Hacking The Legend of Heroes: Trails from Zero Evolution English patch

julianuf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
109
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,275
Country
United States
We made some changes to the game to force it to use a different font than the last release. Previously, Zero no Kiseki Evolution would use a different font when it encounted English characters versus the font it uses for Japanese script and special characters (♡, ☆, etc).
Pretty much this. Any time those characters popped up, you would have that entire line using this font, while the other lines used the original.
There's a music note on the right - that spacing was a bug due to buffer sizes that we've since fixed
2020-12-29-001324.jpg

Forcing the game to use this second font eliminates those scenarios where you have a text box with multiple different fonts. This font also has innate variable width already coded, so we are able to leverage it to eliminate textbox overflows.

The drawback is that the font is ugly as sin.

The font uses a 2 bit greyscale (so 4 colors - white, black, and two shades of grey), with a 16px height. I tried inserting various different fonts and nothing looked anywhere as decent as the default one.

I wrote a program to insert fonts into this format. Here's some fun screenshots...
Suikoden 2 font!
2021-06-11-171932.jpg


Don't remember what this was
2021-06-11-162749.jpg


Super legend boy I think?
2021-06-15-123122.jpg

Some bulkier font..
2021-06-15-140304.jpg

Now, I'm not a graphic or font expert. But the font file format being only 2 bits (4 colors) makes it really restrictive. When you try resizing fonts down to 16px height, you get a lot of levels of grey. You pretty much need a font that was created specifically for these limitations, which is what this default font probably was.

I think the Suikoden 2 font looked pretty decent, since it only had 2 colors (white and black), but that was an 8 px height font, which is clearly too small.

Another drawback, sadly, is that things that were based on the original fixed width size, like ability name or location names being centered on a box at the top, look off. Without a proper vita debugger it is very difficult to fix those things. Maybe some day in the far future when Vita3k or another emulator is in a good state, someone can come back and fix some of these things up.
 

AllanFF

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
359
Country
Brazil
@julianuf

Maybe you can find some font you like on Romhacking (dot) net
They used to have an huge archive with fonts, back in the day when I was a regular there.
 

julianuf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
109
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,275
Country
United States
@julianuf

Maybe you can find some font you like on Romhacking (dot) net
They used to have an huge archive with fonts, back in the day when I was a regular there.
Interesting. I see a couple that could maybe work? I'll give it a shot tonight, but I'll have to see if I remember how my font inserter worked first lol.

edit: Actually, don't think any of these will work. Will look through them some more later.
 
Last edited by julianuf,

bloodfalco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,102
Country
Indonesia
I tried to patch using xdelta UI 1.0 but it got message bad xdelta. The details is this "
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: XD3_INVALID_INPUT".
Anything could help? I used FTP to get the decrypted file as per instructions in the readme but cannot patch the files
 
Last edited by bloodfalco,

Shenrai

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
409
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
999
Country
United States
I tried to patch using xdelta UI 1.0 but it got message bad xdelta. The details is this "
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: XD3_INVALID_INPUT".
Anything could help? I used FTP to get the decrypted file as per instructions in the readme but cannot patch the files

This error means that the files you are trying to patch aren't the ones the patch requires which likely means you didn't transfer them in their decrypted state. Are you sure you are transferring them after opening up the files by pressing Triangle and X to open it decrypted?
 

bloodfalco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,102
Country
Indonesia
This error means that the files you are trying to patch aren't the ones the patch requires which likely means you didn't transfer them in their decrypted state. Are you sure you are transferring them after opening up the files by pressing Triangle and X to open it decrypted?
Yes, I did. It is from ux0:/app/PCSG00042 right? I use Filezilla after that.
 

Shenrai

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
409
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
999
Country
United States
Yes, I did. It is from ux0:/app/PCSG00042 right? I use Filezilla after that.
data0.psarc, data1.psarc, and data2.psarc are from ux0:/app/PCSG00042. data.psarc and eboot.bin should come from /ux0:/patch/PCSG00042. I assume you are having issues patching data.psarc and eboot.bin.
 

bloodfalco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,102
Country
Indonesia
data0.psarc, data1.psarc, and data2.psarc are from ux0:/app/PCSG00042. data.psarc and eboot.bin should come from /ux0:/patch/PCSG00042. I assume you are having issues patching data.psarc and eboot.bin.
I picked up data.psarc and eboot.bin from ux0:/app/PCSG00042, I will try again and report ASAP
 

bloodfalco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,102
Country
Indonesia
data0.psarc, data1.psarc, and data2.psarc are from ux0:/app/PCSG00042. data.psarc and eboot.bin should come from /ux0:/patch/PCSG00042. I assume you are having issues patching data.psarc and eboot.bin.
I already perform another FTP and I copied decrypted files as per readme but my xdeltaUI always says bad xdelta
 

RKT9

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 16, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
34
Country
Philippines
Hi, Does this patch includes swapping X and O buttons? I want to use X as the confirm button. If not, is there a plugin to swap those?
 

ThatsMacky

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
280
Country
Canada
Hi, Does this patch includes swapping X and O buttons? I want to use X as the confirm button. If not, is there a plugin to swap those?
I know you already found a plug-in to swap the buttons and if I recall correctly, this was something that we looked into and thought we found the right command but it didn't work.
 

Eiyuden

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 1, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
83
Country
United States
Interesting. I see a couple that could maybe work? I'll give it a shot tonight, but I'll have to see if I remember how my font inserter worked first lol.

edit: Actually, don't think any of these will work. Will look through them some more later.
would using the font used in the Sky Evolution patches work? I know Crossbell Evo doesn't have a lot of the features Sky Evo has so I wouldn't doubt it if they are completely different internally, but still
 

julianuf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
109
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,275
Country
United States
would using the font used in the Sky Evolution patches work? I know Crossbell Evo doesn't have a lot of the features Sky Evo has so I wouldn't doubt it if they are completely different internally, but still
Zero was the first Evo game. And it seems to have the most archaic font.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eiyuden

Deleted member 577889

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
34
Country
United States
I'm confused... I haven't started TLOH series yet, but I know another group of translators had reworked these? Zero, Ao.

I am planning to play Trails in the Sky Evolution (english patched), Cold Steel on PC or PS Vita and I will most likely wait for the PC version of Nayuta. What about the rest of the series? What's the best version in terms of translation and how much do they differ? I'd really prefer portable play, especially for Zero, Ao and Sky.
 

Shenrai

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
409
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
999
Country
United States
I'm confused... I haven't started TLOH series yet, but I know another group of translators had reworked these? Zero, Ao.

I am planning to play Trails in the Sky Evolution (english patched), Cold Steel on PC or PS Vita and I will most likely wait for the PC version of Nayuta. What about the rest of the series? What's the best version in terms of translation and how much do they differ? I'd really prefer portable play, especially for Zero, Ao and Sky.

Geofront is the group that basically localized Zero/Ao while this group ported that translation into the vita version of Zero. There were other translations but Geofront is leaps and bounds better than the rest.

The best version of Sky is probably modded voices on PC (which are taken from the Evolution version) or the Evolution version on vita. There aren't too many differences between the PC version and the Vita Version but there are some minor gameplay elements added as well as cutscenes and so on.

The Zero/Ao Version with the Geofront Patch on PC is probably the best way to play them right now due to the HD textures and other enhancements provided by Geofront. The Evolution version does have some exclusive sidequests and mini games which the PC version does not have, however.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs