They don't sell EZ Flash 3 in 1 shells do they >_>?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by DarkMario616, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well I have a white 3 in 1 but since I'm changing the housing for my DS lite soon, it'd look weird/stand out.

    They don't sell the housings for the ez flash 3 in 1s, right?
     


  2. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    I've never had a 3 in 1, but can't you use the outer part of the GBA slot cover?
     
  3. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you can use the shell from an actual GBA slot cover, looking at the insides of the EZFlash one, the top part has a slicing for the battery, so maybe it's possible if I you made a spot for the battery. Has anyone tried anything like this?
     
  4. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    What have you got to lose?
     
  5. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yah, might as well try it. I never took apart the EZFlash, is the MOBO attached to the bottom or it's a separate piece? Once my casing for the DSL arrives, I'll try the replacement for the GBA Slot cover.
     
  6. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    It is the wrong shape. You will have to hack your DSL dust cover completely...
     
  7. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see how, if it's just the insides that needs the hacking, because the outside will fit just like a regular dust cover.
     
  8. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I did. I cut a lot up out of the GBA slot cover, plus used a file to thin down some plastic for the battery. Whole process took an hour or two, and I had to use 10-minute resin to hold it shut. But, it's not coming undone. Ever.
     
  9. dragon574444

    Member dragon574444 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the inside of the dust cover will need to be modified. I tried. And failed.
     
  10. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Post results if you go through with it, I was thinking of doing the same thing once I get a 3 in 1.
     
  11. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Will do, I just don't know what tools I should use to "carve" the inside plastic that won't destroy it.

    Any ideas :3?
     
  12. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Pointed wire cutters and a standard nail file. That's all I used.

    EDIT: Found the results, as proof.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    That case and mod is so bad ass :3
     
  14. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I might be selling it, actually. I plan on getting a DSi, rendering that useless to me.
     
  15. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I meant your DS case as well, unless you meant selling both the EZFlash and DSL, but I think you just meant the former.
     
  16. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Meh, both. I won't need either if I get a DSi. Oh, and that's just a skin on the DS, which is held on with the same stuff I used to tack the new EZFlash housing shut. So neither are coming off. xD

    EDIT: Do you think that DS, the EZFlash, and an M3 Real would be a good trade for a DSi?
     
  17. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
  18. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I would tell him to throw in 10 or 15 bucks just for an extra profit (DSL = 120, M3 = 20, EZ = 20, 160 + shipping costs...165-170)

    He will think he's getting the better end of the deal anyways :3...

    Unless this is a close friend >_> then again who cares in this economy xD
     
  19. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    It would most likely be a local deal through Kijiji.
     
  20. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Would you mind taking a picture of what you used (for the pliers/wire cutter at least)? I have a file though.
     

Share This Page