Things to be carefull when buying a SEcond HAND XBOX360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by h3l, Aug 10, 2008.

  1. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    I´m thinking about getting a second hand xbox360 with a chip, what do i need to be carefull about?
     


  2. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean 'chip'?

    You don't need a mod chip to play backups.
     
  3. Tragedies

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry to go a bit off topic, but what do you mean prime? Can a user just put a backup and it will work immediately? O-o
     
  4. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you have to flash your dvd drive first.

    I think h3l thinks you need a modchip to play backups on the 360 but you don't, that is the only reason i can think of when he said 'chip'
     
  5. Tragedies

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh, ok. If you flash your drive, can you restore it to original factory settings later on? E.g if you want to sell your 360?

    And I assume you cant play Live with a backup?
     
  6. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, and yes.
     
  7. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    yes a modchip soldered into the xbox360, í have already asked him why and what modchip it is, i´m waiting for reply....

    Meanwhile , what do i need to know more?


    he just told me he had a 120GB HD (that fell in the ground) so he got a 20 GB HD



    what can i asking him more about the xbox360 ??
     
  8. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to let you know: You do not need a modchip to play backups h3l
     
  9. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    Some newer versions require a chip to be soldered on to allow write access to the dvd drive in the Xbox 360, mine did. Though you can remove the chip after you've flashed the drive.
     
  10. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, but it is no modchip.

    Anyways, ask if it has been banned or has had a RROD.
     
  11. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    ok Prime! thnks for the help i will i´ll post here then
     
  12. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Not anymore. 79 drives can be flashed totally by software now. No need for passkey.
     
  13. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    The guy who´s selling doesn´t seem to understand much, said it´s a BLACK xbox360 and the other guy who installed the drive told him it was better to change the dvd drive to.

    So now he offers me a Black Xbox360 with a modchip and a changed dvd drive, thats all i know!

    How can i identify the drive? any ideia?
    ..and the xbox version and the "chip"?
     
  14. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Seems pretty shady
     
  15. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree, this sounds like a bad idea!
     
  16. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    yes i´ve decided not to buy from this guy.

    sold the wii , and with the money look for another xbox360.

    but all this RROD talk scares me a little, even with the new Falcon it still happends?


    Ps. i knew that after super mario, brawl and mario kart the wii was over for me. the E3 conference just confirmed that [​IMG]
     
  17. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The falcons are LESS likely to RROD.

    But that doesn't mean it won't.
     
  18. h3l
    OP

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    if i get it flash and get a ROD i´m F"#$"#" right?

    or can i flash it back to original?
     
  19. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can flash it but to the original firmware
     
  20. Jordan10la

    Member Jordan10la GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait wait wait! I can play pirated games on my 360 without hard modding it? Seriously? Am I getting trolled? If true with it I cannot play online? Is this what I'm hearing?
     

Share This Page