The best ISO burner?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Brian117, Aug 6, 2008.

Aug 6, 2008

The best ISO burner? by Brian117 at 6:23 PM (1,375 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    *does search to see if a thread like this has already been made*

    "No results found"

    Ok, I am looking for THEE BEST ISO burner for the PC that is completely 100% accurate and burns every single ISO file onto the disk.

    I know it's easy to type in Google, "ISO Burner" but I want to ask the professional GBATemp'ers since they are experienced with this stuff.

    Thanks billions.
     
  2. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    It's impossible to have a perfect ISO burn. My favorite burners are IMGBurn and Alcohol.
     
  3. Movi

    Newcomer Movi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Poland
    IMGBurn under windows, k3b under linux, Disk Utility on OSX (no need for useless stuff like toast, DU gets the job done).
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For a long time I 've used Nero for that. Never had a failed disc. But for some reason it suddenly just stopped working and wouldn't burn discs anymore. So I switched to imgburn. A nice little application, specifically for burning iso's
     
  5. Panzer Tacticer

    Member Panzer Tacticer veteran human

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Right Here
    Country:
    Canada
    I think Imgburn actually is a derivative of Nero software.

    Either way, I use Imgburn whenever possible. I try to avoid burning with Alcohol, but like it as my drive emulator of choice.
     
  6. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Yep, it's really difficult to burn an 100% exact copy, I don't even know if it's possible at all.
    It doesn't really depend only on the software, the drive and the media used make a huge difference.
    You'll find also that some media works better with some type of drives under some circumstances ( burn speed, computer resources) and the same circumstances don't apply with other drive/media combination.
    But it's possible to achieve a high quality copy by trial and errors, by burning on different media, with different settings, and comparing the results with any isos/drive test utility.
    You'll find that Imgburn does a great job with most Wii games, although one should ask himself, whether he wants a 100% exact copy, or a copy that works 100% on the Wii.
    My games work 100%, however if I test the images I get anywhere between 78% and 92% of quality.
     
  7. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use ImgBurn all the time. Absolutely perfect. Nice little application, easy to use so...yeah.
     
  8. Dack

    Member Dack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure Lightning UK! would be astounded to hear that. [​IMG]

    Imageburn came about after Macrovision threw a few nasty letters his way because of the dvd decrypter software. Imageburn is basically the burn engine out of that but now vastly improved.
     
  9. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, thanks so much guys. I think I might go with ImgBurn. It looks legit and very accurate.

    Thanks for all your replies.
     
  10. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just downloaded ImgBurn...

    But don't know if this is what's supposed to happen but..

    It keeps saying I have to format my DVD+RW disk before I can burn an image on the disc. Is it supposed to happen like that?
     
  11. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    you're using a rewritable disk. and you cant burn onto that untill you format it to be burned again..

    For best result in the wii get some high quality DVD-R media...
     
  12. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you've already got data on the disc, then yes, you have to. I've got some DVD-RW's to burn updates and the configuration for my WiiKey onto it. It didn't ask to format it, but it was new, so it shouldn't.
     
  13. olosi

    Newcomer olosi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    go for IMGBURN it replace perfectly Nero that for some reasons after certain period of work it stops and you have to reinstall or update.
     
  14. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    But I bought these disks brand new from OfficeMax near me. A 10pk.

    I took one clean disk out and burned the configuration to it using ImgBurn. And it says I have to format it. Which takes probably 30 minutes. Should I of reformatted it? Would it erase anything that can be read in the Wii?
     
  15. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You shouldn't have to format it, but if it says you should, then do so. I don't think that it will do any harm.
     

Share This Page