Hacking The State of emuNAND (including Gateway), Homebrew, and Sky3DS on 10.4

AceEvo55

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
123
Country
Canada
As the title states, there have been reports of ReiNAND users being able to update successfully to 10.4 emunand without issue. Gateway can boot into emunand on 10.4, but multirom menu support has been broken. I realize that this is not particularly notable, but with the struggle on N3DS of 9.6+ emunand, I thought it was worth the post.

Of course, if you're planning on downgrading, do not update to 10.4

Saw a couple people, including myself, asking around about CFW/GW compatibility. Thought this thread might save some questions!

Edit:
A more comprehensive, easy to read, list format.

Gateway - Works!
From the Gateway website:
We are back again with another quick update! Here’s what’s new:
* Latest emunand support (10.4) for both o3ds and n3ds



For reference or anyone wondering, GW multirom will always break if HomeMenu title is updated since GW hooks into it for their loader.

ReiNAND - Works! (Note: the string is broken, it says Ver instead of Rei, but is otherwise functional)
I confirm emunand 10.4 on ReiNand works!

RxTools - Works on O3DS

RXtool working ;) on O3ds
everything work

Cakes - Works!

Cakes also works on 10.4 on n3ds

I can confirm CakesFW loads the new update just fine.

SKY3DS+ - Works! (confirmation posted on Sky3DS+ site, cannot be linked here. I realize that this one was a bit of a given, but hey, someone would have asked eventually)

Also note that NTR now works on O3DS and N3DS

NTR is working now on N3DS & O3DS 10.4U just download the latest BootNTR
https://gbatemp.net/threads/release...time-save-feature.385142/page-64#post-5992133

Also, I can vouch for it, his build worked on my US n3DS (doesn't always boot first try, but such is the nature of NTR).

3D banner version of NTR:

HBL (CIA) now works on both N3DS & O3DS:

All one has to do is hold Y while running it so it downloads the newest payload and saves it to the SD card, and it should work fine.


Additionally:

Ironfall requires an update before it can be launched, patching ironhax.

Ironhax is dead guys
lFaPqnz.jpg


Browserhax has been patched on N3DS, but the browser was not updated on O3DS.

Memchunkhax2 is patched



Cheers everyone,
Ace
 
Last edited by AceEvo55,

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
NTR is dead on 10.4 for now, as is HBL launching from home menu (CIA). Both need reworked, if it's possible, for home menu 10.4.
 

AceEvo55

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
123
Country
Canada
NTR is dead on 10.4 for now, as is HBL launching from home menu (CIA). Both need reworked, if it's possible, for home menu 10.4.

Thanks for the info, I will add that to first post.

So we can update the N3DS to it?

If you're using Gateway, it's best to wait until a new launcher is released (likely tomorrow).
If you're using ReiNAND, it's safe to do so.
Anything else is currently unconfirmed.
 

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
All CFW users on Cakes/rxtools (O3DS) and Rei are going to update to 10.4 fine. You will break other things though mentioned in OP. Not worth it yet as HANS allows eshop access on 10.3 for now.

As likely as it is for NTR support in coming days/weeks, as well as a new HBL payload (for HBL home menu CIA), it is not guaranteed till it's out.
 
Last edited by Audioboxer,

Jax

Pip Pip Cheerioink!
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
4,132
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
L.A.V.
XP
1,036
Country
Portugal
I updated my emunand but now it says "Ver 10.4" instead of Rei 10.4". Before updating it was "Rei 10.3".

Other than this, everything works.

Is this normal?
 

Insidious611

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
166
Trophies
0
XP
330
Country
United States
Hmm. HBL from CIA doesn't work, you say? So that means there's no confirmed way to load HBL from a 10.4 emunand atm? Or does shufflehax still work?
 

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
Hmm. HBL from CIA doesn't work, you say? So that means there's no confirmed way to load HBL from a 10.4 emunand atm? Or does shufflehax still work?

Well you wouldn't be able to have a CIA installed on 10.4 anyway without signatures disabled. The HBL as a CIA has only ever really been of interest to those already on CFW. It's really just a shortcut to prevent having to reboot into a bootloader/using a hack entry point like browserhax.

The real issue is browserhax not currently working, nor Ironhax, as entry points for vanilla 10.4. Browserhax might be able to be fixed by smea, Ironhax is dead.
 
Last edited by Audioboxer,

Insidious611

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
166
Trophies
0
XP
330
Country
United States
Rrriiiight... You're not getting what I'm saying at all? :wtf:.
I *am* already on CFW...

And I *have* that CIA installed...

My question is, is there currently a way, from within the emuNAND, to access the HBL (so as to, for example, run svdt against something installed in emuNAND) on 10.4?
 
Last edited by Insidious611,
D

Deleted User

Guest
For reference or anyone wondering, GW multirom will always break if HomeMenu title is updated since GW hooks into it for their loader.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/S2L9j5A.mp4