Hacking Thinking about buying a Vita next paycheck. What to look out for?

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
The main point of obtaining a Vita is to graduate from my dated and slowly-failing PSP Go, so the biggest thing is to port its software over. I wouldn't mind a full Vita CFW if possible though.

What are my limitations, things not to do (I am unsure if I will link my PS Account or not), anything else of note? Seeking to buy new.
 

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
779
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,365
Country
Gambia, The
I own 3 Vita devices: TV, PSP1k and PSP2k.

Get yourself a PSP1k for a supreme display if you can but they are pretty pricey to get new or in unused condition.
A PSP2k is easier to obtain new.

When you get your device all that matters is the firmware. If it is <3.60 you are ready for CFW with its ability to run all Vita and PSP backups. You also get the whole PSP firmware on it with XMB and its plugins if you wish to maintain the PSP-feeling! You can also buy a cheep (<10$) MicroSD adapter and load 200GB of files on it to get going (it only works in CFW though)

If the firmware is above 3.60 there are very limited ways to play PSP games. You have to buy them digitally (a shit ton of them didn't make it into the PSN store) and you must buy a very expensive memory card for it to store the games (64gb are far over 100$).
The hugest problem is to break open the PSP emu inside the PSVita. You have to have the vita on a specific firmware and a specific game bought to load a manipulated save onto it to load other games from that. But to buy that specific game you need the most recent firmware on the vita installed => that means those holes are patched and you cannot use the manipulated saves.

That's about it I think. This is a short summery of a wall of informations. Good luck :)
 
Last edited by GothicIII,

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
I own 3 Vita devices: TV, PSP1k and PSP2k.

Get yourself a PSP1k for a supreme display if you can but they are pretty pricey to get new or in unused condition.
A PSP2k is easier to obtain new.

When you get your device all that matters is the firmware. If it is <3.60 you are ready for CFW with its ability to run all Vita and PSP backups. You also get the whole PSP firmware on it with XMB and its plugins if you wish to maintain the PSP-feeling! You can also buy a cheep (<10$) MicroSD adapter and load 200GB of files on it to get going (it only works in CFW though)

If the firmware is above 3.60 there are very limited ways to play PSP games. You have to buy them digitally (a shit ton of them didn't make it into the PSN store) and you must buy a very expensive memory card for it to store the games (64gb are far over 100$).
The hugest problem is to break open the PSP emu inside the PSVita. You have to have the vita on a specific firmware and a specific game bought to load a manipulated save onto it to load other games from that. But to buy that specific game you need the most recent firmware on the vita installed => that means those holes are patched and you cannot use the manipulated saves.

That's about it I think. This is a short summery of a wall of informations. Good luck :)
What's the TV Model?

Other than that, it sounds like I'm looking for a New PSP2K or PSP1K and praying it's below 3.6. Any particular way to tell before I buy which firmware it comes with?
 

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
779
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,365
Country
Gambia, The
What's the TV Model?

Other than that, it sounds like I'm looking for a New PSP2K or PSP1K and praying it's below 3.6. Any particular way to tell before I buy which firmware it comes with?

ehm it is called PlayStation TV.
Everything produced in 2017 is above 3.61 afaik. I bought my 2k in Japan from Yodobashi in october 2017. It was brand new and light blue and had v3.61 on it (I think it was manufactured in 04/17). I didn't care THAT much about CFW because my TV is hacked and I have over 300games bought legit.
I cannot help with identifying them because I don't know what are the conditions to guess the firmware. Maybe look for specific colors because they are produced in specific years (ar least thats how it was in Japan).

If everything fails buy a PSTV you can get them very cheap for far <100$ (I'm not sure about the real price). They are always way below 3.61 if they weren't used before.
 
Last edited by GothicIII,

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,282
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,217
Country
United States
All of the above information is way out of date. At this point, it doesn't matter what firmware you're on, any firmware 3.60 and over can be hacked with h-encore. http://wololo.net/2018/07/01/h-enco...-3-65-3-68-released-the-wait-is-finally-over/ <

The only difference for higher firmwares is between 3.65 and 3.67+, 3.65 has the coldboot hack called Enso that lets you run Henkaku through reboots, whereas 3.67+ doesn't have any coldboot exploit, so you have to launch an exploit every reboot to use it.

Other than that, there's no functional difference anymore. 3.65 still has access to PSN (as of this post), so there's no reason to update to 3.68 if you find a Vita on 3.65 or under.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WeedZ and GothicIII

Durelle

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
645
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
NB, Canada
XP
1,012
Country
Canada
You must be out of the loop gothic

Any PSP vita firmware can have cfw now. I'm running 3.68 with H-Encore. I can play any PSP/PSVita/psx game without issue.

I'm also using a sd2vita. So basically a 1k model has a better display but more expensive. A 2k model has better battery life, cheaper, and you can get it brand new.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WeedZ

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
779
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,365
Country
Gambia, The
Ok sorry, I didn't know that the device was blowed open like this. I hacked my device last year and didn't expect that the hacking scene does have so much interest in it.
 
Last edited by GothicIII,

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
Sounds good. So I can just go pick up any Vita new in the US then?

Also, I know you mentioned PSN access but I do intend to use my PS4 legit for awhile longer, so what are the precautions one can take with a CFW Vita to not get banned? I know my PS3 just doesn't run specific homebrews (i.e. MultiMan) online.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,282
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,217
Country
United States
Correct, any PS Vita can be used.

At this time, there have been 0 bans from using Henkaku on your Vita in the past 2 years ish since it's been hacked with Henkaku. However, I would strongly suggest you use a separate PSN account if you have any concerns about being account banned at all. While there have been no bans, it's still unknown whether Sony is simply waiting to ban everyone, or if they can't detect it.
 

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
Correct, any PS Vita can be used.

At this time, there have been 0 bans from using Henkaku on your Vita in the past 2 years ish since it's been hacked with Henkaku. However, I would strongly suggest you use a separate PSN account if you have any concerns about being account banned at all. While there have been no bans, it's still unknown whether Sony is simply waiting to ban everyone, or if they can't detect it.
Ok. I think I'll just be a pirate then and not buy anything on my Vita or do anything else requiring a PSN account. I especially won't feel bad about the games I already own on PS3/4 that I just want to take on the go like my FFX Remaster, in fact that's most of what I'd do outside the PSP.

Thanks guys, I'll go find a Vita new at Walmart then since I know someone with a discount.
 

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
Sorry, anything else I'll need immediately? I can hold off on memory cards unless I need one for the hacks and/or PSP stuff.
 

Durelle

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
645
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
NB, Canada
XP
1,012
Country
Canada
Thanks. Since I'm going brand new, it'll probably be a 2k.
I'm sure you will enjoy it, the 2k models have internal memory which is why you don't need a memory card to mod it. After you miss out all you need is a sd2vita, . Which basically a micro SD card adapter which fits on the game slot. I personally use a 128gb card and no issues
 

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
I'm sure you will enjoy it, the 2k models have internal memory which is why you don't need a memory card to mod it. After you miss out all you need is a sd2vita, . Which basically a micro SD card adapter which fits on the game slot. I personally use a 128gb card and no issues
Yeah, internal memory is the entire reason I bought a PSP Go, because back in 2012 when I bought it I was tired of using a 2Gb Memory Stick in my old PSP 3000
 

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
Lol I hear is, although I got a microSD to produce adapter for my 2000 model and on my go I think I bought a 32 GB card which was expensive and at the time
Battle Network 6 on a non-scratched screen bigger than the touch pad on my laptop will be nice.
 

Reaga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1,135
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
United States
For bn6 on the Vita you will need to run adrenaline (PSP) and use the same GBA emulator as your pspgo. Want me to test it for you?
If you want. I thought the Vita already had a virtual PSP though, what's Adrenaline? It can't be the emulator since you said I'd be using the same one (GPSP Kai)
 

Durelle

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
645
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
NB, Canada
XP
1,012
Country
Canada
Adrenaline is basically the PSP is which runs on the Vita, in comparison it's like vWii on a WiiU. And yes the Vita does have a emulator for GBA but the audio screws up alot and frame drops. Gbsp kai runs amazing tough as your use to on your go
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    thehawksfuckingdead7 @ thehawksfuckingdead7: ps1 games are wild man