The Legend of Zelda : The Wind Waker (emulation quality test)

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,083
Country
United Kingdom
I have never played this game, so I might do a lets play.(probably not)

My specs:
intel i7 3770k clocked at @4.22
16GB Corsair Vengeance Memory (1866mhz)
Graphics card GTX 670
Not running the emulator of my SSD (OS Drive). Dont think running the emulator on the SSD would make any difference.
How does this look?
Recorded with camtasia

Video settings:
Internal Resolution x2
4x SSAA Anti-Aliasing
Anisotropic Filtering x4
Fullscreen resolution 1280x1024 camtasia recording resolution)
codec: techsmith at 100% quality
How does this look?
 

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,083
Country
United Kingdom
Well it looks fine really. But WW isnt really a good test of that because its cell shaded. At least thats my opinion, but it looks fine for your specs.
What test do you suggest :)?
I just wanted to see how well Wind Waker looks really. I know what my PC is capable of lol.
 

SnAQ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
669
Trophies
0
XP
1,623
Country
If you haven´t played The Wind Waker i really suggest you to do it, because it´s an amazing game!

Im looking forward to this fall (?) when the remake Wind Waker HD will be released so i get a chance to play the game again :)
 

Nah3DS

Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
3,858
Trophies
0
XP
2,858
Country
United States
Video settings:
Internal Resolution x2
4x SSAA Anti-Aliasing
Anisotropic Filtering x4
Fullscreen resolution 1280x1024 camtasia recording resolution)
codec: techsmith at 100% quality
How does this look?
I really don't know for recording purposes, but only for emulation... I think you can do better with those specs
In that game, I get stable 60 fps with x3 IR, 1080p with only my 3570k (stock 3.8GHz) and no GPU (only using the HD4000)
 

Satangel

BEAST
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,280
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,344
Country
Belgium
Fuck's sake, that looks nice. Would be nice to see some actual gameplay though, but with such a BEAST set-up, it really shouldn't pose much of a problem.

Vids like these make me feel bad about my LoL addiction, which basically disables me from playing anything else than that....
 

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,083
Country
United Kingdom
I really don't know for recording purposes, but only for emulation... I think you can do better with those specs
In that game, I get stable 60 fps with x3 IR, 1080p with only my 3570k (stock 3.8GHz) and no GPU (only using the HD4000)
I can max out everything and still run it smooth. But for youtube, I didnt see the point :) Could go 4x native etc and still play and record smoothly. But I wanna keep it stable for Let's Plays and such.
Use Bandicam for less CPU usage.
Camtaisa recored takes much CPU.

I Have dxtory. I only use camtasia because of the ease of rendering and settings lol.
Too lazy to do colour correction or whatnot on Sony Vegas lol.

Fuck's sake, that looks nice. Would be nice to see some actual gameplay though, but with such a BEAST set-up, it really shouldn't pose much of a problem.

Vids like these make me feel bad about my LoL addiction, which basically disables me from playing anything else than that....
I actually feel I didnt maximize the hardware as much as I could :( With the next gen intel CPU with new socket around the corner, I feel shit that I upgraded now.
Probably going to get the GTX 7xx series graphics card by end of this year and catch up on the new intel socket in a year or two when its out.
 

ilman

Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,128
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Shibuya
XP
550
Country
As I said in the comments section of the vid, camtasia sucks out CPU usage big time and lags. Get Bandicam, or if you have fast HDD, you can run Fraps.
Heck, I get an average of 56 FPS on my laptop(with 2x IR, 2x AA and it's a Core [email protected] GHz). You should be able to record that thing at 60 FPS if you use something better to record.
Also, here's a trick if you really want to record with Camtasia. Record everything with Bandicam/Fraps/Dxtory, whatever and then play through the video while recording with Camtasia. Lags a lot less.
 

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,083
Country
United Kingdom
Btw what are ur settings on Camtasia?
Ur using C8 right?
Camtasia 8, yes. Recording at 30FPS because youtube limits it on 30 anyway.
As I said in the comments section of the vid, camtasia sucks out CPU usage big time and lags. Get Bandicam, or if you have fast HDD, you can run Fraps.
Heck, I get an average of 56 FPS on my laptop(with 2x IR, 2x AA and it's a Core [email protected] GHz). You should be able to record that thing at 60 FPS if you use something better to record.
Yes I could indeed. I have SSD as operating, one raid 0 setup and a 2TB drive for games and data.. fast enough drives to use fraps and such. But I mentioned above, due to the ease of editing I use camtasia.

edit: ilman, just saw your edit.
Yup could record with dxtory and edit with camtasia :) BUT..there is a but lol. When recording with dxtory, adding multiple audio channels is possible and camtasia doesnt pick it up. It picks up everything as 1 and editing audio would be hard like that. Sony Vegas picks it up fine.
 

MrShawnTRods

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2011
Messages
4,646
Trophies
0
XP
1,083
Country
United Kingdom
Got more random videos :):


Now a test from my 3DS video capture :)



Yes, I know about the aspect ratio. Some would like it the original way.. but me.. I like no black bars on the videos lol.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Already saw a review and it sucks
    Gift
  • Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    A bunch I different people I saw and laggy audio online play is a common occurrence
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Here's another video fog isn't being displayed properly on several games. Nintendo life also reported this. Water Temple in oot water reflection isn't emulated properly either the whole point of the gimmick of that room. Graphical glitches and poor emulation shouldn't be present at $30 bucks
    Gift
  • Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    You can't save ghost data either in Mario Kart 64. Wasn't an issue on VC for Wii and Wii U.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Even if they fix these issues I'm still not buying it. $30 for drip fed n64 games is fucking retarded. Their online service is still shit.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Youtube keeps pushing the Eternals trailer as the #1 recommendation. Fucking give it a rest already.
    Gift
  • Dakitten @ Dakitten:
    they really want you to know it is out there and is totes gonna be the bestest movie nobody ever asked for
    Gift
  • Dakitten @ Dakitten:
    until spider man a month afterward which will bury it into obscurity, anyways
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    We need some serious Warlock action if you ask me, not just random cocoons n'shit
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Hulk+Warlock, that's what I want
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    wtf they turned eternals into a movie is beyond me
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    money woulda been better spent doing a decent Inhumans origin story
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Hey mthrnite will you watch the new Dune?
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    yea it's sitting on the hard drive, gonna watch it with the boy
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    kinda wanna make him watch the lynch version first tho
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    you'll believe a very ugly man can fly!
    Gift
  • CORE @ CORE:
    It is all about the Spice...
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SG854 not only that look at how much you get on the sony side for around the same price
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    game pass costs more but you also get a huge amount of games and they're not drip fed
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    nintendo's offering was the worst deal but nobody cared because it was $20
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    now that it's $50, it's a really bad deal
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    also costing only $20 kinda excuses the poor online services a little bit, $50 demands better quality online
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    they should've just offered a better service to begin with and charged $50 from the beginning
    Gift
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: they should've just offered a better service to begin with and charged $50 from the beginning