Hacking The ultimate list of NTRBoot compatible flashcards

CobyBE

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 16, 2018
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Belgium
XP
40
Country
Belgium
Everything went perfect! I can confirm that when flashing NTRBoothax to an Acekard 2i using a DSi Lite that you can use this flash cart on a 3DS 11.6 to install boot9strap :)
Was a bit fiddly with the button combo and the magnet ( I only had a tiny magnet that I had to tape on top of the 3DS :P)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Technicmaster0

noX1609

B9S freak ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
474
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
421
Country
Germany
I think that the following .nds file should work: https://github.com/ntrteam/flashcart_core/issues/33#issuecomment-352672103. The .firm file is somewhere on that page, too.

Hmm tested the version you linked a few minutes ago but i only get the Message "Flashcard setup Failed - Press B" when selecting Ace3DS+

Is there already another file i could test to change the blue card to a ntrbootcard?

If not is any of the flashcards that are compatible and cheap available in Germany?
Because i need it to hack 2 n3ds of a friend but he's only 1 week left in town because he's here for holiday and life far away from my house.
 

lallilulelo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
118
Country
Argentina
What does anyone know about the compatibility on this one? Can't find any info online. It's like the R4i Gold but says Revolution for DS; V1.41; and the website is R4i-gold.HK which seems really sketchy.

tN3QsYC.jpg

HHWu0
 
Last edited by lallilulelo,

headnoodle

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
31
Country
United Kingdom
I have an r4 rts revision D but every time I try and run the bootflasher nds to put on Ntrboot, it says it has completed but if I reboot my 3ds I can still run games on my r4. Surely that isn’t right?
 

mad567

D. Gregar
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
508
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
London, UK
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
324
Country
Greece
Hey guys,

I'm got a new 2ds xl with 11.6.0-39E. I was away from the Nintendo family since dslite era, so practically I am a noob. I was wondering if I can install custom firmware on it using this flash cart. It has the number 5 on the back at the golden part of the motherboard. Thank you in advance for your reply.



R4i-Gold-Old.jpg
 

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,270
Trophies
1
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
2,806
Country
Gambia, The
Hey guys,

I'm got a new 2ds xl with 11.6.0-39E. I was away from the Nintendo family since dslite era, so practically I am a noob. I was wondering if I can install custom firmware on it using this flash cart. It has the number 5 on the back at the golden part of the motherboard. Thank you in advance for your reply.



R4i-Gold-Old.jpg
is it from r4ids.com or r4ids.cn?
 

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,270
Trophies
1
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
2,806
Country
Gambia, The
  • Like
Reactions: kalabaw

Sumea

Disco Ninja Frog
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,563
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Turku
XP
758
Country
Finland
One small note from one user:
I dunno how pedantic this is but to me it is important notification for SOME people, as it is kinda important to me too:

When acekard 2i is flashed with NTRboot, acekard 2i's original software is still intact but older version is used probably taking less space. This just reels back the DSi and 3DS firmware compatibility to oldest possible, breaking it's compatibility with just about all current stock DSi and 3DS systems. Luma3DS compatibility is because of overridden whitelist.

This in the end means, that aside Luma3DS, compatibility with original DS and DSlite systems is still maintained, so overall keeping Acekard 2i flashed is very fine thing to do, as it is is also original DS compatible.

TL;DR: Aside Luma3DS, flashed acekard also is original DS and DSlite compatible. Important if you have one (and I have three).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Technicmaster0

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,270
Trophies
1
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
2,806
Country
Gambia, The
One small note from one user:
I dunno how pedantic this is but to me it is important notification for SOME people, as it is kinda important to me too:

When acekard 2i is flashed with NTRboot, acekard 2i's original software is still intact but older version is used probably taking less space. This just reels back the DSi and 3DS firmware compatibility to oldest possible, breaking it's compatibility with just about all current stock DSi and 3DS systems. Luma3DS compatibility is because of overridden whitelist.

This in the end means, that aside Luma3DS, compatibility with original DS and DSlite systems is still maintained, so overall keeping Acekard 2i flashed is very fine thing to do, as it is is also original DS compatible.

TL;DR: Aside Luma3DS, flashed acekard also is original DS and DSlite compatible. Important if you have one (and I have three).
U sure about that? I read everywhere that it only works on CFWed 3DS systems, nothing of it working with DS lite.
 

Sumea

Disco Ninja Frog
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,563
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Turku
XP
758
Country
Finland
U sure about that? I read everywhere that it only works on CFWed 3DS systems, nothing of it working with DS lite.

Yeah, I mean, nobody has tested it or anything it seems but I have, with my consoles and my flashed Acekard 2i is functional on normal DS systems. Like said it seems that the NTRboot for acekard includes the original, very first acekard 2i software along the NTRboot stuff.

I mean there is not point in taking video really unless I really, REALLY have to but thus far people say it just because that is the only way acekards were tested.

The main point is that when inserted to normal console acekard still functions 100% like ver.1 software acekard 2i. It works in Luma because luma undoes blacklist for DS titles that exists in official firmware. DSi has the same thing and it got updated on both with system updates, but DSlite and "phat" as we used to say do not have this.

It works. If anyone else has flashed acekard and old DS lites arounds just smack them in and see for yourself, you'll be pleasantly surprised.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Technicmaster0

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,270
Trophies
1
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
2,806
Country
Gambia, The
Yeah, I mean, nobody has tested it or anything it seems but I have, with my consoles and my flashed Acekard 2i is functional on normal DS systems. Like said it seems that the NTRboot for acekard includes the original, very first acekard 2i software along the NTRboot stuff.

I mean there is not point in taking video really unless I really, REALLY have to but thus far people say it just because that is the only way acekards were tested.

The main point is that when inserted to normal console acekard still functions 100% like ver.1 software acekard 2i. It works in Luma because luma undoes blacklist for DS titles that exists in official firmware. DSi has the same thing and it got updated on both with system updates, but DSlite and "phat" as we used to say do not have this.

It works. If anyone else has flashed acekard and old DS lites arounds just smack them in and see for yourself, you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks for the information, I've updated the OP.
There was wrong information everywhere a few months ago. People thought that the r4i-sdhc.com cards did not have a timebomb, didn't know which cards from r4i-sdhc.com/r4isdhc.com are compatible, suggested people who own cards with a switch to reflash the card etc. I'm not surprised that there is still stuff that is not known widely but I don't want to spread misinformation either. It's good that you tested it first hand.

The AK2i can detect if it's run by an original DS or DSi/3DS. Luma reads the cartridge like an original DS would, not like a normal DSi/3DS would. That's how it works.
 

ArkhamK27

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
71
Country
Mexico
Hello again
I was searching for a compatible flashcard and I found this page http://www.game4deal.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=592
Which seems to sell r4 for a lower price (even the ones with pre ntrboot)
Why is this so?
What page would you recomend me?
Thx

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hello again
I was searching for a compatible flashcard and I found this page http://www.game4deal.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=592
Which seems to sell r4 for a lower price (even the ones with pre ntrboot)
Why is this so?
What page would you recomend me?
Thx
Found out
You have to buy 10 of them as min
So, which US store wiould you recomend?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: https://youtu.be/m_6dkzL4VS4