There is no Web Browser that work only with R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by pwnazar, Jan 22, 2007.

Jan 22, 2007
  1. pwnazar
    OP

    Newcomer pwnazar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, i've just bought a R4 DS, an it is fu***** awesome!! And i leave here my question, there is any Web Browser to work on the R4, only using him and without the need of any Slot 2 cart? I know that the Ds Browser Opera only work with this, but can we hope to get a patch to run only in R4?
     
  2. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, sorry. Slot2 device required
     
  3. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    As of right now, no.

    EDIT: beat me to it :/
     
  4. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be honest though, if you're near a Wifi spot, you're also near a computer [​IMG]

    edit: just remembered some macdonalds have Nintendo Wifi... but then again, why would you wanna browse the internet in macdonalds? infact, why would you want to goto macdonalds in the first place? [​IMG]
     
  5. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, you need RAM access
     
  6. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    The is okiwi, but who knows when the guy will release the beta.
     
  7. zatelli

    Member zatelli GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Always on the move...
    Country:
    France
    It isn't something specific to the R4, the Opera browser needs a lot of memory to run & the RAM expansion which is 32MB adds up to the DS built-in 4 MB of RAM in order to run that browser. A homebrew application which goes by the codename: Okiwi, should allow you to browse the internet for free. Supposedly, its developer should release a demo shortly.
    I think it should be smart to buy the real browser or wait for a third party RAM pack as it's apossible that future games might take advantage of said ram cart.
     
  8. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. pwnazar
    OP

    Newcomer pwnazar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    Ok, thanks to all, in fact i have a GBA Slot 1 flash cart, it is the XG Flash 2 with Slim Loader III with 128Mb cart. Can i use it to run the DS Browser?
     
  10. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    No, the ram cart hack was only made for the M3 + SC
     
  11. pwnazar
    OP

    Newcomer pwnazar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil

    [​IMG]

    Thanks man, i hope we can get our hands on the okiwi very soon!
     
  12. kirra

    Member kirra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any third party RAM expansion paks planned? I know Ewin made a rumble one, I wonder if they'll make a RAM one...
     
  13. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes eWin are planning to sell a RAM pak also. Should retail for under $10 (USD).
     
  14. ydnar64

    Newcomer ydnar64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    It would be much more fun and useful to just use a computer. WiFi on the DS is more useful for gaming then internet browsing... However pushing the limits is always fun. [​IMG]
     
  15. N3CR0P57

    Newcomer N3CR0P57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    True, but....... My PC isn't in my garage when I'm working on my motorcycle,............My PC isn't in my bedroom when I'm lying in bed,.............My PC isn't in the bathroom when i'm taking a dump. You get the picture

    And why would I go to McDonalds? Mmmmmmmmmmm, McDeli sandwich, Mmmmmmmmm.

    I sure wish someone would crack opera for use with the xgflash (I tried it with my xgflash 256 and had no luck)
     
  16. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose it has its niche markets... for those toilet swelling DS users [​IMG]

    Anyways $10 for RAM expansion, that's dead cheap?! Hope it won't need a patch and runs like the original hardware. No words on estimated release though I guess?
     
  17. pwnazar
    OP

    Newcomer pwnazar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    I`ve allready have a Sony Vaio Notebook, but i dont bring it arround with me all the time, the fact for having a web browser on the DS is to view your email, news and stuff in any place with a small device. Thats is the key, i wont be surfing on the internet for hour using a Ds. Get the picture?
     
  18. bmonkey

    Newcomer bmonkey Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page