The simplist Wii Mod?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tazz212, Oct 9, 2009.

Oct 9, 2009

The simplist Wii Mod? by tazz212 at 10:40 PM (705 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. tazz212
    OP

    Newcomer tazz212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello all,

    Looks like I will be getting a Wii this weekend, been a while since I've owned one and I'm a little out of the loop.

    I am planning on softmodding my Wii as soon as I receive it.

    I've been reading many of the FAQs and tutorials on the site and all seems easy and excellent.

    However, I have a friend who has just recently softmodded his Wii and I asked him for some advice.

    I sent him the link to one of the tutorials found on this site, because it was the one I was planning on using. He replied back telling me that there is a lot of unnecessary tools that I would be adding to my Wii, for no real reason. He cited BootMii as one of those tools that wouldn't be required.

    All I'm looking at doing is using the HBC and a Bootloader, to boot Wii and GC backups.

    Is there a minimalist method that I should go about using? In other words, what is the best route to take to achieve what I want while installing the smallest amount of software. Do I NEED BootMii?

    Thanks.
     
  2. erikk1

    Member erikk1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, bootmii is not required....


    UNTILL YOU BRICK YOUR WII.

    Good luck [​IMG]

    Anyway:

    Hackmii to install HBC
    Get cIOS 38 rev14 installed (need to patch ios36 for that) (need to temp-patch ios15 for that) (might need to delete stub 249 first)
    Install a loader through wad manager

    I think that's it.
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    ahaha bootmii as an unnecessary tool?

    good one.
     
  4. tazz212
    OP

    Newcomer tazz212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, so I'm getting that idea that I need BootMii.

    Thanks
     
  5. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,525
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    No... you don't NEED bootmii...

    But anyone with half a brain WANTS bootmii. If you're able to to install it as boot2 (good luck with that if you're just now buying a new one off the shelf) then do it. It is also wise to install it as IOS as well!

    What you don't need (depending on your intentions) are preloader, startpatch, and cIOSCORP.
     
  6. Okami Wolfen

    Member Okami Wolfen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    What do Preloader and Startpatch do?
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    enable system menu hacks, look em up on wiibrew
     

Share This Page