1. simsimsim

    OP simsimsim GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    Canada
    I love checkpoint and I'm very grateful towards the author for making this tool. However, I must absolutely complain about the new feature that makes you restore a backed-up save when you press the confirm button, as opposed to the original holding down R only.

    I just lost 40 hours of progress because I'm still quite unused to the new change (I just updated Checkpoint) and originally you need to press A to get into the game to back up/restore save. Unfortunately I pressed A too quickly or accidentally held it a bit too long, and checkpoint RESTORED the save when I was trying to make a back up. The last time I backed it up was 40 hours ago...

    So yeah, I'm extremely pissed right now. It's 100% my fault, of course. However I must say this is a HUGE oversight on the part of the author as well because WHY ON EARTH would you make it so easy to accidentally restore a save when the majority of people probably only ever use the backup feature??

    I don't want to sound like an ungrateful prick who whines when enjoying a free app. But I really really don't want to see others suffering from the same issues. I just completely lost any motivation to play this game again because it's extremely grindy and I cannot possibly see myself putting another 40 hours doing the same thing again. This issue could 100% have been avoided had we sticked to the original way. I really don't see the point of making this change anyway. If it has to change, then please make the default B press into BACKUP and not fucking restore.

    Hope the author will take this into account, and everyone else, please be extremely careful and do everything slowly unlike myself.
     
    Last edited by simsimsim, Dec 22, 2019
  2. MasterJ360

    MasterJ360 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,106
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to hear man I honestly wouldn't know what to do if I lost my 60hour xeno 2 save and I grinded my ass off going through google&gamefaqs for item/materials/monster locations before a save editor was even made. Big progressed saves like that should have multiple copies across devices to be super safe.
    I use JKSV pretty much the same as checkpoint, but the Backup button is (A) and Restore is (Y)
     
    simsimsim likes this.
  3. AizenSousuke

    AizenSousuke Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Singapore
    Isn't it A for select a game, then L for backup?
     
  4. MichiS97

    MichiS97 "Leftist snowflake milennial"
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,727
    Country:
    Germany
    You press A to select your game, then L to make a backup and R to restore. That's how it has been for ages now.
     
  5. simsimsim

    OP simsimsim GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    Canada
    not anymore. the new version it's A to restore, and L and R are unchanged. I'm so used to press A to select the game but this time it just restored the save.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    haha yeah really sucks. I grinded so much and that's why I thought about making a backup, who would have thought that that would be my undoing lol.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    my bad, I'm still used to the PS terminology. I meant A not B.
     
  6. Mthodmn101

    Mthodmn101 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    634
    Country:
    United States
    if you press A on a game, it should highlight 'New..' to backup a new save, it shouldnt highlight a previous backup up save
     
  7. simsimsim

    OP simsimsim GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, but I already backed up the save once before, so I moved to the previous save to back it up, but I accidentally clicked A again and it restored the last save... :(
     
    Last edited by simsimsim, Dec 23, 2019
  8. pr0dukt

    pr0dukt Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Brutal.... I almost say these kinds of goofs, warrant having one of those annoying 'are you sure you wanna...' confirmation pop ups on the restore side of things. Obviously like OP said, the app is primarily used for backing up, and quickly backing up game saves, leaves little in the way of totally screwing yourself. However Restoring 100% can and will if you're not fuckall careful about how you go about jamming buttons.

    A confirmation restore window really wouldn't hurt to have. Hell you could even leave an option to disable the window from a key combo or something, for those who can't be arsed with it.. Just a thought as well, as I've done this myself with a Tales of Vesperia DE save file, once. My saving grace however, was that I luckily had made a backup the day before, and only lost about 2 hours worth of progress. However I get how frustrating shit like this is. In these cases, It almost feels like we are being punished for having such convenient QoL homebrew tools just because we can, in the first place. Which makes me want to just blame Nintendo and their vindictive gods for my own folly. :P
     
    simsimsim likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - checkpoint, EXTREMELY, careful