the ds functionality on 3ds does not work

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,063
Trophies
2
XP
8,064
Country
Germany
should i just call the people about the issue? or take it to a shop?
Did you try all that stuff I mentioned above (TWLFix, CTRTransfer, CTRTransfer Type D9, Flashing NVRAM)?
Unless you provide more information there is nothing I can do anymore.

Resetting is always an option.

Have you tried using Universal Updater to update TWL + nds_bootstrap?

If that didn't work, just reset it.
Reset what?
 

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
546
Trophies
1
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
1,302
Country
United States
Did you try all that stuff I mentioned above (TWLFix, CTRTransfer, CTRTransfer Type D9, Flashing NVRAM)?
Unless you provide more information there is nothing I can do anymore.


Reset what?
The console
Whether it be with a NAND backup or the system settings
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,841
Country
United States
The console
Whether it be with a NAND backup or the system settings
sounds to me like the problem existed since he bought it. the op says he bought the system at a pawn shop, so it's feasible that someone sold it knowing there was this problem and the unlikelihood that the pawns shop would test that portion, if anything, with the system.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lone_wolf323

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
546
Trophies
1
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
1,302
Country
United States
sounds to me like the problem existed since he bought it. the op says he bought the system at a pawn shop, so it's feasible that someone sold it knowing there was this problem and the unlikelihood that the pawns shop would test that portion, if anything, with the system.
System Settings delete would always work
 

kjevans9808880

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
44
Country
United States
well i didnt do the ctrtransfer things or type d9

how do i flash nvram?

i did try resetting, that seems to not work either
 

kjevans9808880

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
44
Country
United States
yeah, ive tried everything, i just think ds mode is broken. nothings working. it keeps flickering white sceen and exiting back to home menu

i dont think yall understand the problem i have with the 3ds. im not getting an error message, i cant paly no nds file. everytime i do it flickers a white screen for a second, fades to balck, then it goes back to the home screen. do u understand now
 

kjevans9808880

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
44
Country
United States
yeah. i think where my brother brought it at, i think they did not test it. do yall even understand the issue im trying to say or should i send you all a recording of the problem?
 

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
546
Trophies
1
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
1,302
Country
United States
yeah. i think where my brother brought it at, i think they did not test it. do yall even understand the issue im trying to say or should i send you all a recording of the problem?
Final question: Have you used a DS cartridge? If so, then yes, send a video of the problem.
 

kjevans9808880

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2021
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
44
Country
United States
yeAH i put a ds cartridge in and i got the same result. the problem i have with my brothers 3ds is different than the ones you all have probably gotten. this one does not give him and error message, it just flickers a white screen for a second, then back to the home menu. i dont get how everything else work, but not NDS mode.
 
Last edited by kjevans9808880,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,063
Trophies
2
XP
8,064
Country
Germany
The console
Whether it be with a NAND backup or the system settings
That are two completely different things.

Restoring the NAND to a known good state can be a solution for certain problems.

In rare cases deleting the current profile can potentially be of use. Most of the time it is a useless sacrifice of personal data. No idea if it fully clears NVRAM for DS(i) mode. As "Format System Memory" makes previously installed software, including their saves unusable (changed encryption key) it is very important to never use that function without backing up important saves before.

However, both are potentially destructive and should be used with care. "Factory reset" is not a magic solution for all problems – more often than not it creates new problems (as can be seen in the "I accidentally formatted my 3DS"-topics).
================

i dont think yall understand the problem i have with the 3ds. im not getting an error message, i cant paly no nds file. everytime i do it flickers a white screen for a second, fades to balck, then it goes back to the home screen. do u understand now
*Sigh* We are not too dumb to understand the problem. Broken DS(i) mode can show a variety of symptoms: Black screens, white screens; we've had a 3DS going to standby each time starting DS software¹. The only time an error message pops up is when the TWL titles are completely missing or if the TWL partition is corrupted. In this case Luma3DS throws an error when trying to reboot into TWLFIRM. I cannot remember a case of going back to Home Menu, but that doesn't mean anything.
"Playing nds files" has potential for misunderstandings. To even come to the point of playing a ROM file the DS(i) mode must be working (TWiLight Menu++ or a flashcart kernel started). To test DS(i) mode while avoiding possible other problems (like bad SD, bad TWL++ installation, bad flashcart…) the easiest thing to do is using preinstalled DS titles (DS Download Play, DS Internet Settings) and/or a legit DS game.

Sadly not all cases of broken DS(i) mode can (yet?) be solved.

yeah. i think where my brother brought it at, i think they did not test it. do yall even understand the issue im trying to say or should i send you all a recording of the problem?
Of course you can upload a video. Why not? Doesn't do any harm.



_____________________
¹ That was the long thread "My DS mode is still broken". It turned out the console had a bad camera as well. No idea if this is the reason. I've never tested if DS(i) mode fails without camera.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
2,291
Trophies
1
XP
2,777
Country
Canada
I really don't see how a video would help at this point? I think you've described the problem adequately enough.

well i didnt do the ctrtransfer things or type d9
I don't think anyone has provided a link yet, so that's over here:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-godmode9-scripts-megathread.482150/page-9#post-8550543

As previously noted, the instructions are long, but if TWLfix doesn't work, it's not like there are a lot of other options at this point.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,841
Country
United States

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,826
Trophies
1
XP
3,866
Country
Canada
Sorry. I'm out of ideas. Just out of curiosity: Do the cameras all work (front and rear)?
The case in the long, older thread was maybe related to the camera(s) not working.
i mean. we could get this person to actually do what we say. Seeing as he admitted to not even doing the ctr type d9. So I am unsure of whatelse has been done or not.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,185
Trophies
2
XP
19,841
Country
United States
op, you should try it. you'll gain a new appreciation for your 3ds/stuff if you accomplish something that seems daunting or difficult. I personally don't like things when they're too easy, it makes people lazy.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Steam probably could've made it a bit thicker to support both sizes but meh