched data off of it.

    Is there a way to get it working? Like if I removed the second CD Drive and just left the DVD one alone? Just leave one of the two drive slots empty? Can I safely do that?
     
  9. zennoux

    Newcomer zennoux Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh first of all the first volume in a set of RAR volumes is the .rar file, not .r00.

    .rar, .r00, .r01, etc.
     
  10. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I found out zennoux just a little while ago. I am missing the actual .rar.
     
  11. sipoon

    Member sipoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    New Zealand
    might be power supply problems ? yeh try to disconnect the other cdrom and leave the dvd one alone
     
  12. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried that. The DVD Drive now works great, and most (not all) of the Computer Boot Up Slowness is gone.

    That just leaves that file. I knew you guys would help, you guys never let me down. Thanks, and sorry for the outburst earlier. This angers me, I want to play this badly.
     
  13. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a PSU problem to me. Get one rated at a higher wattage.
     

Share This Page