The Google Nexus One (The Google Phone) is official

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Vidboy10, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Source
    Offcial site

    *Looks that it's allowing shipping to HK*
    You know what im going to do...
     


  2. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    When I do get a job, I wanted to switch from AT&T to T-Mobile. Now I have a reason.
     
  3. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Do want but unfortunately I won't be getting it since my parents don't want to pay for texting and don't want to pay for additional services besides calling really. [​IMG]
     
  4. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't worry!
    The best thing about the Nexus One is that when it doesn't have a SIM card Inside, it goes into VIOP mode! [​IMG]
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    *drool* but won't get it
    since it will be useless
     
  6. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Awesome, looking forward to some reviews.
    Hopefully it isn't too expensive here in Belgium though, although I doubt that.
     
  7. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no multitouch i believe.

    is it a capacitive touchscreen?
     
  8. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, it has a capacative touchscreen.
    No multitouch.
     
  9. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I will be importing this from some country if it's not going to be avaible in holland soon!
    I am happy with my HTC hero ofcourse, but I reeaaaaally want this one.
     
  10. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  11. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why no multitouch?
     
  12. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Read somewhere it's because Apple has a patent on Multitouch for the time being.
     
  13. SkH

    Member SkH GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    Oh noes!
    That means the DS2 will have no multitouch screen?! [​IMG]
     
  14. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    I always thought the iPhone was shit and never bothered to even consider adding it to my very limited budget... but the Nexus... man, maybe some two years down the road I will be getting one of these. Looks really fine.

    Nintendo could just buy a license. It's not like patent = exclusive.
     
  15. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I read something similar. The European version may have multi-touch as Apple's patent applies to the US.

    Phone looks good. I'd be tempted to get one, just not straight away.
     
  16. CyrusBlue

    Member CyrusBlue GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    So what was the G1?
     
  17. Fakie!

    Member Fakie! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    Chile
    What prevents Google from doing the same?
     
  18. MarkDarkness

    Member MarkDarkness Deliverator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    Poland
    Nintendo does not compete in any manner against Apple, in any field. Google and Apple are direct adversaries fighting for the same emerging market. Do you think that A) Google would actually accept licensing something form Apple and even more B) Apple would license to Google?
     
  19. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but my htc hero which is also android has multitouch
     
  20. jpxdude

    Member jpxdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to let you all know, the Nexus One is multitouch capable, its just that the stock software isn't using it for its browser, keyboard, or maps (yet). Undoubtedly this will be available in a future OS release for the phone, as multitouch has been confirmed working on it with some other apps (dolphin browser)
     

Share This Page