THIS IS A TRIUMPH!

Discussion in 'The Edge of the Forum' started by mthrnite, Nov 20, 2011.

Nov 20, 2011

THIS IS A TRIUMPH! by mthrnite at 5:30 PM (721 Views / 7 Likes) 18 replies

  1. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I was playing Portal before most of you were even born.
     
    7 people like this.
  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
  3. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Is there cake in it?
     
  4. TheZoc

    Member TheZoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Country:
    Brazil
    2 people like this.
  5. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    GOTY
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    Actually the game was a bit boring, so I didn't even remember it's existence. I'm setting up my old Amiga though, and I was going through my huge box of disks, and I was like lulwhut? OH YEAH!

    ..no cake though :(

    If I can get the game working, or find ADF's for it (it came on 3 disks and floppies suck) I'm gonna play through it just for grins.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    JOIN ME, MTHR
    WE'LL BE THE AMIGA BROS

    (A1200, 040, 32MB, 2GB CF)
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Man, you guys are so old-school. 8-bit color is where it's at now, dawg.
     
  9. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my PCMCIA CF adapter in the mail yesterday from Amigakit. I'm currently backing up my 80MB hard drive to it. I'm thinking about a wifi card next, then maybe an 030.
    My big box of Amiga disks (it's very very big) is like going through a time capsule. Unfortunately most of the disks have that creeping grunge on the surface.. alcohol takes care of it, but it's a painstaking process.. I'm gonna build a disk cleaning rig with an old floppy drive I think.
     
  10. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    :mthr:










    Also if mthr makes one more post, he'll have 4,321 posts :O
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,601
    Country:
    United States
    FTFY
     
  12. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    Did you order that a couple days ago or what? I remember you digging out an old PC for it's adapter just yesterday.
     
  13. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    At that point I had gotten the CF card from Amazon, the PCMCIA adaptor from Amigakit, and was able to dump stuff from my Amiga to the CF card.. but then.. HOW TO READ CF CARD ON MAC?!?!?
    I should've bought a 4 dollar multicard reader when I ordered the CF from Amazon :/

    I ended up using my ancient Gateway laptop (which has PC/PCMCIA slots) to mount the CF card and share it over my LAN to my Mac.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds ridiculously overcomplicated.
    JUST HOW I LIKE IT.
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Which Amiga have you got? I remember A3000, correct me if I'm wrong.

    If you have an A4000, then you'll need a SCSI-to-IDE+IDE-to-CF. The first ones are pretty expensive, but they yield superior results to IDE. If you've got a B2000 (God spare you if you've got an A2000), then you'll need a Zorro2 card giving you the IDE bus. They should go for cheap. SCSI ones are even cheaper, but you'd end up needing the SCSI-to-IDE which is pretty costalicious anyway. The A4000 is pretty straightforward to expand.

    If you've got a 1200 (and I hope so, since we're getting loads of awesome stuff from Jens Schoenfeld lately) you could wait for the new super-fast A1200 SATA adapter he's making, which will probably also sport an accelerated CF port. Also keep out an eye for the Indivision AGA MkII, which will let you connect your old Amiga to LCD screens of any type, since it'll come with a DVI port. There are also lots of new 030 accelerators out there, which quite outpaces most of the old 040 ones, since he made them using advanced routines that make them really fast. He might come up with an adapter board for the A4000/A3000 CPU slot, that'd be awesome.

    If you've got a 3000/4000, A3630s go for REALLY cheap. (But wait, in that case you should already have a 030?)

    As you can see, I love my Amigas :creep:

    :amiga-amigos-brofist:
     
  16. mthrnite
    OP

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1200, which is my main machine, stock '020 with a 3.0 Kickstart ROM, expanded on the bottom with a ram/68881/clock card (1 simm slot w/8MB simm)
    A 3000 with corrosion issues iirc, haven't used that in a very long time. It's a developer's system (one of the guys who worked on Lattice C owned it prior to me) so it's pretty maxed out.
    Several A1000's in various states of repair, at least one of which runs fine.

    I'm really liking the PCMCIA CF adapter, it was cheap and it works great. I may replace the hard drive with CF at some point to quiet the machine and give me more storage (I assume it'll be faster too but I'm not sure.)
    I'd be REALLY happy to get this thing off of this 1084 14" monitor and onto a 20"+ LCD, so the Indivision sounds very nice.. I WANT. Obviously an '030 would make me happy too.
     
  17. ShinyJellicent12

    Member ShinyJellicent12 I summon giant clover-shaped meteors in the sky

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    United States
    I used to have an Amiga...
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    That's awesome. Wait for an A1231, you won't regret it ;) The 3.1 ROMs are a nice addition, which let you go the AmigaOS 3.5+ way. Keep in mind that you'd at least need 16MBs and a 030 for it.

    Hey, I have the same RAM card :P (which I'm not using currently)

    I've got a PCMCIA SD adapter from DealExtreme. BEST. THING. EVER. I transfer all my files via a 256MB SD.
    Awesome! Hm, I'm not too certain on the faster thing, I'm pretty sure that a new 2,5" is a lot faster than a CF, but a CF should probably be faster than your old 80MB HD.

    I'm going to get an Indivision too. Those bad babies go sold-out in a flash though (like with the Indi 1) :(
     
  19. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    :cry:
     

Share This Page