1. Tetsuo Shima

    OP Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,508
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry, my fault. The older files came from my previous installation. I also had an Atari Lynx core, from 4 July 2020. What happened to it?
    Can I keep it in the plugins pack? or will it cause some kind of conflicts?

    Edit: I just saw it was renamed to handy
     
    Last edited by Tetsuo Shima, Jan 28, 2021
  2. Tetsuo Shima

    OP Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,508
    Country:
    Italy
    @SuperrSonic I have an issue with the Fba CPS core. The 2nd player controls are not working and I can't remap them.
    It cannot register any input, even home is not responding.
    @RunningSnakes confirmed this issue. He isolated CPS2 and tested some older hexaeco versions, but all of them have this problem.
    Maybe this is something you already know, but I thought it was worth reporting.


    All Working, sorry. There has to be an input.cfg conflict somewhere.
     
    Last edited by Tetsuo Shima, Feb 3, 2021
    RunningSnakes likes this.
  3. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    It is definitely CPS2 core conflict. With fresh install, all MAME and FBA cores work cohesively after changing 2P configuration. CPS2 2P will work if you install and play after 2P configuration has been set by another FBA/MAME core. If you configure 2P input with any FBA/MAME after CPS2 core install, all FBA/MAME cores 2P will not function, even if you set 2P input cfg to it's original state. In my testing, all other console/legacy cores are not affected and do not create conflict with FBA/MAME cores. Maybe the mod cores will come in handy after all @Tetsuo Shima

    I can certainly complete what is missing. I just updated my magic numbers with your newest platform.ini, so I'll see what you have all included, and send you the link when completed. You can use them any way you think is best.
     
    Tetsuo Shima likes this.
  4. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    @Tetsuo Shima ... SuperrSonic has released an update to RA-Hexaeco. He added DOSBox and a few arcade cores with some fixes on others. It seems the 2P bug is fixed in my minimal testing.
     
    0arsoluto and Tetsuo Shima like this.
  5. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    Wanted to give a shout out to @SuperrSonic ...

    Thank You sir. I appreciate everything you have done for the Wii community. Thanks for your continued support on many projects.
     
    0arsoluto and Tetsuo Shima like this.
  6. 0arsoluto

    0arsoluto Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    Sorry... where is that updated? please. thanx
     
    RunningSnakes likes this.
  7. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
  8. Askot

    Askot Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Mexico
    Last edited by Askot, Feb 18, 2021
    0arsoluto and Tetsuo Shima like this.
  9. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    RA-SS Hexaeco is a simplified modification of RA. I truly believe Hexaeco is improved in every area, more specifically input & video configuration. It runs independently from the official RA, so if you know how to use/navigate RA well, I urge you to install and see for yourself. If you are a RA emulation fan, you will not be disappointed with what RA-SS Hexaeco has to offer.
     
    Zael, 0arsoluto, Askot and 1 other person like this.
  10. 0arsoluto

    0arsoluto Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    I am doing a totally visually modified wiiflow project with arcade section. consoles. computers, wii and portable consoles and in the end I will use practically all the ra hexaeco cores because they are very stable and allow certain modifications, especially in video, to respect the native resolutions of the original systems. it will be primarily intended to be played on crt televisions over rgb. I have little left. as soon as I finish it you will have the contribution to download along with the covers of the entire mega / sega cd catalog with photorealistic quality, the videos of the games and fanart
     
  11. Zael

    Zael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Spain
    From the creators of "DCVG5K - The Ultimate Solution" arrives... "ELEKTRONIKA BK - The Last Crusade"!!...



    Hello, my Wii scene friends! Last weeks I've been updating my old and outdated PSP emulators. Recently I discovered that new cores were added to PSP Retroarch, Elektronika BK core among them.

    I put the BK core in my PSP, I put the BK bios on the Retroarch System folder, I loaded a BK game and... same issue that Wii BK core. It restarts and exits to PSP menu.

    But then, I read in the QUASI88 (NEC PC8801 emulator) libreto that some bios files could be in "System" folder but also in an specific folder. So, then I put the BK bios on a "BK" subfolder into "System" folder, tested BK core again and... voilà!!



    [​IMG]


    So, Elektronika BK core is functional on Wii and PSP. But I can't understand well this emulator, it only has a few games and the core has not virtual keyboard. To be honest, I have tested only 3 games and the best performance I got is that intro screen you can see above.

    But I'll keep testing this BK core in PSP and Wii (also I'll test a PC emulator in order to understand better how this computer works) and I hope to get it playable.


    P.S.: The updated core of BK from Retroarch also has only support for Retropad on Wii. It can't detect properly the Wii Controller in-game. Better test it on the BK core that was included on latest Tetsuo's Plugins Pack. BK BIOS could easilly be found on recent Retroarch BIOS packs (remember put them in their "BK" folder inside "SYSTEM" bios folder).
     
    0arsoluto and RunningSnakes like this.
  12. Zael

    Zael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Spain
    I also want to tell you about a new Retroarch core available for Wii that I discovered updating my PSP emulators. It's a Fairchild Channel F emulator. It is supossed to be the very first console that made use of changeable cartridge games (one year before the Atari 2600)...



    [​IMG]



    It was developed by Jerry Lawson, and he got his well deserved credit in "High Score" Netflix documentary...


    [​IMG]




    Now, Wii users can play this console thanks to Freechaf (Fairchild Channel F) core. It has some really stunning PacMan port...


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    This core need 3 bios files (sl31253.bin, sl31254.bin and sl90025.bin). This time they must be (as usual) on "SYSTEM" folder.

    I could play it very well on PSP, but the Wii core, as I said on BK core, it only has support for Retropad controller (I couldnt manage to use it with Wiimote or Wii Classic Controller), so I only was able to get that two screens on the Wii core port.

    I downloaded that cores from...

    Also I ran them as "standalone" emulator, I have not tested them as Wiiflow plugins. If someone manage to get them work with Wiimote (or Wii Classic Controller) and run them as Wiiflow plugins, his help will be appreciated.

    Thank you my friends! See you soon!
















    Wow @0arsoluto! I read you on Youtube, and that are great news about that modded Wiiflow you are working on. We're hoping testing that Wiiflow!
     
    Last edited by Zael, Feb 21, 2021
  13. Taleweaver

    Taleweaver Storywriter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885
    Country:
    Belgium
    ...I guess I could as well bump this.

    Here's the situation: since a week or two I've been busy slowly rebuilding my old wii to take advantage of the fancy wiiflow skins (ahem...Rhapsodii shima, following this thread). Now that all that is done (inclusing the long process of getting all the correct boxcovers for everything), I find this thread with EVEN MORE plugins of all sorts of stuff. :P

    Now...unlike requested in the OP, I didn't throw everything and the kitchen sink from the pack onto my hard drive (c'mon...do you guys really need 4 different emulators for the atari lynx on the wii? :P ). I just took a few bits here and there, and update things slowly to make sure everything works, has covers, and so on. I'm still learning how everything's connected.

    Thus far, I've encountered two things that might be worth noting. Well...really one, as the other is mentioned in the OP:

    1) in wiiflow/plugins, the folders GB and GBC have .ini files for vbagx (GBC-vbagx.ini and GB-vbagx.ini). However, the GBA folder doesn't have such a plugin. I'm not sure if vbagx is inferior to the other mentioned emulators, but there's a magic word reserved for it and the dol is available, so I created a "GBA-vbagx.ini" that's similar to the previous entries.

    Code:
    [PLUGIN]
    arguments={device}:/{path}|{name}
    bannersound=GBA/GBA.ogg
    consolecoverid=nintendo
    covercolor=000000
    coverfolder=roms/GBA
    displayname=Gameboy Advance (vbagx)
    dolfile=vbagx.dol
    filetypes=.gba|.zip|.7z
    magic=56424188
    romdir=roms/GBA
    rompartition=-1
    This works fine on my end (covers might need to be changed on your end). But is this excluded for a reason, or just an oversight? :unsure:


    The second thing I was going to question here, but I see it's mentioned in the OP:
    2) some plugins override the "default partition=USB" to the SD-card, notably the mame 2003 emulators.

    On the OP, it says:
    mame2003plus cores ----------- (roms on SD for increased compatibility or performances).

    I take it this is done for a reason, but prior to reading this, I've gotten quite a bit of roms to work on USB with earlier retroarch dols (though admittedly, nowhere near as much as the compatibility charts claimed). Can this be overridden with 'just' changing the rompartition=0 to rompartittion=1 in the .ini file? :unsure:
     
    alexander1970 and RunningSnakes like this.
  14. Tetsuo Shima

    OP Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,508
    Country:
    Italy
    The plugins pack is aiming to be a complete collection of all the existing plugins, so that everyone could find his/her favourite emulators and be happy. Of course I don't need 4 different emulators for Lynx, but my favourite emulator could not necessarily be everyone's favourite, and most of all, I wanted to avoid people constantly posting "why didn't you include the XYZ emulator instead of this one?".
    In my opinion, it's easier to install everything (plugins are not heavy in size at all) and then activate the plugins you desire using the Source Menu Setup. Of course you can also take some bits here and there, but the chances of messing up with something are a little higher, if you miss some files or folders.
    Yes VBAGX is inferior to the other emulators, and using it for the GBA is not an option. Yes it can run GBA roms but emulation is terrible.
    mGBA is the way to go (either as a standalone, or as a retroarch core). You won't find a better GBA emulator in the universe.
    When I was doing the Mame2003+ compatibility list I tested hundreds of games and I've found that in some cases, games that weren't working from USB, were ok when launched from SD. Furthermore, some other games (like Spiderman) had a tangible performance improvement when ran from the SD.
    Of course, if all your games are running good, you can change the rompartition line to point to USB.
     
  15. coraline2

    coraline2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Mexico
    Please some solution ...

    Every time I run a MAME game in Wiiflow it runs fine but the problem is that the core (mame2003plus) always creates retroarch folders (assets, filters, overlays, etc) in the root of my device and even if you modify the path of these folders in the .cfg file they always appear.

    Is there another way to redirect them by default to a different directory?
     
    alexander1970 and RunningSnakes like this.
  16. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is irritating, but I do not believe it can be undone. Hard-coded. It creates the folders with blank data, despite any path verified. Very good question though, if someone has a fix for this, it would be appreciated.
     
    coraline2 and alexander1970 like this.
  17. Taleweaver

    Taleweaver Storywriter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sorry for the six month bump, but...did you get this to work eventually? :unsure:

    I've tried to get it working in the last couple of days, but where the dol runs fine from the app department, creating a wiiflow plugin just blackscreens.

    (note: I did have success in creating plugins for Nitr8's ports of Doom, heretic, hexen and strife by changing the Duke3D plugin from the pack, but this procedure won't work for descent for some reason :unsure: ).




    EDIT: oh, and a long shot: did anyone ever get penguin bros on arcade to work (penbros.zip)? If so, would you please provide the core and the romset. I've seen lists that mention it as "working", but aside from the company (SETA) and a driver mentioning in the G-core sets I've got nothing. And every core and/or version I try thus far fails :( ).
     
    Last edited by Taleweaver, Mar 7, 2021
  18. Tetsuo Shima

    OP Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,508
    Country:
    Italy
    Descent is working good as a Wiiflow plugin :)
    I was planning to include it in the next Pack update, shortly after the next Wiiflow release (5.4.9).
    But seeing that there's some demand around it, here it is:
    Descent wiiflow plugin
    I have not included the freepats sound font for timidity, because if you're using Eduke32 you should already have it. It works out of the box for Descent too.
    Can you auto launch the games? I've tried but failed, I can only launch the app, but I have to manually select the correct wad to launch. It would be very nice to have these plugins in wf
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Tetsuo Shima, Mar 7, 2021
  19. Taleweaver

    Taleweaver Storywriter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,885
    Country:
    Belgium
    Nice. I'll certainly try them later today. :D

    And sorry for the confusion, but I also have to select the wads first. I don't mind (while heretic, hexen and strife have only one that I know of, doom has quite a few known wad files)...
     
  20. Exidous

    Exidous Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Specific plugin question: snes9x_next.dol (RA-HEXAECO)

    Using pack v5, this plugin is not retaining button configuration or other settings changes (and always gives the Welcome popup on first pause). I tested the regular apps version of the current version of RA-HEXAECO (Feb 9, 2021) on the same Wii and it retained settings. No change to the plugin - it's not using the apps file's configuration. Is there a cfg file that needs to be made manually for the plugin dol, and if so, where do I put it?
     
    Last edited by Exidous, Mar 8, 2021
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - adventurers, Plugins™, Wiiflow