1. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    Indeed, but that's not what I said. Can it downgrade a 3DS on 10.7 to 9.2 that doesn't have a functional browser or has the browser nag? No. 4.0 is definitely going to make updating exploitable systems easier -- just run the Smash ROM after booting SysNAND with up held. Or just install SysUpdater and run it. No need to keep rxTools hanging around anymore just for Dev/Pasta Mode updating. However, it's never going to completely eliminate all uses for simulating an actual cart.
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, May 28, 2016
  2. leonshong

    leonshong Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Fabulous liomajor!! I tried your payloads on 6 consoles (all of them are N3DSLL, with 2 Toshiba NANDs and 4 Samsung NANDs) for more than 20 times and all works!!

    Yet a small problem happened to me: the LR/RL combo keys refused to work on my consoles, maybe my bad short fat fingers? whatever... Not a big deal to me, because I prefer the updown/downup combo keys at all.

    Thank you for your excellent work, you are the best!! :bow::bow::bow::bow::bow::bow:

     
    satelman likes this.
  3. 20mark

    20mark GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    Italy
    this thread thanks to liomajor is GOLD to gateway users.

    Please FreeCFW fanatics step aside.
     
    satelman and AlucardjX like this.
  4. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    I hadn't noticed the d-pad keys. liomajor must have updated it since the last i checked it. Well, there should definitely be something that works for everyone now, I would think.
     
  5. Temarile

    Temarile (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,132
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @liomajor you are doing a great job!! We are thankful for what you did!
     
    LinkFan16 likes this.
  6. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Can Sky3DS play eShop games or enable easy cheating? No. They each have their uses, but Gateway now gained another one. You can't compare two things that serve different purposes. It's like comparing a knife and a spoon and saying that just looking at the ability to get food to your mouth, the spoon wins. But if you look at the ability to break food into smaller pieces, the knife wins. Here, the spoon just turned into a spork. Still not good for cutting food, but now can pick up soup AND spaghetti.
     
  7. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    That's exactly the point. They each serve a purpose. There's no need to be bashing either. I own and use both for different purposes. Some people just need to eat a Snickers already ;) .
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, May 28, 2016
  8. AlucardjX

    AlucardjX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Italy

    where where???i removed from my sd card only safe9installer.dat and armoloaderhax.bin from liomajor,what i have to replace now???please tell!
     
  9. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    The A9LH release is still where it was. Right HERE

    There are also a ton of hotkey payloads. Those are HERE

    @CreAtor135, I think it would be a good idea to front page the hotkey payloads post too now. Please consider it.

    It works with all systems now, and there's plenty of hotkeys to choose from. Enjoy.
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, May 28, 2016
    AlucardjX likes this.
  10. AlucardjX

    AlucardjX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Italy
    it works it workssssssssssssssssssssssssssss great liomajor you are my hero!finally i can use again my fu.king GW card!!!! :D

    ahah so again super 3d stable not working until i close the lid ahaha damned gw team! :)

     
    Last edited by AlucardjX, May 28, 2016
  11. Nirmonculus

    Nirmonculus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    For the hotkey payloads on stage1, do I have to rename them? Sorry, quite unfamiliar to how this works. I just choose which stage1 I want and rename it to payload_stage1.bin ?

    Got my OTP now, will proceed to ARM9 installation with the payloads
     
  12. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, just copy over the one you want to use and name it "payload_stage1.bin"

    But make sure you copy all the stage2.bin files. I can't stress that enough after what happened to one guy -- only copied the GW payload over and got stuck.
     
    Nirmonculus likes this.
  13. stussy1

    stussy1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    anyone get this working on a N3DS aus version
    im getting a hang on black screen after gateway screen
    card out i get to gateway menu
     
  14. urherenow

    urherenow GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878
    Country:
    United States
    Hold L as soon as you see the red flash. Did it boot to the GW menu? If so, it's working just fine and you probably have a rednand enstead of an emunand.
     
  15. stussy1

    stussy1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    so i have to go back to emunand yeah i have rednand
    i will try that
     
  16. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    That would be it. GW doesn't do RedNAND. I really wish that had been left out of the A9LH guide completely (it nearly got me stuck on 2.1 once), or at least had been mentioned in the proper context, instead of being so over-emphasized. So many people switched when they didn't need to and/or it wasn't in their best interest.
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, May 28, 2016
    urherenow, satelman, cearp and 2 others like this.
  17. StevenLexon

    StevenLexon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Switzerland
    i just want to know if i delete my emunand i could also use liomajor's files or not? and could u explain how to set it up? i'm confusion. thanks very much.
     
  18. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    Yeah, I don't like either how it kind of forces the user to the setup it thinks perfect. Another example is getting rid of emu/red NAND at the end. Not necessarily everyone wants that (and people, don't enumerate the pros of sysNAND vs emu/red NAND, I know them and they don't convince me...).
     
  19. stussy1

    stussy1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    that was it thank u @Kazuma77 and thanks to all that made this possible :)
     
    Last edited by stussy1, May 28, 2016
  20. Kazuma77

    Kazuma77 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Country:
    United States
    GW works just fine with SysNAND. The first archive, copy the entire "a9lh" folder over, rename arm9loaderhax.bin on your SD card to arm9loaderhax.bin.bak temporarily, and copy the arm9loaderhax.bin over. Second archive, rename one of these (the one you want to use) to payload_stage1.bin and copy it to the "a9lh" folder on your SD card (say yes when asked to overwrite). Now just boot the system and hit select when prompted. When it's done, you can move the arm9loaderhax.bin to the "a9lh" folder and rename the original back. This will put it on your second hotkey, in case you want to switch hotkeys later -- you can simply copy another payload_stage1.bin over and re-run it. Just a suggestion though. You can make anything you want "a9lh/arm9loaderhax.bin" and it will run on the second hotkey.

    Now if you did want GW to run as default, you would swap the names payload_stage2.bin and payload_stage2_2.bin (you still want both on the card). However, trying to hit two keys at once can royally mess up Luma's chain loader and BootCTR9 (Luma does seem to work well with hotkeys if run from A though, for whatever reason, and you can change the delay on BootCTR9, so if you set it to 3000 from 1000, it should give you enough time to release the A9LH hotkey and hit a boot manager one). Still not recommended, but for those who want to go there, some ideas to make it go more smoothly.

    Exactly. I always tell people to restore SysNAND_original.bin to EmuNAND instead. They can always delete it later if they decide they don't want it, and don't need anything off of it. 9.2 is a nice, useful, and fully hackable FW version. Retroarch almost got blocked last update. Who's to say what's next? I'll keep it around in case homebrew needs it in the future.
     
    Last edited by Kazuma77, May 28, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gateway, status,