This is going to sound like a really dumb question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MidnightR, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. MidnightR
    OP

    Newcomer MidnightR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard a lot of people saying they've bricked their Wii trying to make custom channels and all that, so it has me a little paranoid. But...is it safe to rename the file name of a wad? Or is the file name tied with the channel or something?

    Sorry for the dumb question [​IMG]
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, i can't answer that, but i really recommend you before trying to install ANY channel, do preparations for for a brick. If you bricked your wii without preparations, you are in a lot of trouble.
     
  3. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is OK. I have done it myself.
     
  4. macmel

    Member macmel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Philippines
    It is safe. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. MidnightR
    OP

    Newcomer MidnightR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I have 3.2U and if I've comprehended right, all I need is Starfall with the Rescue menu and the Skip Diagnostic Check mods installed, right?

    And thanks for the answers, guys! [​IMG]
     
  6. macmel

    Member macmel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Philippines

    Yup that will do or just select all the option when installing Starfall
     
  7. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    You also need to install the twilight hack on your wii. Having Starfall on will be useless unless you can use it to boot the TP hack.
     
  8. MidnightR
    OP

    Newcomer MidnightR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    How can you install the TP hack on the Wii? I've been reading here for a while and I've never seen that mentioned.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    TP hack installed on the wii just means TP hack savegame on your wii. If you can execute the hack from Zelda, you have the hack installed.
     

Share This Page