"the device inserted in the sd slot can't be used"?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by chaseincats, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys I just bought a 32gb sdhc card and when I put it in the wii it says "the device inserted in the sd slot can't be used" but if i open the homebrew channel it works fine

    any ideas?

    -chaseincats
     
  2. stev418

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    what system menu is on your wii? Wii was only SDHC compatible from firmware 4.0 and up
     
  3. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    should have put this in the original post but its 4.2
     
  4. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    bump, no one?
     
  5. takninds

    Newcomer takninds Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    try reformatting it
     
  6. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    did it

    thats why im so confused
     
  7. DGenerateKane

    Member DGenerateKane GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    Many SDHC cards are not compatible. I have a 16gb one than even HBC refuses to read. I have an 8gb one that is fine for homebrew but can't be used for game saves or installing wiiware/vc games. I'm sticking with a regular 2gb SD card.
     
  8. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    One card I can say works with everything is an A-Data Class 6 4 GB SDHC card. There's an 8 GB one as well, but unfortunately it's BootMii compatibility is kind of rocky.
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I believe 32 GB cards are very new so they will probably have many compatibility issues. Also, check to make sure it's really SDHC, not SDXC.
     
  10. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    ack alright, thanks guys

    @demon: just looked and it is hc
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Are you using preloader/priiloader to force the system menu to use a different IOS?
     
  12. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    i have priiloader installed

    didnt switch the ios unless it does that itself

    how do you do that btw so i could check
     
  13. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
  14. knaff

    Newcomer knaff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Australia
    It just isn't compatible, get a different brand
     
  15. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    ack

    is their any 32gb people know works with both system menu and the homebrew channel?
     
  16. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    cmon folks
     
  17. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,384
    Country:
    Sweden
    What he said...
     
  18. chaseincats
    OP

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    no no im asking if anyone could recommend a card that works both with system menu and HBC
     

Share This Page