Thinking of hacking my Wii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sailor, Feb 1, 2008.

Feb 1, 2008

Thinking of hacking my Wii... by Sailor at 9:48 PM (6,193 Views / 0 Likes) 79 replies

  1. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so today I randomly decided that I might want to buy a chip for my Wii, because they really aren't all that cheap..and it seems like a good investment. I mean, the R4 is a great investment..so I'm thinking this is like a R4 for the Wii. Just hope that if I do it, I don't stop playing my Wii, with 'ROMitis' syndrome D:

    But really, I have NO idea what it's all about. Like, I'd really like a couple questions answered, please.

    1) Which is the best modchip for the Wii, and how much does it cost?

    2) What are the chances of bricking my console with one, or is there any possible way that Nintendo can force an update and brick consoles automatically? Oh, and since I'm on the topic..HOW would you update the Wii with firmware upgrades, if you have a modchip. I'm pretty sure that if you had one, it'd brick automatically while updating it from Nintendo.

    3) Is it difficult/confusing to install a modchip? Is it also confusing to download the games onto the CD..and stuff like that? I heard something about unscrambling a code..but I dunno what that is. Do you also need like a special CD/program for burning the game? Oh..and is it that simple really, just burn the game onto the CD and play? I mean, I heard of the SMG crisis with people getting their Wii's bricked..what was up with that? That really sucks..I don't want to brick my Wii..AT ALL. Maybe if I'm careful though..but how do hackers know if Nintendo had protection for the game before booting it and blowing their Wii.

    4) Do the games have all the features as a real game, and does the modchip play almost all games?

    5) If you have a modchip installed, and you have the REAL copy of the game..can you play it?

    Uhm..that's about it. I might actually make the jump, but I'm scared I might screw up the install and brick the Wii or something. Yargh..I know it's a good investment, so I think I really want to do it. Do modchip installs go bad though/have problems? Oh, and if you do that to your Wii..your warranty is automatically VOID, right? :'[

    Hm..I also read somewhere that having a modchip wears out your laser faster..true?

    Ok, that's all for now. If I remember a question, I'll post it [​IMG]
     


  2. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    1) If you got a D2B/D2A/DMS chipset get a Open Source Chip like YOASM or a WiiKey or a CycloWiz V2
    If you got a D2C get a D2CKey, or Argon.

    2) You can only brick your Wii with updates from other region than your own.

    3) All the D2B/D2A/DMS chips are very easy to install becurse they only require 5-6 wires.
    But the D2C chips are harder becurse they need 15-30Wires to be installed DIRECTLY on the D2C chip.

    4) The burned game works as if was a real game. All Modchips play all the games from your own region and some from the others.

    5) Yes.
     
  3. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    1) Remember, I'm a noob at this. So that post was like a whole different language to me. What's a "D2B/D2A/DMS chipset" or a D2C?

    2) So if I have a modchip installed, and upgrade firmware from Nintendo through my Wii..I won't brick it?

    3) Omgosh...I don't wanna install 15-30 wires o.O" Why would people pick the D2C then..if it's harder?

    4) ..YAY!

    5) ..DOUBLEYAY!
     
  4. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    1) Its the chip that sees if the disk is valid or not. While the D2A/D2B/DMS chip is easy to hack the newer D2C is much more harder to hack. Check which one you maybe got here by typing in your Wii's serial here: http://wiitracker.nintendo-scene.com/search.php?serial=
    Its pretty pricise.

    2) Nope

    3) Becurse the D2C chip cant be modded with the first modchips. Becurse the D2C is completly diffrent.

    4) Yay xD

    5) Tripple yay xD (Lol)
     
  5. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa..watch the language [​IMG]

    1) Hmm...I'm checking right now, I'll reply in a sec.

    2) Sweet! So I can play games, and still be up to date with Nintendo? All the latest channels, and everything? But what's the possibility of me getting my console bricked with a chip...or Nintendo forcing an update to brick all the Wii's with chips?

    3) So wait...after the Wii was released, Nintendo started making newer chipset's called the D2C..in order to try and prevent hackers? But a new team called the D2CKey made a chip to work w/ it?
     
  6. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Ups lol i was meant to write disk xD

    2. Well before updateing to anything else than 3.1 be SURE to check what other modchip users is saying so you dont get into something..

    3. That was the 3. try on preventing modding.
    First the D2B came which was abit diffrent but bacame hacked pretty fast.
    Second the D2B's with cut legs which requierd the owners of this chipset the dremmel the chipset to replace the 3 cut legs.
    Now there are made a little device called wlip which is very handy for cut legged D2B's
     
  7. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone translate please?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Looks like you are good to go [​IMG]

    You got either a DMS or a D2B which is the ones which can be modded with 4-6 wires [​IMG]
    And your drive pins are not cut. That means you dont have to dremmel the drive chip thats good!
    Looks like a launch Wii.
    But the best way is to open op the Wii and check it..
    But i would say get either a: CycloWiz V2 or a WiiKey or a OpenSource chip like YOASM [​IMG]
     
  9. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    There's still some question left unanswered in the OP, so if someone can please answer them..I'd appreciate it.

    Sweet! What do you mean by the bolded, though?
    Hmm..I bought this last Feb. 18, so it's almost 1 year old. I think I'll open it up then, lol. And this is the FIRST time I've been happy getting an old console, it'd be a nightmare with 15-30 wires o.O" Waiiittt..how do I install the wires anyway? And where do they go? Do I like tape them somewhere inside the Wii, connecting them to something?

    I don't even know how modchips works..what do you connect it to, and how does that work? And I've been looking at the CycloWiz for the past like 10mins. It's $60, so not TOO expensive..and I've heard great things about it.
     
  10. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the modchips out there now arent IMO that good wait a year or so for better ones
     
  11. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Edit oops wrong tab
     
  12. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    ...Why do you say so? o.O"
    Wouldn't that be too late though, "Brawl"?

    I also got some answers from the Sticky..I'm dumb.

    "Can a wii firmware upgrade render the chips useless?

    Edit: Possible. But not in the near future, since there is no core evidence that the Wii is able to detect the modchips. The modchips on the market so far are all "Drive Mods" which means they hack the dvd-rom drive instead of the Wii mobo itself. Hence, your not really 'hacking the wii'"

    "How do i take apart my wii?

    Read: http://www.informit.com/articles/article.a...7908&rl=1"

    Hooray [​IMG]
    Modding my Wii is sounding nicer by the minute.
     
  13. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Don't mod it by yourself
    Let somebody experienced do it
    I also thought it would be simple after watchin all these videos
    Result: Had to throw away modchip and lost solder pads
    Now i got my wii chipped by somebody that even gives one year free reparation support

    Oh and choose Cyclowiz it's awesome
    Also you can check your Drive Chip version with your serial but forgot how
    Just something with these last numbers
     
  14. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Really? Is it that hard?
    And who did you get it chipped by, if you don't mind?

    And yea, I'm most likely going with the Cyclowiz. Sounds like the best for me..
     
  15. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well im not a super experienced solder and i did it with shaky hands in 60 secconds.
    The WiiKeys quicksolder method is super [​IMG]
     
  16. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Do you need to use wires for the Wiikey? Supposedly, modchipstore is telling me that the CycloWiz doesn't need any wires.

    Oh, and I replied to you a couple posts back..so [​IMG]
    BTW, thanks for all the help so far guys...

    EDIT: Quick question...with the save of the "fake" game, can I use that same save for a "real" version of the same game?
     
  17. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well yes.
     
  18. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    It's best that you use wires so you can remove it if you want to switch the modchip. Well, that's what I think at least.. I have zero solder experience.

    Anyways.. here's mine:

    [​IMG]

    Doesn't look that good for me.. [​IMG]

    Edit; That meas I'm only allowed to use D2CKey or Argon so far right?
     
  19. Sailor
    OP

    Member Sailor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, ok. Thank yee [​IMG]
    There's also some other questions I left for you up above, if you could answer those I'd greatly appreciate it.
     
  20. taggart6

    Member taggart6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    The Quick Solder method is a technique where you solderthe chip directly onto the board's sodler points instead of connecting them with wires.

    Quick Solder Method:
    http://www.chihkang.com/images/ins-cyclowiz-logo.jpg

    Wire Method:
    http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/5955/image82bs6.jpg

    Personally I would stay away from the quick solder method. It will be near impossible for you to remove the mod chip if you ever want to. At least with the wire method, you can cut the wires or de-solder them with less hassle.

    If you have no previous soldering experience then get someone who does. Other wise, read up on some basic techniques and practice on old computer boards.



    IIRC there is a group that is actually making an adapter for the DB2 and DMS chips which clips right on to them. You only need to solder the the adapter to your modchip. I forget what it's called I'll see if I can dig it up somewhere.


    EDIT: Works for all boards except D2C. I've never used it but it sounds promising for people with limited to no soldering experience.

    http://www.wlip.es/indexEnglish.html
     

Share This Page